BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Affair (Jack Reacher Series #16)

Average Rating 4
( 629 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(302)

4 Star

(134)

3 Star

(101)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

the affair

As others have said, Lee Child is a superb craftsman of suspense. Can't wait to read more.

posted by enticed on September 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Weak is all I can think of.

I have read the entire Reacher series including this latest, and can't understand the 4 and 5 star ratings from anyone who has read any of his previous books.Weak character development,lame dialogue and terrible ending. No explanation as to why the culprit did what he d...
I have read the entire Reacher series including this latest, and can't understand the 4 and 5 star ratings from anyone who has read any of his previous books.Weak character development,lame dialogue and terrible ending. No explanation as to why the culprit did what he did. If Reacher is that good an MP, he's the last soldier the Army would involuntarily discharge. Just a lazy effort on the author's part and extremely disappointing to say the least. Where has Mr. Child gone?

posted by Bostonguy on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    A Reacher Creacher's Delight

    Going into this "pre" Reacher novel, i was quite nervous and worried i would fail to enjoy a trip down Jack's memory lane i worried for nothing In fact i enjoyed The Affair more than many recent Reacher novels.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Lee Child is Back

    After a few comic-bookish, silly and pondering novels, this one by Mr Childs reconnects with all that is good with Jack Reacher. A very entertaining read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    One of the best

    Really enjoyed this book. Have read all of the Reacher series and this one helps you to understand Reacher.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Super Suspense Filled!

    I don't need to write more because there is no word to describe how this one is truly a suspense thriller! A highly recommended book and author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Thoroughly Enjoyed

    Looking forward to the next novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    This is the first book I've read by Lee Child, and I loved it. I

    This is the first book I've read by Lee Child, and I loved it. I plan to read more from the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Non stop.......

    As always when I pick up a Jack Reacher novel I don't put it down until I am done - this was no exception. I would give it 5 stars if I could get the visual of Tom Cruise playing Jack Reacher out of my head........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    greggoode

    Typical Childs. That is a compliment. A little farfetched but with the normal suspension of disbelief, a good read. I really enjoyed the development of Deveraux as a character and hope she is coming back in a future novel. The lone wolf cliche has about run its course.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    An excellent Reacher outing

    Jack Reacher as his fans know him. Much better than the subsequent effort. It will be interesting to see if the character and the series will survive the movie designed to destroy both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Typical

    Good storyline

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    So Far So Good

    Reacher's the best!!! I'm 3/4 of the way through. Not as good as "Killing Floor", (my favorite) but it's worth reading for all Jack Reacher fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Reacher

    Love Reacher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    A Very Good Read! Jack Reacher is awesome!

    I'm a huge Vince Flynn fan and Jack Reacher is very much like Mitch Rapp. While both main characters have military training backgroud, Jack Reacher exercises great investigative skills and guarded patience. The Affair is a great read from start the finish. The characters seem very authentic and you get read how and why jack Reacher became an ex military policeman. I enjoyed Jack chasing down this mystery not sure whom to trust but relying on his instinct.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    A Favorite Author

    I have read every Jack Reacher novels and while I have my favorites, every one is a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Great Read After A Slow Start

    This one had me guessing nearly to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    The affair

    Good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    How Reacher started to grow up.

    If you have followed the series this will be interesting and enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    As good and thrilling as ever.

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7