Customer Reviews for

Adventures of Tom Sawyer (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 1080 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(508)

4 Star

(249)

3 Star

(155)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(102)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

AmazingDude427

This book was one of the best I've ever read and thats saying something! Interesting story written from the mind of a pure ingenuity

posted by 5810900 on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Eh

It takes forever for the plot to unfold, be aware of that. And at times it can be weak where you are expecting something more. Still a classic thouh I cant see why.

posted by 8045175 on December 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1083 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 55
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    AmazingDude427

    This book was one of the best I've ever read and thats saying something! Interesting story written from the mind of a pure ingenuity

    26 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Great book for teens

    I'm fourteen years old and absolutely enjoyed the quirky and adventurous tom sawyer. The book is a quick read and easily relatable.

    20 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    A classic book.

    I had to read this book for school, but I didn't consider it as schoolwork. I considered it as reading the best book ever! I loved the characters, and there was so much in this book that was funny and enlightening. Tom is a mischevious boy who hates work, and will make up any sort of clever scheme to get out of it! Huck is a ragged boy with no loving parents; his mom is gone and his dad is a mean, drunk man who doesn't care about him. There are so many good scenes in this book, and I recommend this to any boy, or girl, for that matter. In this book there is humor, drama, hilarious romance, and so much more. I would reccomend this book to anyone ages 10 and up. I hope this reveiw was helpful, and I really hope to read the next book, which is The Adventures of Huck Finn. There are also two more books in the series, so I have something to look forward too! : - )

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    A random review

    This book is so good must read!

    12 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Great

    Ive read this book im book form. Love it. Cant belevie it is free

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Eh

    It takes forever for the plot to unfold, be aware of that. And at times it can be weak where you are expecting something more. Still a classic thouh I cant see why.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Good book

    It's been a long time since I read Tom Sawyer, I really enjoyed the book. Might read Huck Finn again.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    ?

    I havent read it,but it sounds great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    What the heck

    I really want to readthis book but it is takingforever to load

    5 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Classic

    Classic

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    A awsome book to keep fousud on.

    This is like the best book I have ever read. I read this book 6
    times and I am in the 4th grade. Plus I understud every word

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Nice!!!!!:)

    Very good book!!!!;-)

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Tom Sawyer

    Most free books for the nook are littered with spelling errors and the grammar of a 12 year old. The worst this book has is an extra space in the middle of a word every 50 pages or so. A charming and witty book well worth your time.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    a true classic

    Am saving this book to read this summer at the beach - and to have my granddaughter read it.
    I used to read it every summer - but haven't for about ten years.
    If you have never read it - you MUST or you will be missing out on a great experience.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Tom sawier

    Love it

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    #1 Book

    FIVE STARS FOR THIS

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Best one to introduce Twain

    I have decided to read the majority of Samuel Clemens ie Mark Twain. This is a great beginning story due to the simplicity of the narrative. A part that stuck with me was Tom sitting in church while the preacher orally dictated advertisements to the congregation. In his boredom Tom observed it was a useless custom and waste of time because newspapers had modernized messages. "Often the less there is to justify a traditional custom, the harder it is to get rid of it."

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Perfect

    It was a perfect classic. There was adventure and a little romance too its my favorite book and i couldnt put it down a must read for all ages girls and boys

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Sooo good!

    Not only is it a great classic, but it is also entertaining to! A must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Great Book

    This is one of THE best books I have ever read. It is hilarious at just the right parts, and I really enjoyed it. To make things even better, it's free! The sequel, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, is just as good but not free. On the Kindle, you can get it for free. The only thing I do not like about the Barnes and Noble Store for Nook is that not enough of the classics are free! I love classics like The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, and I als recommend Jane Eyre, Gullivers Travels, and Little Women!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1083 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 55