Customer Reviews for

Advertising for Love

Average Rating 3.5
( 661 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(219)

4 Star

(175)

3 Star

(128)

2 Star

(79)

1 Star

(60)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Great read, full book (336 pages)

UK authors write slightly differently than Americans, so while some of the characters weren't exactly what I expected, it is probably due to the slight cultural difference.

Set in Australia, so that was different. But, the characters stayed in character, and because...
UK authors write slightly differently than Americans, so while some of the characters weren't exactly what I expected, it is probably due to the slight cultural difference.

Set in Australia, so that was different. But, the characters stayed in character, and because it is non-American, there was a lot less of the extra drama some American writers seem to like putting into simple, everyday situations.

Strong heroine. The only thing I didn't care for was the keeping secrets of her past for a 'surprise reveal' practically at the end of the book. That's annoying. Just reveal the secrets, and make the dealing with them part of the plot. Makes for a stronger plot, and less of the constant wondering, "Well, good grief, why would they do THAT??!"

Overall tho, a good read. One which I will probably read again.

posted by MzDallas on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Good Promising outline

Promising outline but the story wasn't flushed out well. Super cheesy, poor dialogue, too fast pacing, and unrealistic actions by the characters.

posted by Anonymous on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 60 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    boring

    don't waste your time. This did not deserve any stars. BUT had to give one so i only gave it a one. But it should be a 0.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Terrible!

    Such a rough read that i couldnt even make it past four pages! Yuck.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    What did I just do...

    Awful. Far-fetched, and containing some of the worst grammatical errors I have ever seen. No sentence structure whatsoever. Sooooooo bad. Sooooooo dumb. Development in characters was shaky, to say the least. Completely non-sensical. I can't believe I read the whole thing.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Okay but not good.

    The hero was kind of a push over. I can't see a boss being that accepting and forgiving in the buisness world.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Romance

    I couldn't finish it. It was like a harlequin love story and i grew out of harlequins in my early 20's.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Argh

    Good concept, but the writing was horrendous. Poor grammar, numerous editing and proofing errors, and the characters were really hard to connect with. This felt like a high school first draft writing project, but no teacher worth their salt would let this be a final draft. Very disappointing, even for a free read. Hopefully the author learns to write properly before putting any more out there.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Wow....and not in a good way...

    I gave up on this book before the frustration made me throw my Nook across the room. Yes, it was that bad. Typos, odd punctuation, misused words, and a basic lack of understanding about grammar aside, the story itself was ridiculous. The author took a classic theme and put so many unbelievable twists in it as to be beyond plausibility. I honestly do not understand how anyone could have given this book a good rating.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Sheesh! So darn annoying. The woman stutters non-stop when she

    Sheesh! So darn annoying. The woman stutters non-stop when she is nervous. Trembling hands, plain, wears glasses, no make up, boring clothers and we are supposed to believe a hottie could fall for that. If I couldn't stand her darn stuttering for a minute who could deal with it on a daily basis. Awful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Hey

    Is this a good book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Seriously?

    Not even remotely plausable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Do not bother to read

    Save your time read something else.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Poor writing

    Not worth the time

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Written/edited by a third grader?

    I could not even get through this book without getting angry. I've never read anything with so many errors! Don't waste your time reading something written by an author who, seemingly, didn't make it past the third grade.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Deleting

    Very hard to read, due mostly to bad editing. The story line was good, but you never really connect to the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Good thing it was free!

    This book wasn't proofread at all. It was full of grammatical errors, timeframe errors, and redundancies. The characters were shallow and unbelievable, and I got the overall impression that the book was written by a middle-schooler. I'm glad it was free; this was the very first time I haven't finished a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Too prdictable

    I guess if you're into the perfect do gooder heroine and perfect do gooder hero and their merry do gooder supporting cast. This book is for you...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    poorly written

    I struggle through a couple of chapters of this before giving up. It's just poorly written, grammatically and character/plot-wise. Good thing it was free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Poorly written

    The grammar was really bad. That was my main issue with it. The other thing that bothered me were the 'twists' in the story. They were horribly thought and didn't really make a whole lot of sense. I kept reading to see the ending and was quite disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Poor

    If I had bought this book I wouldv'e been extremely upset. As the saying goes " you get what you paid for " which was nothing, so I didnt have much to be upset about. The book was a big disappiontment. It started well, had a good plot too but after a few chapters it went down hill. Not what I had expected. I tortured myself by finishing this book because I was hoping it wouldv'e gotten better but it didn't. It had the right amount of pages and that's what made it so difficult. It was boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Unable to read

    Could not down load.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 60 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3