Customer Reviews for

The Affair (Jack Reacher Series #16)

Average Rating 4
( 619 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(296)

4 Star

(131)

3 Star

(101)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

the affair

As others have said, Lee Child is a superb craftsman of suspense. Can't wait to read more.

posted by enticed on September 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Weak is all I can think of.

I have read the entire Reacher series including this latest, and can't understand the 4 and 5 star ratings from anyone who has read any of his previous books.Weak character development,lame dialogue and terrible ending. No explanation as to why the culprit did what he d...
I have read the entire Reacher series including this latest, and can't understand the 4 and 5 star ratings from anyone who has read any of his previous books.Weak character development,lame dialogue and terrible ending. No explanation as to why the culprit did what he did. If Reacher is that good an MP, he's the last soldier the Army would involuntarily discharge. Just a lazy effort on the author's part and extremely disappointing to say the least. Where has Mr. Child gone?

posted by Bostonguy on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Weak is all I can think of.

    I have read the entire Reacher series including this latest, and can't understand the 4 and 5 star ratings from anyone who has read any of his previous books.Weak character development,lame dialogue and terrible ending. No explanation as to why the culprit did what he did. If Reacher is that good an MP, he's the last soldier the Army would involuntarily discharge. Just a lazy effort on the author's part and extremely disappointing to say the least. Where has Mr. Child gone?

    8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Reachers back

    Having read all of the Jack Reacher series it was good to see Jack back in form with his fists and the ladies. This read was exactly what 61 hours should have had more of. Although a little short on characters (Munro could have had a bigger role) Childs brought back a few names from the past. Nice job!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Not his best book

    This book was ok, but not Lee Child's best by any means. The shallow plot, weak motive, and inaccuracies of basic military knowledge -a major does not wear silver oak leaves, for example- suggest that he needs a more critical editor.
    I enjoyed most of the books in the Reacher series, but Lee Child's latest books have been getting progressively weaker. I will continue to read his books as long as he writes them, but he needs to get back to the substance of his first few books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Missed the mark. Read 'One Shot' to see it done right.

    I read all the Reacher novels. This one was a disappointment. It replaces Echo Burning at the bottom of the pile. Was this the same author who wrote
    Gone Tomorrow? and Die Trying?

    I thought The Enemy set the stage for all to follow. This one could close the curtain.

    I was so ready for the next saga which I hoped he was heading for Virginia and this is what came forth. So I will wait yet again. A reader who starts with the Affair as their first Reacher novel will most likely stop there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Eyes only...

    This story should have been left in the Army files as "Top-Secret eyes only".
    If read all Jack Reacher and liked all. This one was disappointing. Not knowing how Reacher's career ended was better then knowing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Boring, contrived and not up to the usual standards

    Reads like an author on a deadline, trying to force out some sort of story. Long, rambling digressions into meaningless areas, contrived, implausible plot... I typically love the Jack Reacher novels, but it was all I could do not to put this one down and walk away. This was seriously 4 hours of my life that I wish I had back.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3