Customer Reviews for

An Affair before Christmas (Desperate Duchesses Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    Huge disappointment

    Eloisa James is a fabulous writer, but this book is just tedious in the extreme. There are flashes of brilliance in her characters, but the plot -- if you can all the varied threads she tries to weave together a plot -- is weak and thin. If you've never read her before, try another of her titles. Even a loyal reader cannot find something nice to say about this one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Sad

    I HAVE READ ALL OF HER BOOKS (SOME OF THEM REPEATEDLY) BUT I HAVE TO SAY I WAS NOT A FSN OF THID ONE. IT HAD TOO MANY CHARACTERS AND THE STORY DIDN'T STAY FOCUSED ON ANY ONE PAIRING. ALSO, IF A PERSON HAD NOT READ HER OTHER DESPARATE DUCHESS SERIES THEY WOULD HAVE BEEN LOST. THere were even inconsistencies with how these characters acted or with their fate than in the other books in the series. Overall disappointed and would not recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Slow start

    Your halfway through the book before it gets interesting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hollow characters and unsatisfying plot

    An Affair Before Christmas by Eloisa James was not that intriguing. It was totally unrealistic and I wanted to put the book down and stop reading throughout the whole novel, but I have a strict rule against it. The main characters, Poppy and Fletch, are holding on to their marriage based on the fact that they were once head-over-heels in love; however, Poppy has NO personality and Fletch is trying to win her back.WHY?? After 4 years of being a limp noodle with her husband, Poppy is having so much fun seeing how it would be as an independent woman; then, she has this epiphany that it was HER that makes sex unsatisfying.whatever. I enjoy the writings of Eloisa James, but this novel is hollow in both plot and character depth.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I did not like this book..

    I of course read this book bc it is part of the Desperate Duchess series. Though if I could have skipped it I would have. This book was very hard to get into. And was very boring. I have never read a book that I hated so much. The only part that I enjoyed reading was prob chapter 45 (which btw is page 314)to the end! It was just not her best at all. And for me it was my second book to read by her. It really put me off. But I read it as quick as I could to get to the next one. And if you're going in order I'm sorry but you really must read this book bc it tells about the other characters! Sorry:(

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2007

    Terrible

    I thought that this book would get better but it never did. Why did james have to keep switching back and forth bewteen the main character and this Villiers guy. Very dissapointing, the story lacked focus.If you skip every other chapter you can just read about the main characters. I wish I could get my money back.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    Disappointed Eloisa James Reader

    I am only half way through this book but wanted to check the reviews to see if it was only me who is being bored to tears. If you've read her previous Desperate Duchesses title, you'll find this one parallels the other. I thought it helpful at first, but now I feel as if she's squeezing two novels from one as she has poorly characterized the protagonists of this book. I have learned very little about Poppy & Fletch thus far and have no real connection to or concern for them. I usually enjoy Ms. James's books, but I find myself 'desperate' for the end of this one. Please don't let this review discourage you from buying any of her other titles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2014

    After reading the first book in the Desperate Duchesses series (

    After reading the first book in the Desperate Duchesses series (of the same name, too) by Eloisa James, I was a little disappointed. It isn’t an historical romance and, after reading this second installment, it still isn’t. But I find that’s okay. Once I kind of knew going in what I would expect I enjoyed it very much and I very much like Eloisa James’ sparkling writing style, colorful characters, and witty dialogue.
    This is a novel of manners set in Georgian England, a departure from James’ usual Regency era. There is a romance in An Affair Before Christmas, but it’s very secondary to the many characters here and their own faults, foibles, and plots, many of which are carried over from the first book.
    There’s a lot of crisp repartee, fashionable, elaborate, and excessive style, and the lovely setting of Christmas here. There is a love story with Poppy and Fletch, a young duke and duchess whose lack of communication, desire, and expectations in the bedroom have wreaked havoc on their four year marriage. Their estrangement and eventual reunion are a small part of the story.
    There are also two ongoing and notorious chess games (carried over from the first book) between Jemma, the independent and outspoken Duchess of Beaumont, and her estranged husband, Elijah, and Jemma and the rakish Duke of Villiers. The winner, society intimates, will spend a night in Jemma’s bed. The machinations of Jemma’s marriage continue to play out in this novel as they did in the first.
    In between, there are other stories, too: an excessive melodrama with Poppy’s domineering mother, Lady Flora, that veers into incredulity; hints of a possible future love story for lonely and quiet spinster Charlotte Tatlock—who is carrying on a flirtation with Jemma’s husband—with her growing friendship with both the Duke of Villiers and his ruggedly handsome heir, Miles Dautry.
    As for the Duke of Villiers, he is recovering from a critical wound suffered in a duel at the end of Desperate Duchesses.
    As you can see, it’s not an historical romance, but it is a fascinating look at Georgian society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    I do agree - there are too many characters (very hard to keep up

    I do agree - there are too many characters (very hard to keep up with who is who); however, this is a well written, interesting book. I love Eloisa James. One of our most talented historical authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Fall in love again

    Sweet story about a couple that drift apart and then find each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Great

    Loved the characters. Really wanted to hear what happened to Charlotte. Wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the characters.

    Fun read for a lazy afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    Wow I shock what happen when you stop trying to please your read

    Wow I shock what happen when you stop trying to please your reader and it becomes about the money this is what happen I afarid wow so sad and I really thought you would sucess

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Good

    Enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    grreat book

    my first eloisa jamesbbooks and i loved it i just wish eloisa shud make a book with the maid charlotte and that duke cause that part never got to an ending but yhe book wasgreat:)!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    I liked it

    I was a bit worried about some of the reviews on here that I might not like this book as much as the first in the series. I was happy to find that I did; I read it in less than a day. It's definitely not your typical romance, but this is obvious since you know they're already married at the beginning of the story. I enjoyed reading about all the different characters that make up the series, and am definitely looking forward to learning more about Lord Strange in the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable

    Eloisa seems to enjoy a very involved story. I am liking how all of these books in this series take place in the general same time and different scenes appear in each book but from a different perspective. I like it. This one had very little love scenes which isn't my favorite...I like love stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love all of Eloisa's books

    I love all of the books that Ms James writes. Some I do like more than others, but overall I would recommend any of her books.
    An affair Before Christmas was different than what I expected.It was however a charming love story. I would recommend it to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2007

    Enjoyable

    I enjoyed the continuation of her Desperate Duchesses story line. I don't really understand why Fletch would let his mother-in-law stay in his home and act as if she were the Duchess. He could have easily made her go. I do think we needed a bit more background on the relationship between Poppy and her mother in beginning. However, I liked how Poppy started to spread her wings and begin to understand herself better. It is an interesting question to ask how much in our lives we do because we want to and how much we do because it is expected. The sub plot story about Jennifer and Beaumont is continuing. I wish it would speed up a bit. I think it would have made a good book by itself. Villiers character has changed. I think I liked him better before but it will be interesting to see what happens between him, Charlotte,and Dautry. I will be wating for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2007

    Terrible

    This book was terrible...I usually love all Eloisa James' novels...but this was extremely BAD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3