Customer Reviews for

The Affair (Jack Reacher Series #16)

Average Rating 4
( 630 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(302)

4 Star

(135)

3 Star

(101)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

the affair

As others have said, Lee Child is a superb craftsman of suspense. Can't wait to read more.

posted by enticed on September 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Weak is all I can think of.

I have read the entire Reacher series including this latest, and can't understand the 4 and 5 star ratings from anyone who has read any of his previous books.Weak character development,lame dialogue and terrible ending. No explanation as to why the culprit did what he d...
I have read the entire Reacher series including this latest, and can't understand the 4 and 5 star ratings from anyone who has read any of his previous books.Weak character development,lame dialogue and terrible ending. No explanation as to why the culprit did what he did. If Reacher is that good an MP, he's the last soldier the Army would involuntarily discharge. Just a lazy effort on the author's part and extremely disappointing to say the least. Where has Mr. Child gone?

posted by Bostonguy on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 635 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 32
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Great read

    All of the Reacher books are page turners. I love the series and can not wait for the next Reacher book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Missed the mark. Read 'One Shot' to see it done right.

    I read all the Reacher novels. This one was a disappointment. It replaces Echo Burning at the bottom of the pile. Was this the same author who wrote
    Gone Tomorrow? and Die Trying?

    I thought The Enemy set the stage for all to follow. This one could close the curtain.

    I was so ready for the next saga which I hoped he was heading for Virginia and this is what came forth. So I will wait yet again. A reader who starts with the Affair as their first Reacher novel will most likely stop there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One Of The Best In The Series Yet

    The latest tome by Lee Child is some of his best work in the Reacher series to date. Each page holds your interest as the suspense and intrigue builds. The author does an excellent job of planting clues to keep you off balanced and guessing til the end. It was good to see the events transpire that caused Reacher to end his military career.

    If you are a fan of the Reacher series then get this book. If you are not, try it anyway and you'll find yourself wanting to read the fifteen that precedes this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Eyes only...

    This story should have been left in the Army files as "Top-Secret eyes only".
    If read all Jack Reacher and liked all. This one was disappointing. Not knowing how Reacher's career ended was better then knowing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    One of the best

    Really enjoyed this book. Have read all of the Reacher series and this one helps you to understand Reacher.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Jack keeps getting better.

    It was nice to see how and why Jack became a civilian. He is certainly a charector that gets better with age but really nice to read about him vack in the day. Great book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    I love thec I lved the book

    It was an amazing story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    As Always-Another Great Adventure!

    Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Ending - Too Confusing

    I got confused at the end as Childs tried to cram too many explanations in too little space. Hard to follow and to make it all fall in place logically.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    As someone else said, I thought that by now I'd be sick of Jack Reacher, but not so. Lee Child keeps revealing different facets of the man's character and, each book, and I'm going through them all having somehow just discovered him, is a really terrific story. "The Affair" is no exception. It answers many questions about the main character, but again, adds new clues to his personality. This one, as all the others, keeps you up at night reading -- thank you Lee Child for some very good entertainment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Love reacher!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Boring, contrived and not up to the usual standards

    Reads like an author on a deadline, trying to force out some sort of story. Long, rambling digressions into meaningless areas, contrived, implausible plot... I typically love the Jack Reacher novels, but it was all I could do not to put this one down and walk away. This was seriously 4 hours of my life that I wish I had back.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Not for $13.99

    Come to your senses publishers.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    One of Lee's best

    I rarely write reviews. It seems like others do a much better job of it that I do. This was one book that I just had to say something about though. First off I have been a big Lee Child fan since the first Reacher book came out some time ago. He always delivers a good read but with The Affair he out did himself. I finished this book almost in one read.....used up the better part of A Friday night as well. The story takes back to Reacher's last days in the Army. The suspense builds from page one and never lets up. A really good read! Be prepared to lose a bit of sleep, It is a hard book to put down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    One of his best. Run, don't walk, to get this book! Terrific Reacher!!!

    At the top of his game, the author fills in a critical piece of Reacher's past-what DID happen to make him walk away from a lifetime career in the military. For Reacher, a hero, with a Purple Heart AND a Silver Star has known no other life since his birth--literally, and is as commited a patriot as they come.... This book flies by as we learn how the military sets in motion a plan that no true blue hero can live with on his conscience. It is a masterpiece of strategy and keeps us guessing to the last page. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Super Suspense Filled!

    I don't need to write more because there is no word to describe how this one is truly a suspense thriller! A highly recommended book and author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Lish

    I love love love Jack Reacher. I wish he were a real person. I even named my dog Jack Reacher. Anything Lee Child writes is worth reading.....I like his style and his ideas about how things should be taken care of and how one man can drift into town and do it. What a hero!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Highly recommend if you are a Reacher fan!

    If you like the Jack Reacher series this will not disappoint. Lee Child has done it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reacher fix

    As usual this book will satisfy your Jack Reacher fix. Got a toothbrush in your pocket?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 635 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 32