BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Aeneid of Virgil

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    A bit hard to read...

    ...and I mean literally not logically. This particular book is a photocopy of a paperback book so the writing is very small even when put to extra, extra large. The full text is there so I am not disappointed with the material.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    Okkkkkk

    Okkk I &hearts Hunger Games not this &#9786

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    Lovely...! beautiful.....!.... Just enjoy it.....! 

    Lovely...! beautiful.....!.... Just enjoy it.....! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2014

    Amazing.....!Excellent......!Just enjoy it.....!

    Amazing.....!Excellent......!Just enjoy it.....!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Not The Best Translation But A Good Alternate One

    I Find The Fitzgerald and Fagles translations of Virgil's AENEID to be the best readable copies of this classical work- but Mandelbaum's version is a close second in readability & enjoyment. The Nook version of this Bantam Classics paperback is surprisingly clear and easy to read(in the "publisher's default" section of the Nook's font menu). A previous reviewer stated the type/scanning was poor- but I found no typos or anything negative with the eBook. 3 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2004

    Perfect for the English Reader or the Latin Lover

    What a wondeful translation of Vergil's Aeneid. As a student of the classics, I found Mandelbaum's translation pleasant to read in English, as the verse, which I dislike in most English translations from Latin, flowed smoothly and kept up a lively pace. As a 3rd year Latin student translating the Aenead, it made a perfect reference for checking my translations because it stayed so true to the original Latin without becoming dry to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2004

    '...each man's relentless longing...'

    This review relates to Allen Mandelbaum's English verse translation of Virgil's -Aeneid-. (Bantam Books; 1961/1981). This edition is excellent for the opening 'life' of Virgil, for Mandelbaum's 'Introduction,' and for his verse translation of Virgil's epic (poem) as well. Mandelbaum's explanation for his own overlooking of Virgil's greatness in his youth because of a tendency to listen to the critical perspectives of others who compared him unfavorably to Homer or because the critic saw the heroes depicted as figures who 'live the cool and limited existence of shadows, nourished by the blood of noble zeal, blood that has been sacrificed in the attempt to recall what has forever disappeared,' all mislead (as Mandelbaum now believes) the reader from truly appreciating the depth and fully human awarenesses that Virgil puts into his epic. Some of the 'Introduction,' is too academic and studied in its inspective fussiness, but then Mandelbaum will come up with something enlivening and satisfying like this: 'Virgil does not have Plato's humor; but he does have Platonic tolerance (and more compassion than Plato). And if the relative weights of the Epicurean, the Stoic, the Pythagorean in him are often hard to assess, his humanity is constant -- and vital, not lumbering, not marmoreal. And not shrill; and when, with the goad of public despair, my own poetic voice has had to struggle often with shrillness, the work on this translation has been most welcome.' Wondrous and insightful. Mandelbaum's verse translation: 'Their minds and hearts were one;/in war they charged together; and now, too,/they shared a sentry station at one gate./ And Nisus says: 'Euryalus, is it/the gods who put this fire in our minds,/or is it that each man's relentless longing becomes a god to him?''

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2000

    The Aeneid- Great Book

    The Aeneid is a great book for an itelligent teenager or interested adult. The book is very detailed and in depth. I would suggest foot notes for this book. It introduces many characters and in depth ideas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2