Customer Reviews for

Advertising for Love

Average Rating 3.5
( 659 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(219)

4 Star

(174)

3 Star

(127)

2 Star

(79)

1 Star

(60)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Great read, full book (336 pages)

UK authors write slightly differently than Americans, so while some of the characters weren't exactly what I expected, it is probably due to the slight cultural difference.

Set in Australia, so that was different. But, the characters stayed in character, and because...
UK authors write slightly differently than Americans, so while some of the characters weren't exactly what I expected, it is probably due to the slight cultural difference.

Set in Australia, so that was different. But, the characters stayed in character, and because it is non-American, there was a lot less of the extra drama some American writers seem to like putting into simple, everyday situations.

Strong heroine. The only thing I didn't care for was the keeping secrets of her past for a 'surprise reveal' practically at the end of the book. That's annoying. Just reveal the secrets, and make the dealing with them part of the plot. Makes for a stronger plot, and less of the constant wondering, "Well, good grief, why would they do THAT??!"

Overall tho, a good read. One which I will probably read again.

posted by MzDallas on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Good Promising outline

Promising outline but the story wasn't flushed out well. Super cheesy, poor dialogue, too fast pacing, and unrealistic actions by the characters.

posted by Anonymous on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 174 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a story depicting the lack of understanding and miscomm

    This was a story depicting the lack of understanding and miscommunication
     that often happens between people, especially men & women. It is also a
    story of woman who, after many years, is still traumatized from an act of
     violence against her. The story emphasizes how judgmental people often
    are on appearances. Someone may not dress well, wear thick glasses,
    may have a speech impediment or a muscular disease, but that doesn't mean
    they are unintelligent nor incapable. There are a lot of good discussion points
    for Book Clubs and clean enough for YA to read.                                                      
    There were a lot of grammatical & typographical errors which was distracting
    but this was a proof draft so, hopefully, the many errors will be corrected.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Cute story

    Cute story, a bit different storyline than what i have seen in other typical romance novels.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Good story

    Loved the book and story however the spelling was horrible. You should read this for sure if you like romance books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    Very enjoyable story, with good character devolpment. Keep in mi

    Very enjoyable story, with good character devolpment. Keep in mind that this is written with UK grammer, so even though some reviews state there are grammatical errors they are just spelled differently in the UK. This is one of those stories you can't help to smile at the outcome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Cute romance. 

    Cute romance. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Excellent value

    This story was well-written and fairly lengthy. It was really surprising that it was free. My only complaints were the disconcerting number of typos and some aspects were a little unrealistic, but isnt that what romance stories should be?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Good read. Loved the love

    Grammar issues but still a great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Good story

    It was pretty good for a short book. Perfect for young adults. Highly reccomended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Nice story

    Good read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Good

    Cute story

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Just wanted to keep reading it day.

    It was a bit different than what i'm used to reading but like one other reader commented, the writer is from England and they tend to write a bit different. I overall l loved it. I finished it in less than two days and i'm a mom of 3 young children. I just wanted to read more and find out what was going to happen next. The spell check needs improvement but other than that, i recommend it and enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Great for a free book.

    Really enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Look past the title

    I hesitated on this because of the title, but finally caved. I'm glad I did because this was cute. I'm a huge reader and enjoyed this heartfelt romp.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Cute

    Very cute and a sweet free read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Liked it

    It was a cute story

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Romantic

    Story romance about "the ugly duckling" comes full circle.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Ugly Duckling

    The title threw me. I thought I'll start but if it is too tacky I'll stop. I really enjoyed the story. Well worth a try

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Good

    Not bad

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    .

    Aside from the poor editing i thought this book was wonderful! Yes it was a tab bit cheesy, but the story was delevoped well. The writing stlye and choice of words definitley had undertones of the british version of english. but i personally loved the quirky words! In my opinion its a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Grammar

    Very hard to read past the grammatical errors. However, i will probsbly read it again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 174 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9