BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Aeneid

Average Rating 4
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The star rating is arbitrary...read on.

Just so we're all clear: the following customer reviews address different translations, not the Hackett publication on this page. I haven't read Lombardo's translation of the Aeneid, but I have read some of his translations of other texts and they were great...His voice...
Just so we're all clear: the following customer reviews address different translations, not the Hackett publication on this page. I haven't read Lombardo's translation of the Aeneid, but I have read some of his translations of other texts and they were great...His voice is very modern and readable.

posted by Anonymous on June 2, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This review refers to the translation by C.H. Sisson.

As you can see, there are many translations of The Aeneid out there. Most are in paperback, some are in hardcover. I first read The Aeneid from a second-hand paperback book, and years later decided to buy a hardcover translation to put on my bookshelf between my Homer...
As you can see, there are many translations of The Aeneid out there. Most are in paperback, some are in hardcover. I first read The Aeneid from a second-hand paperback book, and years later decided to buy a hardcover translation to put on my bookshelf between my Homer and Horace hardcovers. Given only meager descriptions of The Aeneid hardcovers available from B&N, I more or less blindly chose the translation by C.H. Sisson. The book was advertised as having been published in 1995, but the book itself gave a copywright of 1986. The introduction is barely five pages long, and there are no notes or illustrations or a glossary. The dust jacket is rust in color and rather plain. The dimensions of the book itself is: 8 3/4' tall, 5 3/4' wide, and about 1 1/8' thick. I found the book to be smaller than my other hardcovers, which for some reason bothers me. I hope this description helps you, the potential buyer, in making your decision, as I wish I had this information when I selected. Book stores on the web are great, even superior to 'real' stores in many aspects, but sometimes we need more than just a photo (if we even have that)and non-descriptive info, especially when the only reviews are applied to every translation of a classical work. You may be thinking this reviewer needs to stop worrying about the sizes of books and get out of the house more. But for some of us, we want to know what a book looks like, to find the most attractive copy of a literary classic to place on our bookshelves. You know who you are. The bottom line, however, is whether you get this translation, a worn-out paperback edition, a book from a library, or any other competent translation of Virgil's masterpiece, you will have a great work to read and enjoy. And you get a longer bang for your buck if it looks good on your bookshelf after you finish it.

posted by Anonymous on December 13, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2006

    The star rating is arbitrary...read on.

    Just so we're all clear: the following customer reviews address different translations, not the Hackett publication on this page. I haven't read Lombardo's translation of the Aeneid, but I have read some of his translations of other texts and they were great...His voice is very modern and readable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2000

    This review refers to the translation by C.H. Sisson.

    As you can see, there are many translations of The Aeneid out there. Most are in paperback, some are in hardcover. I first read The Aeneid from a second-hand paperback book, and years later decided to buy a hardcover translation to put on my bookshelf between my Homer and Horace hardcovers. Given only meager descriptions of The Aeneid hardcovers available from B&N, I more or less blindly chose the translation by C.H. Sisson. The book was advertised as having been published in 1995, but the book itself gave a copywright of 1986. The introduction is barely five pages long, and there are no notes or illustrations or a glossary. The dust jacket is rust in color and rather plain. The dimensions of the book itself is: 8 3/4' tall, 5 3/4' wide, and about 1 1/8' thick. I found the book to be smaller than my other hardcovers, which for some reason bothers me. I hope this description helps you, the potential buyer, in making your decision, as I wish I had this information when I selected. Book stores on the web are great, even superior to 'real' stores in many aspects, but sometimes we need more than just a photo (if we even have that)and non-descriptive info, especially when the only reviews are applied to every translation of a classical work. You may be thinking this reviewer needs to stop worrying about the sizes of books and get out of the house more. But for some of us, we want to know what a book looks like, to find the most attractive copy of a literary classic to place on our bookshelves. You know who you are. The bottom line, however, is whether you get this translation, a worn-out paperback edition, a book from a library, or any other competent translation of Virgil's masterpiece, you will have a great work to read and enjoy. And you get a longer bang for your buck if it looks good on your bookshelf after you finish it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    Ignore the figure

    Okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2014

    Blaze bio

    Looks...brown and white calico she cat with amber eyes...
    Personality...kind loyal and secretive...
    Age...unknown to anyone but herself...
    Crush...also unknown to anyone but herself...
    mate/kits...nada...
    Other...just ask..she might claw your ears off if you push her around too much. Just fyi.( :

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2014

    Maroons Biography

    Name: wait a sec. Who cares?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2014

    &infin Fluttershy's Bio! &infin

    Name: *suspicious glare* <p> Nicknames: Fluts, Flutter, and (ONE time...) Poneh. <p> Age: Pineapple. Der. <p> Gender: &female <p> Looks: She's light, dandilion yellow with blue-green eyes and longish fur. <p> Mate: Armageddon <p> Kits: Adder (fathered by Burninghate (he force.mated Flutter)) <br> NOTE: She has others who are adopted. <p> Kin: Khoni (Mother, Rouge) <br> Blaze (Brother, Rouge) <br> Dashing: (Brother, Rouge) <br> Spottedpaw (Sister, ThunderClan) <p> History: Ask meh. <p> Personlity: Meet me! :3 <p> Theme Song: 'Discord' by The Living Tombstone <p> BAI

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Ebony's Nicknames (New Edition! Coolyo!)

    Nickynamiys: Ebs, Eb, possibly Ebaneiser, Ebidable, Ebbie, Ebone, and Ebls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2014

    Bio of the mighty Toxic

    Name: *blank stare* <p> Age: 6 moons (random fact about the number six; it comes after the number five, and you can add up may different numbers to make it! Examples: 2 + 4, 3 + 3) <p> Gender &male and I am NOT gonna prove it. Perv. <p> Looks: shaggy white pelt, with coal black stripes on each of his legs, and three, count 'em, three horizontal gray stripes the run along his back, starting at his shoulders and ending at the base of his tail. His eyes are a bright, kingly violet, with darker violet speckles. <p> Personality: natural born leader, bold, sometimes sarcastic (okay, a lot of the time), and full of courage. Always up for any adventure and will dive into danger head-on without looking back. <p> Family: Seven (mother), Virus (father), Vitani (sister), Savvy (sister), Serval (brother), Toxin (grandfather). <p> Friends: well I just got here, but... I'd definitely say that Seven and Swift (Swufteh I'm sorreh! I promised I'd only ever call you by your nickname, but I lied :3) are my two best friends here. I hope to add to this list and include each and every one of you :D <p> <br> Baiii for now! *huggles and throws around white fundip* #Glosseh4ever #feedme

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2014

    Fyrefoxs bio

    Name seriously age old enough looks black with blue patterns that look like fire hobbies fishing hunting questions ask

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    ♧ Wind's Bio Point Somfin/Somfin♧

    Name: Still same.<p>Age: 28 moons<p>La Looks: White with irregular grey stripes that make her fur look windblown, Stormy blue eyes with flecks of stormy grey. She has a shimmery dark blue collar with a shiny silver star charm that is about 1" by 1"<p>Strengths: Great tree climber, or used to be (leg is broken), sympathetic, and great with herbs.<p>Weaknesses: Sympathy, great with herbs (it got her leg broken-longish story), and loves kits.<p>Herstory: She and her sister, Ebony, had dislikes, and after Ebony ran away, she went after her. Today, River got mad that Wind had herbs like a med cat and threw her against a tree, breaking her leg. (I dont care what chu say, River!)<p>Likes: honey, flowers<p>Dislikes: randomness (not the cat!) and River (the cat)<p>Favorite Thing: Honey<p>Theme Song: God's Not Dead by Newsboys<p>siggy: &#9831 <p>Ciao for now! ~Wind

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2014

    Glowingtigers bio redo

    Ill do it later

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2014

    Convergence bio (Redo xd)

    My name is Convergence. I was originally "nameless" but someone was kind enough to bestow this lovely name upon me. *0* I am an age between 1 and 100 o.o I like most people. Most. I am a shecat with black fur and silver paws. I have electric blue eyes. I know nothing of my history.. I have been alone for as long as I can remember. This clan I can honestly say has been the best. I was in one before, but nothing like this. Most told me not to come here because it was full of terrible things. I completely disagree. (Liarrsss) I have great respect for the leader and my clanmates. I can be a bit crazy sometimes, especially if I know you well. I only have one friend here... at least thats what I think. If I love you, I would do anything for you. I would totally get you the moon if you asked but I can't reach it. CURSE YOU ARMS XD I have never had a mate or kits. Haven't had any real crushes, either. It's all good though! #SinglePringle I can be loving so here is a hug. *gives you a hug* But always keep in mind... I will BITE YO FACE O,..,O

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    Reaper's Bio

    <p> [Holy jebus, man! All you peeps are so high-tech! My bio's gonna suck. -__-] </p>
    <p> Reaper </p>
    <p> 13 moons old </p>
    <p> Feirce, can be kind, tempermental[Yo,I has gots issues. Stay back.], encouraging, loyal. </p>
    <p> No kin </p>
    <p> No mate, kits, but a crush on N - nevermind. </p>
    <p> No important history </p>
    <p> He has a small, thick banded, gold hoop earing in his right ear, and a worn leather collar that has a curling, black and silver metal feather dangling from it. </p>
    <p> He is a muscular, deep dark brown, long furred tabby tom. He has brilliant green eyes with gold fleck and streaks in the irises, long front fangs, and long, thick claws. </p>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2014

    ☺ Tiemiy the Bodybuilder ☺

    Name~> Flickerbag Scumballs! Naw, it's Tiemiy. <p>

    Nicknamers~> Tiemiy-Rhymey, Tii-tii, Ti-to-the-em-to-the-iy <p>

    Pronunctiation~> Aw. You're cute! It's (Ti-em-y). <p>

    Age~> Holy. Moli. Guacamoli. Are you sassin' me, punk? I'mma WOMAN! You don't ask a woman her age. *flips hair dramatically* <p>

    Gender~> It's oubvious. I think you know I am a girl. Woman. Chick. Babe. Lady. Female. Femme. &female<_>. Any of those. <p>

    Lookies~> Blind kitty. Nununuh nununuh. 'Cos you're a blind kitty. Nununuh nununuh. Okie. Here goes. White. Gingah streaks. Bright blue eyes. Lithe. Strong. DUHR. <p>

    Persona~> Meet moi. Meeeeeeettt moooooiiii. I hate repititionitionitionition. :\ <p>

    Friendiis~> Ohkhaye. Nobody else. :'( <p>

    Crush~> Yes. Paradox. Shut your piehole. <p>

    Mate~> No. Nonononononononononononono. I'mma so annoying. <p>

    Kits~> What. Do. You. Think? <p>

    Song~> 'Shake it Off' by Taylor the Swift girl. <p>

    Signature~> Tiemiy \-/ <p>

    Siggy~> &#9787 <p>

    OOC: <br>
    Rper: OVv3! &#x5678 <p>

    (*-*) <br>
    (___\\ <br>
    -|--|---------/ /--- <br>
    _________________ <br>
    Bird on a stick. <p>

    Bai.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2014

    Platii3

    I realized that Prism and Platinum aren't actually friends, just RPer-RPer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2014

    簻 Platinum's Bio 1.4 簻

    Alright! For easy reference, l'm going to not do the funny shtuff this time. Sowwy! <br>
    <p>
    Name- Platinum <br>
    <p>
    Nicknames- Plat, Platii, Plattii, Nummy, Platinun (typo mispell) <br>
    <p>
    Age- Not old, but not too young <br>
    <p>
    Gender- &female <br>
    <p>
    Looks- Dark grey with lighter grey chest and paws. One toe on a paw is almost white. Very dark blue eyes, almost navy. She has a scar on her stomach and ear, pressumably battle wounds. <br>
    <p>
    Personality- Stubborn, Often Irritated/ing, Bossy, Co<_>cky, Willfull. Also Kind, Funny, Strange, and Just Plain Cool (JPC) <br>
    <p>
    Kin- Parents are unknown. <br>
    Brother is Silverfang, or Silv. <br>
    Sisters-in-law are Mint, Shatter, Nightsky, Pikapower, Dream or Night or something, to name a few. <br>
    Nieces/Nephews- Silv's kits. <br>
    <p>
    History- When Platinum was still nursing, her mother kept er in a rabbit burrow. By the time Platinum was weened, her mother abandoned her. She lived as a loner then, never seeking friendship or companionship. Finally, her brother Silverfang found her and convinced her to join Bloodclan. <br>
    <p>
    Crush- Quasi <br>
    <p>
    Mate- Quasi <br>
    <p>
    Kits- Verdigris (&male), and Vermillion (&male) <br>
    <p>
    Birthday- March 28 (day BEFORE my real birthday) <br>
    <p>
    Fave Candy- Hershey's Cookies 'N' Cream, Reeses, Twix, KitKat, Snickers, Milky Way, or anything chocolate. Oh, and White Fundip (dying... ;[) ) <br>
    <p>
    Friends- Swift, Quasi, Randeh (more RPer-RPer), and Prism's RPer <br>
    <p>
    Siggy- &#31803 <br>
    <p>
    Other- Ask- that's an order. <br>
    <p>
    Baisees!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2014

    Randi's History

    Eh. I'll post it later. Somewhere else actually o.o

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    Randi3 (Continued)

    And the bi<_>tch isn't Dissy. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7