Customer Reviews for

Advertising for Love

Average Rating 3.5
( 661 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(219)

4 Star

(175)

3 Star

(128)

2 Star

(79)

1 Star

(60)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Great read, full book (336 pages)

UK authors write slightly differently than Americans, so while some of the characters weren't exactly what I expected, it is probably due to the slight cultural difference.

Set in Australia, so that was different. But, the characters stayed in character, and because...
UK authors write slightly differently than Americans, so while some of the characters weren't exactly what I expected, it is probably due to the slight cultural difference.

Set in Australia, so that was different. But, the characters stayed in character, and because it is non-American, there was a lot less of the extra drama some American writers seem to like putting into simple, everyday situations.

Strong heroine. The only thing I didn't care for was the keeping secrets of her past for a 'surprise reveal' practically at the end of the book. That's annoying. Just reveal the secrets, and make the dealing with them part of the plot. Makes for a stronger plot, and less of the constant wondering, "Well, good grief, why would they do THAT??!"

Overall tho, a good read. One which I will probably read again.

posted by MzDallas on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Good Promising outline

Promising outline but the story wasn't flushed out well. Super cheesy, poor dialogue, too fast pacing, and unrealistic actions by the characters.

posted by Anonymous on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Good Promising outline

    Promising outline but the story wasn't flushed out well. Super cheesy, poor dialogue, too fast pacing, and unrealistic actions by the characters.

    26 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Same storyline, Different Author

    The grammar and editing was God awful! The storyline is
    really good in theory, but the writer butchered it. Tizzy really just started to become annoying, Grant was weak, and Branson was creepy and pushy! There was a line said by Grant, "Becky, girl,...". I dont know any convincingly straight guy that says "girl". I tried so hard to like it but i couldnt push myself to continue past pg 176. It came to the point where i didnt even care what happened to the characters.

    23 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Ridiculous story!

    Poorly written and ridiculous. It should be in the humor section because it actually made me laugh out loud several times!

    15 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Cheesy

    The whole story dragged and i almost didnt finish reading this. Poor editing. I recall a few reviews that said the storyline was unrealistic and i thought that was okay in a story since this IS fiction but... jeeze! How many guys fall in love with a woman he had never noticed before but falls for her when she has a total meltdown at work?? The woman lives like what,10 yrs? With a traumatic secret yet is able to drop it all, shed her inhibitions and reservationsin a week? Oy.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Ughh

    I liked the idea but the execution was horrible. I couldn't finish it. It didn't flow and the characters where unlikable.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    H O R R I B L E !

    Don't waste your time & Nook's battery. Disastrous nonsense. Yikes!

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Ugghhh!!!!

    Terrible read. Poor grammar. Story was almost like reading a story a junior high school student wrote. Never do this but i truly can't finish this book

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    The writing in this book was horrible and the number of grammati

    The writing in this book was horrible and the number of grammatical errors was a huge deterrent. It had a good premise but the execution was horrible.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Ugh!

    So poorly written and edited that it is impossible to finish. I'm 130 pages in and bored, with no desire to finish this book. Characters have become unintetesting and the plot isn't going anywhere. Going to delete this one from the library..

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    So many typos

    I was looking forward to reading this short book, but I was really put off by the countless typos-pretty much on every other page. I recommend that this author invest in an editor!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Edit, please!

    This book was so badly in need of proper editing that I couldn't even finish it. There wasn't anything new or different about the story that the lack of editing made it a waste of time to read.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Unbelievably badly written

    Not only do I find the mousey protaganist annoyingly passive--ok I guess the Jane Eyre cliche still works for some people--but this writer can't punctuate a sentence to save her life. In one two page stretch I counted two incorrect verb tenses along with at least four commas that didn't belong and at least four places where there should have been a comma but there wasn't one. The whole book reads, therefore, like a third grader's creative writing homework. The incredibly slow and boring plot is bad enough without the distractingly appaling writing.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Just barely ok

    Poor grammer and spelling and choppy plot. But it was free.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Grammer is horrendous

    Don't bother. Grammer and spelling is way off, the characters have no voice. Don't waste your time. There's a reason its free.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Too bad.

    As an avid reader, I have at times finished bad books just to know that I was right about the ending. If this book had been given to me as an outline, I would have finished it just to give the author comments and ideas about fleshing out the story. Unfortunately, this is published work. Shame on the publisher for allowing this out of its offices.
    There is lots of telling and no showing. The story reads like someone's fantasy narrative, and made me feel bad about the author's lack of ability to work out personal problems in her real life. In her perfect world, people would be as one dimensional as her characters, but even then it's hard to imagine some of the leaps she takes in the story.
    It would be nice to see a completed story, instead of this rough draft. Too bad the potential did not come through strong enough for me to even finish the third chapter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Not what expected.

    Had troubles reading to end and not because of the lack of editing that others complained of. Some parts seemed rushed through and not believable. Not my favorite and not one I would read again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    not a good read

    This story was not engaging. Even the writer seemed detached from the characters. A woman is practically a recluse for ten years, goes unnoticed by her boss for most of five years. In a weeks time they are deeply in love and all around them can see this, but they cant. Dont waste your time reading this. There are many better free stories out there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Terrible

    This had promise of being a good story, but it was incredibly boring and terribly written. It had so many mundane details, it was hard to get through without falling asleep. I didn't develop any interest in the characters, and their love story was not believable. Disappointing all around.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Thin premise, editing was awful, nearly unreadable, cardboard ch

    Thin premise, editing was awful, nearly unreadable, cardboard characters

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Pass

    Boring! I just could not get into this story.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3