Customer Reviews for

Advertising for Love

Average Rating 3.5
( 663 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(219)

4 Star

(176)

3 Star

(128)

2 Star

(79)

1 Star

(61)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Great read, full book (336 pages)

UK authors write slightly differently than Americans, so while some of the characters weren't exactly what I expected, it is probably due to the slight cultural difference.

Set in Australia, so that was different. But, the characters stayed in character, and because...
UK authors write slightly differently than Americans, so while some of the characters weren't exactly what I expected, it is probably due to the slight cultural difference.

Set in Australia, so that was different. But, the characters stayed in character, and because it is non-American, there was a lot less of the extra drama some American writers seem to like putting into simple, everyday situations.

Strong heroine. The only thing I didn't care for was the keeping secrets of her past for a 'surprise reveal' practically at the end of the book. That's annoying. Just reveal the secrets, and make the dealing with them part of the plot. Makes for a stronger plot, and less of the constant wondering, "Well, good grief, why would they do THAT??!"

Overall tho, a good read. One which I will probably read again.

posted by MzDallas on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Good Promising outline

Promising outline but the story wasn't flushed out well. Super cheesy, poor dialogue, too fast pacing, and unrealistic actions by the characters.

posted by Anonymous on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Had a good story line, seemed rushed though.  As I read in a few

    Had a good story line, seemed rushed though.  As I read in a few other reviews, some of the actions of the characters were very unrealistic, and a person in that situation would never have done what she did.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Cannot expect too much from a free book

    You get what you paid for. Therefore, since its free it was a cheap deal.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Not great

    Story is hard to follow and not believable. A waste of time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Ok story line, but

    VERY poorlly wtitten the grammer is dreadful

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    ok

    I felt like the characters went from not knowing each other to being madly in love too fast. but it was still a book about overcoming fear, and having someone to love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Ok

    A little cheezy and boring at times

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Not great

    I really had a difficult time getting past all the typos and bad editing. The story line is cheezy as well. But it's free and a quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Cute idea, but badly done

    While I think the idea behind this book was cute it was rushed and awkward and had very little character development.

    I think this author could potentially be one that with some work can write a good story, unfortunately this wasn't it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Just a sloppy, poorly written book.

    Don't waste your time.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Not

    This started out with promise. But lets be real who falls in love over night with someone like Tizzie. Even her name was kinda annoying. What a waste. This story could have been so much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Thank goodness it was free!!!

    This book was ok at best.
    The typos and punctuation were horrid.
    Certainly a book that will not be read again...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Interesting story, but needs work.

    The story is interesting, but it needs more editing and rewriting. The writing is choppy and hard to follow, more like a rough draft than a finished product.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Decent story, but lacking

    The author has managed to put together a pretty compelling story, but the book needs a lot of polishing. There are numerous typos which took away from the story, as well as mistakes in identifying the character who is speaking. These errors made the story a bit hard to read and confusing. I found the dialogue to be very stilted as well. Conversations between the characters was awkward, almost too formal for the situations they were in. The lack of contractions in each character's speecg turned me off.

    I think if some finishing work were done, this has potential to be a good book. However, it's below average at best as it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    So-So

    This book had many grammatical errors. The longer i read, the mire distracting they became. The names of main characters were even mispelled or mixed up. The story line was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Ehhh

    When i read the mixed reviews i figured i'd give the book a try. It wasnt that good, poorly written, questionable at times. But it did have a cute plot, but it seemed at times it blured. I had to force myself to read at times. We really cant tell you to not read it but just really consider the reviews before you read and also remember its free so it would just waste time not money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Ok

    Not bad at the begining but steadily declines through out book and by the last 15 pages i gave up feeling id gotten all i could out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    OK for Freebie

    Prety good story. Sadly, the author doesn't seem to know what a contraction is, so the dialogue is very formal and not at all how people really talk. It really drags the book down. Too bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    anonymous

    this book is so bloody confusing. it is like reading bloody hell

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Love it

    Excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    It was eh..

    It's way too fast paced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4