Customer Reviews for

Advertising for Love

Average Rating 3.5
( 663 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(219)

4 Star

(176)

3 Star

(128)

2 Star

(79)

1 Star

(61)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Great read, full book (336 pages)

UK authors write slightly differently than Americans, so while some of the characters weren't exactly what I expected, it is probably due to the slight cultural difference.

Set in Australia, so that was different. But, the characters stayed in character, and because...
UK authors write slightly differently than Americans, so while some of the characters weren't exactly what I expected, it is probably due to the slight cultural difference.

Set in Australia, so that was different. But, the characters stayed in character, and because it is non-American, there was a lot less of the extra drama some American writers seem to like putting into simple, everyday situations.

Strong heroine. The only thing I didn't care for was the keeping secrets of her past for a 'surprise reveal' practically at the end of the book. That's annoying. Just reveal the secrets, and make the dealing with them part of the plot. Makes for a stronger plot, and less of the constant wondering, "Well, good grief, why would they do THAT??!"

Overall tho, a good read. One which I will probably read again.

posted by MzDallas on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Good Promising outline

Promising outline but the story wasn't flushed out well. Super cheesy, poor dialogue, too fast pacing, and unrealistic actions by the characters.

posted by Anonymous on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 664 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 34
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Good Promising outline

    Promising outline but the story wasn't flushed out well. Super cheesy, poor dialogue, too fast pacing, and unrealistic actions by the characters.

    27 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Great read, full book (336 pages)

    UK authors write slightly differently than Americans, so while some of the characters weren't exactly what I expected, it is probably due to the slight cultural difference.

    Set in Australia, so that was different. But, the characters stayed in character, and because it is non-American, there was a lot less of the extra drama some American writers seem to like putting into simple, everyday situations.

    Strong heroine. The only thing I didn't care for was the keeping secrets of her past for a 'surprise reveal' practically at the end of the book. That's annoying. Just reveal the secrets, and make the dealing with them part of the plot. Makes for a stronger plot, and less of the constant wondering, "Well, good grief, why would they do THAT??!"

    Overall tho, a good read. One which I will probably read again.

    25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Same storyline, Different Author

    The grammar and editing was God awful! The storyline is
    really good in theory, but the writer butchered it. Tizzy really just started to become annoying, Grant was weak, and Branson was creepy and pushy! There was a line said by Grant, "Becky, girl,...". I dont know any convincingly straight guy that says "girl". I tried so hard to like it but i couldnt push myself to continue past pg 176. It came to the point where i didnt even care what happened to the characters.

    24 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Wonderful Love Story

    If you can get past the grammatical errors and overlook how some parts seemed a bit rushed, you will truly enjoy this wonderfully romantic Cinderella story. The author should get some help editing and re-release, as the storyline is great.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Ridiculous story!

    Poorly written and ridiculous. It should be in the humor section because it actually made me laugh out loud several times!

    16 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Very sweet

    Very sweet and predictable romance. Nice, clean story

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    :)

    Love this book!!

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Good read

    Good read but a little annoyed with the poor editing work.

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Give it a chance!

    Don't pay attention to most of these reviews...apparently people didn't read it all. You have to read it almost to the end to understand it. It was a cute, clean story. I agree there were a ton of errors with punctuation, however I didn't catch to many spelling and grammar errors. Certainly not enough to annoy me. I think that those comments came from people that didn't realize that the author wasn't American. Overall, I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this story, and I'm glad I didn't let a few bad reviews steer me away!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Sweet romance

    Loved the story and characters. Some editing is still needed regarding punction, spelling, and grammer.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Recommend for the romance readers everywhere.

    I really enjoyed this book because I did not guess at the beginning how it would end. If you have ever felt like the girl no one would date this is a feel good book. It made me want to meet these people and tell them how nice they were. It also shows that some people in this world will still work hard and not complain. I hope to read more books by this writer. Loved the book from beginning to end!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Great read!

    I started reading this book and found my self not wanting to put it down.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Wow enjoyed this book

    First of all a good story even with the errors. This is the kind of story that keeps you wanting more.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Advertising for love

    I loved and enjoy the book keep it coming.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    OMG

    That was the best book ever. There needs to be a movie based on that book.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Cheesy

    The whole story dragged and i almost didnt finish reading this. Poor editing. I recall a few reviews that said the storyline was unrealistic and i thought that was okay in a story since this IS fiction but... jeeze! How many guys fall in love with a woman he had never noticed before but falls for her when she has a total meltdown at work?? The woman lives like what,10 yrs? With a traumatic secret yet is able to drop it all, shed her inhibitions and reservationsin a week? Oy.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Ughh

    I liked the idea but the execution was horrible. I couldn't finish it. It didn't flow and the characters where unlikable.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Good story

    I really enjoyed the story, but it could really use some serious editing.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Ugghhh!!!!

    Terrible read. Poor grammar. Story was almost like reading a story a junior high school student wrote. Never do this but i truly can't finish this book

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    The writing in this book was horrible and the number of grammati

    The writing in this book was horrible and the number of grammatical errors was a huge deterrent. It had a good premise but the execution was horrible.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 664 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 34