Customer Reviews for

The Affair (Jack Reacher Series #16)

Average Rating 4
( 630 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(302)

4 Star

(135)

3 Star

(101)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

the affair

As others have said, Lee Child is a superb craftsman of suspense. Can't wait to read more.

posted by enticed on September 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Weak is all I can think of.

I have read the entire Reacher series including this latest, and can't understand the 4 and 5 star ratings from anyone who has read any of his previous books.Weak character development,lame dialogue and terrible ending. No explanation as to why the culprit did what he d...
I have read the entire Reacher series including this latest, and can't understand the 4 and 5 star ratings from anyone who has read any of his previous books.Weak character development,lame dialogue and terrible ending. No explanation as to why the culprit did what he did. If Reacher is that good an MP, he's the last soldier the Army would involuntarily discharge. Just a lazy effort on the author's part and extremely disappointing to say the least. Where has Mr. Child gone?

posted by Bostonguy on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 302 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    the affair

    As others have said, Lee Child is a superb craftsman of suspense. Can't wait to read more.

    20 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an exciting throwback tale to when the heroic vigilante was still in the Army

    In 1997 in Carter Crossing, Mississippi someone slashes the throat of twentyish Janice May Chapman by an isolated railroad track. The Pentagon is concerned that evidence points to a Ranger training in nearby Fort Kelham committed the homicide as Captain Reed Riley has connections as his father Carleton is chair of the Senate Armed Services Committee.

    Colonel Garber assigns military police officer Major Jack Reacher to go undercover to learn the truth and keep the local sheriff Elizabeth Deveraux under control without her knowing it. Each distrusts the other but soon need to protect each other's back from a dangerous cover-up as the military are uninterested in the facts; their preference is for a local hillbilly to take the rap. However, Reacher becomes incompliant when he learns Janice is the third female to have been killed by this slasher.

    The latest Reacher thriller (see Worth Dying For) is an exciting throwback tale to when the heroic vigilante was still in the Army. Ironically though going back to the case that led to his leaving the military, there is not much new added to the Reacher mythos. Still the story line is fast-paced and filled with action as Reacher learns what happens to officers doing their duty with personal courage vs. those with DC connections.

    Harriet Klausner

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Jack Reacher/Lee Child fan

    I have always been a fan of this series. My favorite was The Enemy, the prequel to the series which was actually the 8th book that came out. I am looking forward to reading The Affair since I have always wanted to see Jack Reacher fall in love, really fall in love. And my long standing question for Lee Child is - when will Jack fall in love true enough to settle down? The five star rating is for all the books in the series.

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Excellent

    Worth every penny. Had me thinking at every turn. Jack reacher is a one og a kind man. Wish more like him truly existed. The plot is excellent and insights into the military complications that exist. Deveraux is a top notch addition. Hate to see her fade away.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Intriguing!

    "The Affair" is an intriguing story of Reacher's last mission in the Army and a peek backwards remembering the past, the reluctant hero. There is action but not quite as rough as past experiences as he lands in a small town in Mississippi at an army post where he meets the stunning chief of police. This was an enjoyable and exciting ride. I recommend!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Reacher at his best

    This is a typical fast paced Reacher thriller. The story is interesting and moves along quickly and I highly recommend it to anyone who loves a good mystery.

    I've been a huge fan since I read The Killing Floor when it was first released and haven't been disappointed by any of the subsequent books.

    Give it a try and become hooked on Jack Reacher!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Great fun read

    Loved how easy it was to read & I really liked the characters

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Child and Reacher - Always rhe best

    Lee Child's hero Jack Reacher is still the best out there...bar none!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Loved it!

    You can't go wrong with Jack Reacher and this one doesn't disappoint.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    The Affair

    Child's Jack Reacher novels are the best!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Great read

    All of the Reacher books are page turners. I love the series and can not wait for the next Reacher book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One Of The Best In The Series Yet

    The latest tome by Lee Child is some of his best work in the Reacher series to date. Each page holds your interest as the suspense and intrigue builds. The author does an excellent job of planting clues to keep you off balanced and guessing til the end. It was good to see the events transpire that caused Reacher to end his military career.

    If you are a fan of the Reacher series then get this book. If you are not, try it anyway and you'll find yourself wanting to read the fifteen that precedes this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Jack keeps getting better.

    It was nice to see how and why Jack became a civilian. He is certainly a charector that gets better with age but really nice to read about him vack in the day. Great book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    I love thec I lved the book

    It was an amazing story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    As Always-Another Great Adventure!

    Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    As someone else said, I thought that by now I'd be sick of Jack Reacher, but not so. Lee Child keeps revealing different facets of the man's character and, each book, and I'm going through them all having somehow just discovered him, is a really terrific story. "The Affair" is no exception. It answers many questions about the main character, but again, adds new clues to his personality. This one, as all the others, keeps you up at night reading -- thank you Lee Child for some very good entertainment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Love reacher!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    One of Lee's best

    I rarely write reviews. It seems like others do a much better job of it that I do. This was one book that I just had to say something about though. First off I have been a big Lee Child fan since the first Reacher book came out some time ago. He always delivers a good read but with The Affair he out did himself. I finished this book almost in one read.....used up the better part of A Friday night as well. The story takes back to Reacher's last days in the Army. The suspense builds from page one and never lets up. A really good read! Be prepared to lose a bit of sleep, It is a hard book to put down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    One of his best. Run, don't walk, to get this book! Terrific Reacher!!!

    At the top of his game, the author fills in a critical piece of Reacher's past-what DID happen to make him walk away from a lifetime career in the military. For Reacher, a hero, with a Purple Heart AND a Silver Star has known no other life since his birth--literally, and is as commited a patriot as they come.... This book flies by as we learn how the military sets in motion a plan that no true blue hero can live with on his conscience. It is a masterpiece of strategy and keeps us guessing to the last page. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Lish

    I love love love Jack Reacher. I wish he were a real person. I even named my dog Jack Reacher. Anything Lee Child writes is worth reading.....I like his style and his ideas about how things should be taken care of and how one man can drift into town and do it. What a hero!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 302 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16