Customer Reviews for

The Aeneid: Virgil's Greatest Hits

Average Rating 4
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The star rating is arbitrary...read on.

Just so we're all clear: the following customer reviews address different translations, not the Hackett publication on this page. I haven't read Lombardo's translation of the Aeneid, but I have read some of his translations of other texts and they were great...His voice...
Just so we're all clear: the following customer reviews address different translations, not the Hackett publication on this page. I haven't read Lombardo's translation of the Aeneid, but I have read some of his translations of other texts and they were great...His voice is very modern and readable.

posted by Anonymous on June 2, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This review refers to the translation by C.H. Sisson.

As you can see, there are many translations of The Aeneid out there. Most are in paperback, some are in hardcover. I first read The Aeneid from a second-hand paperback book, and years later decided to buy a hardcover translation to put on my bookshelf between my Homer...
As you can see, there are many translations of The Aeneid out there. Most are in paperback, some are in hardcover. I first read The Aeneid from a second-hand paperback book, and years later decided to buy a hardcover translation to put on my bookshelf between my Homer and Horace hardcovers. Given only meager descriptions of The Aeneid hardcovers available from B&N, I more or less blindly chose the translation by C.H. Sisson. The book was advertised as having been published in 1995, but the book itself gave a copywright of 1986. The introduction is barely five pages long, and there are no notes or illustrations or a glossary. The dust jacket is rust in color and rather plain. The dimensions of the book itself is: 8 3/4' tall, 5 3/4' wide, and about 1 1/8' thick. I found the book to be smaller than my other hardcovers, which for some reason bothers me. I hope this description helps you, the potential buyer, in making your decision, as I wish I had this information when I selected. Book stores on the web are great, even superior to 'real' stores in many aspects, but sometimes we need more than just a photo (if we even have that)and non-descriptive info, especially when the only reviews are applied to every translation of a classical work. You may be thinking this reviewer needs to stop worrying about the sizes of books and get out of the house more. But for some of us, we want to know what a book looks like, to find the most attractive copy of a literary classic to place on our bookshelves. You know who you are. The bottom line, however, is whether you get this translation, a worn-out paperback edition, a book from a library, or any other competent translation of Virgil's masterpiece, you will have a great work to read and enjoy. And you get a longer bang for your buck if it looks good on your bookshelf after you finish it.

posted by Anonymous on December 13, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2006

    The star rating is arbitrary...read on.

    Just so we're all clear: the following customer reviews address different translations, not the Hackett publication on this page. I haven't read Lombardo's translation of the Aeneid, but I have read some of his translations of other texts and they were great...His voice is very modern and readable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2015

    Twilight and Zayele's Bio.

    Name Twilight <p> Gender female <p> Personality meet me <p> Appearance the upper part of her body is a dark blue that grafually fades to purple and the purple fades to a pink. Her horns and spines are a dark blue. She has light blue eyes. <p> Crush: been watching him for a very long time which for her means whn the war started. And im not tellin no one. <p> Name Zayele <p> Gender Female. <p> Personality Meet me <p> Appearance Waist length black hair with a silver and purple streak in it. Slim body and pale skin. Blue eyes. Pointed ears. Silver and purple dragon wings that also have flecks of black on them. Nornaly wears a silver and purple graphic tshirt with a raven on it, black jeans skinny jeans with a silver braided belt and silver and black gladiator snadals with dark purple jewels on them. <p> Spieces half dragon half elf. <p>Anything else but history ask!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2015

    Bloodyflame bio update

    Name: tell you what, look t the headline. Age: who cares. Gender:female Looks: a black cat with dragon wings and claws black eyes tht dance with flames.. Powers: can block spells and cast them. Caj turn into a dragon the size of a large dog. . Can breathe fire and shhot lightining in cat form and dragon form. Other:ask.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    Xtoski

    Name: Xtoski <br> Age: the first dragon. <br> Apearance: seventeen heads. He's all black. His blood is lava. Now go ki<_>ll somedragon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    Terroz

    Name: Terroz <p> Gender: male <br> Apearance: blue with a red spine and a red streak on his forehead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    Ignore the figure

    Okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2014

    Blaze bio

    Looks...brown and white calico she cat with amber eyes...
    Personality...kind loyal and secretive...
    Age...unknown to anyone but herself...
    Crush...also unknown to anyone but herself...
    mate/kits...nada...
    Other...just ask..she might claw your ears off if you push her around too much. Just fyi.( :

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2014

    Maroons Biography

    Name: wait a sec. Who cares?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2014

    &infin Fluttershy's Bio! &infin

    Name: *suspicious glare* <p> Nicknames: Fluts, Flutter, and (ONE time...) Poneh. <p> Age: Pineapple. Der. <p> Gender: &female <p> Looks: She's light, dandilion yellow with blue-green eyes and longish fur. <p> Mate: Armageddon <p> Kits: Adder (fathered by Burninghate (he force.mated Flutter)) <br> NOTE: She has others who are adopted. <p> Kin: Khoni (Mother, Rouge) <br> Blaze (Brother, Rouge) <br> Dashing: (Brother, Rouge) <br> Spottedpaw (Sister, ThunderClan) <p> History: Ask meh. <p> Personlity: Meet me! :3 <p> Theme Song: 'Discord' by The Living Tombstone <p> BAI

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Ebony's Nicknames (New Edition! Coolyo!)

    Nickynamiys: Ebs, Eb, possibly Ebaneiser, Ebidable, Ebbie, Ebone, and Ebls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2014

    Fyrefoxs bio

    Name seriously age old enough looks black with blue patterns that look like fire hobbies fishing hunting questions ask

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    ♧ Wind's Bio Point Somfin/Somfin♧

    Name: Still same.<p>Age: 28 moons<p>La Looks: White with irregular grey stripes that make her fur look windblown, Stormy blue eyes with flecks of stormy grey. She has a shimmery dark blue collar with a shiny silver star charm that is about 1" by 1"<p>Strengths: Great tree climber, or used to be (leg is broken), sympathetic, and great with herbs.<p>Weaknesses: Sympathy, great with herbs (it got her leg broken-longish story), and loves kits.<p>Herstory: She and her sister, Ebony, had dislikes, and after Ebony ran away, she went after her. Today, River got mad that Wind had herbs like a med cat and threw her against a tree, breaking her leg. (I dont care what chu say, River!)<p>Likes: honey, flowers<p>Dislikes: randomness (not the cat!) and River (the cat)<p>Favorite Thing: Honey<p>Theme Song: God's Not Dead by Newsboys<p>siggy: &#9831 <p>Ciao for now! ~Wind

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2014

    Glowingtigers bio redo

    Ill do it later

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2014

    Convergence bio (Redo xd)

    My name is Convergence. I was originally "nameless" but someone was kind enough to bestow this lovely name upon me. *0* I am an age between 1 and 100 o.o I like most people. Most. I am a shecat with black fur and silver paws. I have electric blue eyes. I know nothing of my history.. I have been alone for as long as I can remember. This clan I can honestly say has been the best. I was in one before, but nothing like this. Most told me not to come here because it was full of terrible things. I completely disagree. (Liarrsss) I have great respect for the leader and my clanmates. I can be a bit crazy sometimes, especially if I know you well. I only have one friend here... at least thats what I think. If I love you, I would do anything for you. I would totally get you the moon if you asked but I can't reach it. CURSE YOU ARMS XD I have never had a mate or kits. Haven't had any real crushes, either. It's all good though! #SinglePringle I can be loving so here is a hug. *gives you a hug* But always keep in mind... I will BITE YO FACE O,..,O

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2014

    ☺ Tiemiy the Bodybuilder ☺

    Name~> Flickerbag Scumballs! Naw, it's Tiemiy. <p>

    Nicknamers~> Tiemiy-Rhymey, Tii-tii, Ti-to-the-em-to-the-iy <p>

    Pronunctiation~> Aw. You're cute! It's (Ti-em-y). <p>

    Age~> Holy. Moli. Guacamoli. Are you sassin' me, punk? I'mma WOMAN! You don't ask a woman her age. *flips hair dramatically* <p>

    Gender~> It's oubvious. I think you know I am a girl. Woman. Chick. Babe. Lady. Female. Femme. &female<_>. Any of those. <p>

    Lookies~> Blind kitty. Nununuh nununuh. 'Cos you're a blind kitty. Nununuh nununuh. Okie. Here goes. White. Gingah streaks. Bright blue eyes. Lithe. Strong. DUHR. <p>

    Persona~> Meet moi. Meeeeeeettt moooooiiii. I hate repititionitionitionition. :\ <p>

    Friendiis~> Ohkhaye. Nobody else. :'( <p>

    Crush~> Yes. Paradox. Shut your piehole. <p>

    Mate~> No. Nonononononononononononono. I'mma so annoying. <p>

    Kits~> What. Do. You. Think? <p>

    Song~> 'Shake it Off' by Taylor the Swift girl. <p>

    Signature~> Tiemiy \-/ <p>

    Siggy~> &#9787 <p>

    OOC: <br>
    Rper: OVv3! &#x5678 <p>

    (*-*) <br>
    (___\\ <br>
    -|--|---------/ /--- <br>
    _________________ <br>
    Bird on a stick. <p>

    Bai.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2014

    Randi's History

    Eh. I'll post it later. Somewhere else actually o.o

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    Randi3 (Continued)

    And the bi<_>tch isn't Dissy. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    Dismay

    Everyone seems to be making a bio, and l have time to kill, so...<br>Name: Dismay Fu<_>cking Storncloak.<br>Age: Older than most. This character's almost two years old in real time, so if you do the math and estimate her age in rp time...o.o<br>Gender: Bi<_>tch.<br>Personality: Um....o.o....This is a tricky one. She used to be all sneaky and relatively nice and stuff but then after a year she kinda became the Haymitch of cats, only more insane. She has no problem cooking your internal organs in a stew and feeding it to small children. x.x She's very open-minded and has no problem flirting with a plate or tree.<br>Family: Uh, her biological family kinda abandoned her, and her supposed mate has been on exactly thrice in the past year. So, she claim Randi and Swift as her family and they're about the only two cats she trusts whole-heartedly.<br>Appearance: She's a dark brown tabby with one white ear and one tawny. Her eyes are red. Dundundun.<br>Other: Dat'sit. :3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5