Customer Reviews for

The Affair (Jack Reacher Series #16)

Average Rating 4
( 619 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(296)

4 Star

(131)

3 Star

(101)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

the affair

As others have said, Lee Child is a superb craftsman of suspense. Can't wait to read more.

posted by enticed on September 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Weak is all I can think of.

I have read the entire Reacher series including this latest, and can't understand the 4 and 5 star ratings from anyone who has read any of his previous books.Weak character development,lame dialogue and terrible ending. No explanation as to why the culprit did what he d...
I have read the entire Reacher series including this latest, and can't understand the 4 and 5 star ratings from anyone who has read any of his previous books.Weak character development,lame dialogue and terrible ending. No explanation as to why the culprit did what he did. If Reacher is that good an MP, he's the last soldier the Army would involuntarily discharge. Just a lazy effort on the author's part and extremely disappointing to say the least. Where has Mr. Child gone?

posted by Bostonguy on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It was ok

    As a fan of the Jack Reacher Series, THE AFFAIR was ok; not good, but not bad. Lee Child takes the reader back to 1997 when our intrepid loner was still an Army MP on an undercover assignment to Carter Crossing, Mississippi. His assignment is to make nice with local law enforcement and relay what they know to his superiors. A young beautiful woman has been murdered. Her throat slit. Her bloodless body left in an alley. Her suspected killer, a solder stationed at the nearby base. A soldier who has powerful friends in Washington, D.C. Reacher has no trouble making nice to Elizabeth Devereaux. She is the county Sheriff and a former Marine MP and has linked Janice Mae Chapman's killing to two other dead beauties that the soldier dated. Ever loyal to the Army, Jack Reacher knows that this case will be his last. He will not participate in a cover up to protect one soldier.

    While the story is good, the telling gets tedious. Child repeats the 1997 references too often. Normally the reader gets up close to the serial killer and sees his or her psychology.
    We don't get that here with the exception of the destroyed car. We do see, but not fully understand the puppet-master of the cover-up. The Washington ties to the soldier are strong, but would Pentagon Officers really go the extremes as Child wrote to protect one soldier? I think not. And some of Reacher's actions didn't ring true to his character, but the beginning and ending are very strong as well as the character development: finally a strong female that mirrors Jack. The midnight train and tracks become characters as well as strong suspense devices. But true Jack Reacher fans will ignore the flaws of the novel because of the good story THE AFFAIR is.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dull and Disappointing

    A run of the mill novel which will disappoint legions of Jack Reacher fans who are used to much more. The first half of the book is tedious. The second half has the action, but credibility is so strained that the reader has a hard time buying it. I didn't get a free advance copy, nor did I need to sully the review pages because I didn't like the NOOK price.
    The Barnes & Noble review is quickly becoming a thing of little value because B&N refuses to police its review pages. Right now we'd need a Reacher for that.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    What happened Mr Child?

    I was in my usual can't wait to read this next Reacher in the series, but felt the beginning of the story was looking for an interesting plot. It finally arrived and then the extensive sexual descriptions seemed over the top. Not being a prude and enjoying romantic sexual interludes in mystery stories as well as the next reader, Mr. Child left out the romance. The remainder of the story hip-hopped around and tho I finished the book, I'll not be in such a hurry for the next Reacher - especially since we pay a premium for Child's books.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Ending - Too Confusing

    I got confused at the end as Childs tried to cram too many explanations in too little space. Hard to follow and to make it all fall in place logically.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Op zvs

    Xad zvxbjewwoqzcavia

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    soso

    This book starts out rellly slow i litaroly almost fell a slep but itt gets more adventeras

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6