Customer Reviews for

The Affair (Jack Reacher Series #16)

Average Rating 4
( 630 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(302)

4 Star

(135)

3 Star

(101)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

the affair

As others have said, Lee Child is a superb craftsman of suspense. Can't wait to read more.

posted by enticed on September 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Weak is all I can think of.

I have read the entire Reacher series including this latest, and can't understand the 4 and 5 star ratings from anyone who has read any of his previous books.Weak character development,lame dialogue and terrible ending. No explanation as to why the culprit did what he d...
I have read the entire Reacher series including this latest, and can't understand the 4 and 5 star ratings from anyone who has read any of his previous books.Weak character development,lame dialogue and terrible ending. No explanation as to why the culprit did what he did. If Reacher is that good an MP, he's the last soldier the Army would involuntarily discharge. Just a lazy effort on the author's part and extremely disappointing to say the least. Where has Mr. Child gone?

posted by Bostonguy on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 635 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    the affair

    As others have said, Lee Child is a superb craftsman of suspense. Can't wait to read more.

    20 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an exciting throwback tale to when the heroic vigilante was still in the Army

    In 1997 in Carter Crossing, Mississippi someone slashes the throat of twentyish Janice May Chapman by an isolated railroad track. The Pentagon is concerned that evidence points to a Ranger training in nearby Fort Kelham committed the homicide as Captain Reed Riley has connections as his father Carleton is chair of the Senate Armed Services Committee.

    Colonel Garber assigns military police officer Major Jack Reacher to go undercover to learn the truth and keep the local sheriff Elizabeth Deveraux under control without her knowing it. Each distrusts the other but soon need to protect each other's back from a dangerous cover-up as the military are uninterested in the facts; their preference is for a local hillbilly to take the rap. However, Reacher becomes incompliant when he learns Janice is the third female to have been killed by this slasher.

    The latest Reacher thriller (see Worth Dying For) is an exciting throwback tale to when the heroic vigilante was still in the Army. Ironically though going back to the case that led to his leaving the military, there is not much new added to the Reacher mythos. Still the story line is fast-paced and filled with action as Reacher learns what happens to officers doing their duty with personal courage vs. those with DC connections.

    Harriet Klausner

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Weak is all I can think of.

    I have read the entire Reacher series including this latest, and can't understand the 4 and 5 star ratings from anyone who has read any of his previous books.Weak character development,lame dialogue and terrible ending. No explanation as to why the culprit did what he did. If Reacher is that good an MP, he's the last soldier the Army would involuntarily discharge. Just a lazy effort on the author's part and extremely disappointing to say the least. Where has Mr. Child gone?

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Jack Reacher/Lee Child fan

    I have always been a fan of this series. My favorite was The Enemy, the prequel to the series which was actually the 8th book that came out. I am looking forward to reading The Affair since I have always wanted to see Jack Reacher fall in love, really fall in love. And my long standing question for Lee Child is - when will Jack fall in love true enough to settle down? The five star rating is for all the books in the series.

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It was ok

    As a fan of the Jack Reacher Series, THE AFFAIR was ok; not good, but not bad. Lee Child takes the reader back to 1997 when our intrepid loner was still an Army MP on an undercover assignment to Carter Crossing, Mississippi. His assignment is to make nice with local law enforcement and relay what they know to his superiors. A young beautiful woman has been murdered. Her throat slit. Her bloodless body left in an alley. Her suspected killer, a solder stationed at the nearby base. A soldier who has powerful friends in Washington, D.C. Reacher has no trouble making nice to Elizabeth Devereaux. She is the county Sheriff and a former Marine MP and has linked Janice Mae Chapman's killing to two other dead beauties that the soldier dated. Ever loyal to the Army, Jack Reacher knows that this case will be his last. He will not participate in a cover up to protect one soldier.

    While the story is good, the telling gets tedious. Child repeats the 1997 references too often. Normally the reader gets up close to the serial killer and sees his or her psychology.
    We don't get that here with the exception of the destroyed car. We do see, but not fully understand the puppet-master of the cover-up. The Washington ties to the soldier are strong, but would Pentagon Officers really go the extremes as Child wrote to protect one soldier? I think not. And some of Reacher's actions didn't ring true to his character, but the beginning and ending are very strong as well as the character development: finally a strong female that mirrors Jack. The midnight train and tracks become characters as well as strong suspense devices. But true Jack Reacher fans will ignore the flaws of the novel because of the good story THE AFFAIR is.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Too pricey.

    Will wait for paperback.

    6 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Excellent

    Worth every penny. Had me thinking at every turn. Jack reacher is a one og a kind man. Wish more like him truly existed. The plot is excellent and insights into the military complications that exist. Deveraux is a top notch addition. Hate to see her fade away.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Intriguing!

    "The Affair" is an intriguing story of Reacher's last mission in the Army and a peek backwards remembering the past, the reluctant hero. There is action but not quite as rough as past experiences as he lands in a small town in Mississippi at an army post where he meets the stunning chief of police. This was an enjoyable and exciting ride. I recommend!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dull and Disappointing

    A run of the mill novel which will disappoint legions of Jack Reacher fans who are used to much more. The first half of the book is tedious. The second half has the action, but credibility is so strained that the reader has a hard time buying it. I didn't get a free advance copy, nor did I need to sully the review pages because I didn't like the NOOK price.
    The Barnes & Noble review is quickly becoming a thing of little value because B&N refuses to police its review pages. Right now we'd need a Reacher for that.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Reacher at his best

    This is a typical fast paced Reacher thriller. The story is interesting and moves along quickly and I highly recommend it to anyone who loves a good mystery.

    I've been a huge fan since I read The Killing Floor when it was first released and haven't been disappointed by any of the subsequent books.

    Give it a try and become hooked on Jack Reacher!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Great fun read

    Loved how easy it was to read & I really liked the characters

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    A Reacher Creacher's Delight

    Going into this "pre" Reacher novel, i was quite nervous and worried i would fail to enjoy a trip down Jack's memory lane i worried for nothing In fact i enjoyed The Affair more than many recent Reacher novels.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    What happened Mr Child?

    I was in my usual can't wait to read this next Reacher in the series, but felt the beginning of the story was looking for an interesting plot. It finally arrived and then the extensive sexual descriptions seemed over the top. Not being a prude and enjoying romantic sexual interludes in mystery stories as well as the next reader, Mr. Child left out the romance. The remainder of the story hip-hopped around and tho I finished the book, I'll not be in such a hurry for the next Reacher - especially since we pay a premium for Child's books.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    NOT FOR THAT PRICE!!

    I can get the hard cover book for $15, or wait for the paperback and get it for $5.59

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Reachers back

    Having read all of the Jack Reacher series it was good to see Jack back in form with his fists and the ladies. This read was exactly what 61 hours should have had more of. Although a little short on characters (Munro could have had a bigger role) Childs brought back a few names from the past. Nice job!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Not his best book

    This book was ok, but not Lee Child's best by any means. The shallow plot, weak motive, and inaccuracies of basic military knowledge -a major does not wear silver oak leaves, for example- suggest that he needs a more critical editor.
    I enjoyed most of the books in the Reacher series, but Lee Child's latest books have been getting progressively weaker. I will continue to read his books as long as he writes them, but he needs to get back to the substance of his first few books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Child and Reacher - Always rhe best

    Lee Child's hero Jack Reacher is still the best out there...bar none!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Loved it!

    You can't go wrong with Jack Reacher and this one doesn't disappoint.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Lee Child is Back

    After a few comic-bookish, silly and pondering novels, this one by Mr Childs reconnects with all that is good with Jack Reacher. A very entertaining read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    The Affair

    Child's Jack Reacher novels are the best!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 635 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32