Customer Reviews for

The Aeneid

Average Rating 3.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The star rating is arbitrary...read on.

Just so we're all clear: the following customer reviews address different translations, not the Hackett publication on this page. I haven't read Lombardo's translation of the Aeneid, but I have read some of his translations of other texts and they were great...His voice...
Just so we're all clear: the following customer reviews address different translations, not the Hackett publication on this page. I haven't read Lombardo's translation of the Aeneid, but I have read some of his translations of other texts and they were great...His voice is very modern and readable.

posted by Anonymous on June 2, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This review refers to the translation by C.H. Sisson.

As you can see, there are many translations of The Aeneid out there. Most are in paperback, some are in hardcover. I first read The Aeneid from a second-hand paperback book, and years later decided to buy a hardcover translation to put on my bookshelf between my Homer...
As you can see, there are many translations of The Aeneid out there. Most are in paperback, some are in hardcover. I first read The Aeneid from a second-hand paperback book, and years later decided to buy a hardcover translation to put on my bookshelf between my Homer and Horace hardcovers. Given only meager descriptions of The Aeneid hardcovers available from B&N, I more or less blindly chose the translation by C.H. Sisson. The book was advertised as having been published in 1995, but the book itself gave a copywright of 1986. The introduction is barely five pages long, and there are no notes or illustrations or a glossary. The dust jacket is rust in color and rather plain. The dimensions of the book itself is: 8 3/4' tall, 5 3/4' wide, and about 1 1/8' thick. I found the book to be smaller than my other hardcovers, which for some reason bothers me. I hope this description helps you, the potential buyer, in making your decision, as I wish I had this information when I selected. Book stores on the web are great, even superior to 'real' stores in many aspects, but sometimes we need more than just a photo (if we even have that)and non-descriptive info, especially when the only reviews are applied to every translation of a classical work. You may be thinking this reviewer needs to stop worrying about the sizes of books and get out of the house more. But for some of us, we want to know what a book looks like, to find the most attractive copy of a literary classic to place on our bookshelves. You know who you are. The bottom line, however, is whether you get this translation, a worn-out paperback edition, a book from a library, or any other competent translation of Virgil's masterpiece, you will have a great work to read and enjoy. And you get a longer bang for your buck if it looks good on your bookshelf after you finish it.

posted by Anonymous on December 13, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2006

    The star rating is arbitrary...read on.

    Just so we're all clear: the following customer reviews address different translations, not the Hackett publication on this page. I haven't read Lombardo's translation of the Aeneid, but I have read some of his translations of other texts and they were great...His voice is very modern and readable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2000

    This review refers to the translation by C.H. Sisson.

    As you can see, there are many translations of The Aeneid out there. Most are in paperback, some are in hardcover. I first read The Aeneid from a second-hand paperback book, and years later decided to buy a hardcover translation to put on my bookshelf between my Homer and Horace hardcovers. Given only meager descriptions of The Aeneid hardcovers available from B&N, I more or less blindly chose the translation by C.H. Sisson. The book was advertised as having been published in 1995, but the book itself gave a copywright of 1986. The introduction is barely five pages long, and there are no notes or illustrations or a glossary. The dust jacket is rust in color and rather plain. The dimensions of the book itself is: 8 3/4' tall, 5 3/4' wide, and about 1 1/8' thick. I found the book to be smaller than my other hardcovers, which for some reason bothers me. I hope this description helps you, the potential buyer, in making your decision, as I wish I had this information when I selected. Book stores on the web are great, even superior to 'real' stores in many aspects, but sometimes we need more than just a photo (if we even have that)and non-descriptive info, especially when the only reviews are applied to every translation of a classical work. You may be thinking this reviewer needs to stop worrying about the sizes of books and get out of the house more. But for some of us, we want to know what a book looks like, to find the most attractive copy of a literary classic to place on our bookshelves. You know who you are. The bottom line, however, is whether you get this translation, a worn-out paperback edition, a book from a library, or any other competent translation of Virgil's masterpiece, you will have a great work to read and enjoy. And you get a longer bang for your buck if it looks good on your bookshelf after you finish it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Djgfygh

    Ycggc

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Great book

    Good book..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Poor

    Poor edition with bad typographical errors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Bad ocr

    Unreadable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Poor copy

    Not readable. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Mine

    Iron ore

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Bad Scan

    You can get the gist of it, but B&N really needs to enforce some quality control.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Horrible!

    Horriblr translating and hard to picture and read. TRUST ME DONT READ IT!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    OcR OCR Makes Unreadable

    A good translation doesn't matter if the scanner screws it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Its in latin of course...

    Its in latin dummy. Silly me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    Very difficult to follow dont bother

    I dont know why all of these free books are so misspelled and have all of these arbitrary characters in them if you have never read this classic you will never be able to follow this text

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    Not a great copy...

    Tge upside to this book is that it's free...it all goes downhill from there though. The spacing on the pages are confusing and make reading very difficult. If you really want to read this, you should probably just dish out the money to buy one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    wrong translation

    I bought a Nook edition of an Aeneid translation after reading an "excerpt" which turned out to have been taken from a different translation, one which would have been better for my needs. So, don't buy from Barnes and Noble unless you double-check at another site to make sure you are buying what you think you are buying. I am not naming the particular translations involved because it's pointless - it looks as though the reviews get mixed up as much as the excerpts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2000

    A Must

    I read this book for a course on classical Greece and Rome in college and I have to say that it was the best of the many books I read. It usurps Homer and other classics and is, in my mind, the best classic one can find about ancient Troy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3