BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Aerie (Dragon Jousters Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of Lackey's Best Series--the Conclusion is Satisfying

This is the fourth and concluding book in the Dragon Jouster's series that began with Joust and continues in Alta and Sanctuary, and you should definitely read those first. The series has appealing characters in an unusual setting, a milieu reminiscent of Ancient Egypt ...
This is the fourth and concluding book in the Dragon Jouster's series that began with Joust and continues in Alta and Sanctuary, and you should definitely read those first. The series has appealing characters in an unusual setting, a milieu reminiscent of Ancient Egypt rather than Medieval Europe as in much of fantasy. The central character, Kiron, has a strong arc in what is essentially a coming of age tale, from serf in the first book to someone here who is a leader among his people. I also liked the themes of the two lands of these tales, Tia and Alta, merging into one. And there be dragons! Lackey herself has been involved in raptor rehabilitation, which I think helped both in the plausible way she writes of dragon raising and training as well as the verve with which she writes these novels. I'm a fan of Lackey and particularly her Valdemar tales, but right around the time Joust came out, I thought she was showing signs of rather tired blood in books like Exile's Honor--but this series shows she still has it in her to write a gripping tale with characters that come alive and the concluding novel is every bit as enjoyable as the earlier books in this series.

posted by Lisa_RR_H on April 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

In a word - trite.

As a general rule, I am a great fan of ML's work. But Aerie was a huge disappointment. The plots were weak at best and the end felt horribly contrived. The romance between Kiron and Aket-ten was portrayed terribly - the way they 'got over their quarrels' was rushed and ...
As a general rule, I am a great fan of ML's work. But Aerie was a huge disappointment. The plots were weak at best and the end felt horribly contrived. The romance between Kiron and Aket-ten was portrayed terribly - the way they 'got over their quarrels' was rushed and poorly explained. Frankly, I thought that Aket-ten, as written, was a boring, whining brat. However, there was some good points. Kiron was well written and I enjoyed the descriptions of Aerie and the challenges therein. The magic system feels coherent and sensible. Buy this if you have been reading the series so far and really like collecting all of them. But otherwise, borrow it from the library and save your money for something of higher quality.

posted by Anonymous on February 2, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    Not Half Bad...

    Aerie is a novel in which many of us would like to live in. Well if their were less complications we would. This novel embodies many human hopes, dreams and fears. In a way it is reality. It moves just as fast leaving you with no time for a breath and things don¿t always go the way you plan them to. However this novel in the end comes out and shows it¿s true colors in the end that in the end everything always works out perfectly and everyone will go back to normal. Yeah right. But it has some valid points about humanity in it. We all make mistakes. Sometimes we make big mistakes like the Heyskins who created a god of vengeance to destroy their foes that they once oppressed. The Tians. However the Tians merged with the Altans earlier to form the Altians and as one drove them off and killing their god of vengeance using people to embody their own gods into this world. But going after the Altians was not the Heyskins biggest mistake. That was creating a god of vengeance and thinking that it would go away afterwards. No it¿s not. It will continue to thirst for blood and being its followers they would have to feed it on a never-ending campaign for blood. Of course sometimes we make little mistakes. One such mistake was made by Letis who thinking her son 'who is one of the main protagonists with a lot of important stuff to do' was going to get the family farm back and settle down with her young friend Peri and have a big family. She stuck in the ways of the past did not realize that maybe her son was now a jouster and that maybe he was in love with a noble and that maybe he had outgrown being told what to do by his mother! Well I¿ve finished ranting about that, but I should probably analyze a few of the characters for you out their who feel the need to read this. Well theirs Kiron who is Letis¿s son and Lord of the Jousters of Altia. He is a very strong willed stubborn guy. However he tends to be level headed in most things. In the beginning of the book there is a repair crises in the newly rediscovered city of Aerie and two jousters requesting repairs come to him and he gives the one who requires the least repairs some of the limited help they have. Then he suggests that they help each other out by repairing one room together with the help he sent and then working on the other one again with the help he sent. This shows that he is level headed and can help people come to compromises without feelings being hurt. His lover Aket-ten is a noble who if things hadn¿t been effed up in the war between Alta and Tia he would never have met and fell in love with. She is also a jouster who in the times of the war raised one of several experiment dragons after it¿s original master died. These dragons were the first raised from the egg in Alta. She is however a noble and can be quite pigheaded sometimes. She wanted a wing of dragons for herself which her being one of the more experienced riders was perfectly acceptable. But she wanted that wing to have all female riders. Of course she couldn¿t have that because it would be claimed that she was stealing dragons that rightfully belonged to the men waiting for dragons. She did it anyways taking young dragons from the nests and taking priestesses with the ability to speak to animals as riders. That created quite an uproar, but quite against Kirons wishes she had done and had even gotten the Queens permission. If that¿s not pig-headedness I don¿t know what is. But she is also quite rational at times helping Kiron to beat back waves of scorpions with torches and oil to protect the High Priest of the God of difficult decisions-Seft. Of course then there is Letis. Kirons mother who is very persistent in trying to get her son to be her little boy again. She is a very bitter woman who has trouble letting go of the past as is obvious when she keeps denying that Peri who she wishes to marry Kiron has a dragon. She is the only one of the Queens wing to have no ability to speak to animals. This is a quote fr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2008

    Great wrapup to a great series

    I thoroughly enjoyed the series as I always do. Ms Lackey has been one of my favorites since I read the first book. This book was one to keep a readers attention right up to the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2007

    Awesome Series

    Well, what can I say? The title explains all, and I loved the book Joust the best. At first Aerie was a little bit of a disappointment because of the beginning, but in the end, I loved it!! This is the first series by Mercedes Lackey that I've read, but I plan on reading the rest to see if they're as well written and fascinating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1