Customer Reviews for

The Aeneid

Average Rating 3.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The star rating is arbitrary...read on.

Just so we're all clear: the following customer reviews address different translations, not the Hackett publication on this page. I haven't read Lombardo's translation of the Aeneid, but I have read some of his translations of other texts and they were great...His voice...
Just so we're all clear: the following customer reviews address different translations, not the Hackett publication on this page. I haven't read Lombardo's translation of the Aeneid, but I have read some of his translations of other texts and they were great...His voice is very modern and readable.

posted by Anonymous on June 2, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This review refers to the translation by C.H. Sisson.

As you can see, there are many translations of The Aeneid out there. Most are in paperback, some are in hardcover. I first read The Aeneid from a second-hand paperback book, and years later decided to buy a hardcover translation to put on my bookshelf between my Homer...
As you can see, there are many translations of The Aeneid out there. Most are in paperback, some are in hardcover. I first read The Aeneid from a second-hand paperback book, and years later decided to buy a hardcover translation to put on my bookshelf between my Homer and Horace hardcovers. Given only meager descriptions of The Aeneid hardcovers available from B&N, I more or less blindly chose the translation by C.H. Sisson. The book was advertised as having been published in 1995, but the book itself gave a copywright of 1986. The introduction is barely five pages long, and there are no notes or illustrations or a glossary. The dust jacket is rust in color and rather plain. The dimensions of the book itself is: 8 3/4' tall, 5 3/4' wide, and about 1 1/8' thick. I found the book to be smaller than my other hardcovers, which for some reason bothers me. I hope this description helps you, the potential buyer, in making your decision, as I wish I had this information when I selected. Book stores on the web are great, even superior to 'real' stores in many aspects, but sometimes we need more than just a photo (if we even have that)and non-descriptive info, especially when the only reviews are applied to every translation of a classical work. You may be thinking this reviewer needs to stop worrying about the sizes of books and get out of the house more. But for some of us, we want to know what a book looks like, to find the most attractive copy of a literary classic to place on our bookshelves. You know who you are. The bottom line, however, is whether you get this translation, a worn-out paperback edition, a book from a library, or any other competent translation of Virgil's masterpiece, you will have a great work to read and enjoy. And you get a longer bang for your buck if it looks good on your bookshelf after you finish it.

posted by Anonymous on December 13, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2006

    The star rating is arbitrary...read on.

    Just so we're all clear: the following customer reviews address different translations, not the Hackett publication on this page. I haven't read Lombardo's translation of the Aeneid, but I have read some of his translations of other texts and they were great...His voice is very modern and readable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2000

    This review refers to the translation by C.H. Sisson.

    As you can see, there are many translations of The Aeneid out there. Most are in paperback, some are in hardcover. I first read The Aeneid from a second-hand paperback book, and years later decided to buy a hardcover translation to put on my bookshelf between my Homer and Horace hardcovers. Given only meager descriptions of The Aeneid hardcovers available from B&N, I more or less blindly chose the translation by C.H. Sisson. The book was advertised as having been published in 1995, but the book itself gave a copywright of 1986. The introduction is barely five pages long, and there are no notes or illustrations or a glossary. The dust jacket is rust in color and rather plain. The dimensions of the book itself is: 8 3/4' tall, 5 3/4' wide, and about 1 1/8' thick. I found the book to be smaller than my other hardcovers, which for some reason bothers me. I hope this description helps you, the potential buyer, in making your decision, as I wish I had this information when I selected. Book stores on the web are great, even superior to 'real' stores in many aspects, but sometimes we need more than just a photo (if we even have that)and non-descriptive info, especially when the only reviews are applied to every translation of a classical work. You may be thinking this reviewer needs to stop worrying about the sizes of books and get out of the house more. But for some of us, we want to know what a book looks like, to find the most attractive copy of a literary classic to place on our bookshelves. You know who you are. The bottom line, however, is whether you get this translation, a worn-out paperback edition, a book from a library, or any other competent translation of Virgil's masterpiece, you will have a great work to read and enjoy. And you get a longer bang for your buck if it looks good on your bookshelf after you finish it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    B

    Uh cats what does that have to do with the aeinad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Dismay

    Name: Dismay Stormcloak.<br>Age: Older than you.<br>Gender: Female.<br>Appearance: She's average size. She's a dark brown tabby with one white ear and one tawny ear. Her eyes are red and oddly human. She has a scar over her left eye and her white ear is somewhat torn.<br>Personality: Bi<_>tchy, sarcastic, and edgy. Yep. That about sums her up. <br>Mate: Dagger...?<br>Kits: Hemlock, Scythe, and Misery.<br>Other Family: Well, her biological family's huge, and she claimed Randi and Swift as hers. Sho.<br>History: To be honest, l have used this character for so many things, her history is screwed up. So l'm not even going to try to elaborate.<br>Other: Uhm...That's about it. xD Her counterpart's Raylen of Oliver Twist.<br>BAM. IF YOU ASK ANYTHING ABOUT ME, I HAVE A RIGHT TO BI<_>TCHSLAP YOU BECAUSE VUT'S ALL HERE. PEACE.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    &alpha

    &beta

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    OutCast's Marvelous Biography

    Ask or she will ki<_>ll you.
    <p>
    Ask and she will ki<_>ll you.
    <p>
    Marvelous, isn't it?
    <p>
    Look, sweetheart. You don't know me unless you're epic. If you're reading my biography to find out who I am, my case is closed.
    <p>
    Have a MARVELOUS day.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    Fang bio

    Male name fang looks gray with a patch of tan furr that looks like a fang. He has green eyes crush is swift and he can be vicious and nice.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    Furyfangs bio

    Name furyfang but you can call me bluddyfang

    Gender male

    Age just tearned 17 moons

    Mate i want one

    Kits none

    Crush none

    Claws three inches

    Fangs four inches

    Personality very pushy deadly has attitud very mean and uses bunny skin to wipe his claws and fangs

    Looks like dirt blond fur and a black pelt

    WARNING ATTACK ME THEN ITS YOUR FUNERULL

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    OutCast's Bio

    Fu<_>ck you. You obviously don't know me, I probably don't wanna know you. Don't feel bad, I ha<_>te everyone. Now go on with your useless, pet<_>ty life.
    <p>
    Have a nice day, sir.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Firehawk's bio

    Name: Firehawk<p>Age: 17 moons. <p>Gender: She is a female. I feel this part is necessary because Firehawk can be a male name.<p> Appearance: A ginger with a strange silver eye and a green eye. The silver eye doen't give her powers, it's just devoid of color.<p>Mate/Crush/Kits: NA/Rohan, Rohan, Rohan, and did I mention Rohan?/NA<p>The song that describes her: Demons by Imagine Dragons.<p>Other: Ask

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2014

    Eclipse's Bio

    Name~DUR ECLIPSE!!! <p> Age~ Doesn't matter <p> Appearance~ A pure black she-cat with a long tail and dark blue eye that every once and a while will flicker with red. <p> Family~ Dead deal with it <p> History~Long and sad <p> Crush/Mate~ Thistlefang/No <p> Kits~ Zilch <p> Favorite Prey~ Raven <p> Theme Song~Don't Stop by 5SOS

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Fang's bio

    Name- Fang // Age- 22 Moons // Gender- &male // Looks- Large black tom with amber eyes // Crush- ... // Mate- Wants // Kits- Wants

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Rose's Bio

    Name :: RoseThorn
    <br>
    Gender :: &female
    <br>
    Age :: 16 Moons
    <br>
    Appearance :: Long-furred dark brown with white paws and dark emerald eyes.
    <br>
    Crush :: . . .
    <br>
    Mate :: . . .
    <br>
    Kits :: . . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Djgfygh

    Ycggc

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Great book

    Good book..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Poor

    Poor edition with bad typographical errors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Bad ocr

    Unreadable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Poor copy

    Not readable. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Mine

    Iron ore

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Bad Scan

    You can get the gist of it, but B&N really needs to enforce some quality control.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3