Customer Reviews for

Aesop's Fables (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 266 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Personally, at first I was somewhat skeptical about this book. I thought it was simply a series of short stories some guy put together, and whats so great about that? now I see, this is many of the oldest and greatest human values told in a way that keeps the interest ...
Personally, at first I was somewhat skeptical about this book. I thought it was simply a series of short stories some guy put together, and whats so great about that? now I see, this is many of the oldest and greatest human values told in a way that keeps the interest of the reader. I find it to be amazing that one man created all of these, and am glad I had time to read them. An exilent book.

posted by Anonymous on June 5, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Translation, thorough

This holds the greatest number of parables of all the versions of Aesop's I have read or owned over the years. It also has a decent introduction on the who and when of Aesop, a good bibliography of terms for new readers, and other information.

The only downside is th...
This holds the greatest number of parables of all the versions of Aesop's I have read or owned over the years. It also has a decent introduction on the who and when of Aesop, a good bibliography of terms for new readers, and other information.

The only downside is that a more thorough copy-edit converting it to ebook should have been done. There are numerous typographical errors.

posted by GordonF on April 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 268 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    Personally, at first I was somewhat skeptical about this book. I thought it was simply a series of short stories some guy put together, and whats so great about that? now I see, this is many of the oldest and greatest human values told in a way that keeps the interest of the reader. I find it to be amazing that one man created all of these, and am glad I had time to read them. An exilent book.

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2007

    Fables, each with a moral

    Short, short stories with a lot, a lot to say. Each fable tells a tale and each has a lesson for attentive readers to learn. The most famous is probably 'The Boy Who Cried Wolf,' and the lesson is 'Liars are not believed, even when they tell the truth.' Another is 'The Farmer and the Stork' and its lesson is 'Bad company proves more than bad professions. Bird of a feather flock together.' These are the most basic of rules to live your life by, and they should be learned and remembered as a child. 'He who plays a trick must be able to take a joke,' and 'Whatever your misery, there are some whose lot is worse than your own.' Read and see which stories these are from!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2005

    Enjoyable Read

    This book is very enjoyable to read. It is filled with humerous tales, morals, and lessons you can ably to your everyday life. They're classical tales you have heard before (The Tortiose and the Hare), as well as humorous stories you've probably havn't heard (The Donkey and the Lapdog). Each story is short, to the point, and has a unique life lesson. It is also a great book for travel and to read before going to bed, as you can read it in any order you prefer.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    I love these tales

    A short story and then a moral. These are the kinds of tales that all kids should be reading to keep them out of trouble. Unfortunately, kids become adults and become too ambitious and then soon forget these morals. I didn't, and I'm raising my boy with them - you should too.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Translation, thorough

    This holds the greatest number of parables of all the versions of Aesop's I have read or owned over the years. It also has a decent introduction on the who and when of Aesop, a good bibliography of terms for new readers, and other information.

    The only downside is that a more thorough copy-edit converting it to ebook should have been done. There are numerous typographical errors.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2005

    What a value

    Filled with poignant five to ten sentence yarns, this is a special book that is a perfect gift, guestroom amenity, or casual living room read. And at this price there is no excuse not to have at least one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Short but important

    I never actually thought about how fables composed by a person that lived over 3000 years ago could survive today. There is no clear overall message to the fables. They were collected and composed by different authors over a few millenia. An important reason to read this collection, if any, is to come to know where a lot of the proverbs in the western world come from.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2003

    Entertainment for one and all!

    'Aesop's Fables' is quick and easy to read, which is good for kids of any age. Each story entertains and teaches us a lesson we should all know. These lessons written ages ago, still stand the test of time. This book is not only entertaining, but, it holds the key to literature today. References in Aesop's fable's are seen in many classics today from J.R.R. Tolkien, Chaucer, etc. These educational and entertaining stories should be shared to one and all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Firesteel to Risen

    The one by Ann Mcgovern.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Risen

    Found it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Classic Fables

    What is there to say about Aesop's Fables? We all grew up with them, but I found it interesting to read them all in one place. Several of them were new to me. I will admit, though, that it was difficult to read more than a few in one sitting. I recommend that everyone reads them all at least once in their lifetime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Read this you will see why i put 2 stars

    Honestly, the sample is LAME. Big time. They might as well not offer a sample. And if they did, it's like the characters on snoopy. All, blah blah blah blah blah. I'm not juding the book, because I haven't read it. Thanks.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Charming

    This is a great book for fans of classic books and fantasy fiction lovers such as my self. I highly reccomend American Fairytales by Baum, author of the Wizard of Oz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Aesop's Fabels

    A really good lesson teacher. Have always liked his fables and laughedd a great deal.
    #ADUANIA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    9

    It was a good lesin teacher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    got this book for free

    When i book my nook they gave me a a memory card with 30 books in it a one of them was this one and i havent even read it

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    =~]

    Good book recommend to everyone.=~]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 268 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14