Customer Reviews for

An Affair before Christmas (Desperate Duchesses Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    I like this author but...

    When i bought this book..i had great hopes it would be good. I was happy to see familiar characters. the story is good...but the plot is slow. It takes forever for the hero to realize some things. I am not going to reread this book as i do others from this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    Different, in a good way

    It¿s more like a four and half stars but I¿ll round up. This is my second Eloisa James book and I love her. Her characters are unique and don¿t just fall into silly romance novel patterns. And she¿s actually unpredictable. For the first time in forever I¿m not sure what is going to happen in the next book. The fact that she jumps into the book 4 years into the marriage could be off-putting to those who want the traditional romance novel, but I found it a refreshing change. I do have a couple complaints (i.e. the 4 ½ stars). First, you have to read the first book. Half the book is about characters you wouldn¿t care less about unless you read the first one. Second, couldn¿t we have just one seen with the main couple from the first book to see how they¿re doing. That¿s the fun of series. And, third, and the biggest there is a long break where Fletch and Poppy don¿t even come into contact. They grow in a wonderful way from the experience, but the reason Fletch doesn¿t come for her right away could be better explained. The last 100 pages are fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    Very Disappointing!

    This was not one of her best books. I have 13 of her other books and I loved them all. It was so hard to keep my interest in it. I usually read a book in 2 days, but it has been a week and I'm still trying to finish it. It is such a bore that I have a hard time picking it up to read. She has been one of my favoite writers, but after this, if her next book is as boring I don't think I'll be wasting my money on any more of her books. In most books you can picture in your mind what's going on and how things might look. But this book just confuses you. The story jumps around too much and there isn't enough substance to it. I think the biggest problem I have is with Poppy's mother. Who would let a mother in law move into their home and run things her way. That is unimaginable and her mother really gets to be a bore. I guess it explains why I think Poppy is such a bore too. Oh well, hopefully her next book will be much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2007

    Better than most but not her best

    I definitely liked this book more than the first in this series, Desperate Duchesses. I thought her characters were more sympathetic and developed here than in the first. James is such a great writer but the plot was a little thin. I feel like she's being pushed to keep the books coming when they aren't quite ready. She makes it obvious that these people love each other but no real examples why...they seem to not know the other one at all. She also loves to make truly immoral people sympathetic and I have a hard time believing that women (and men) who see things in more black and white would truly be friends or in love with people who definitely live in a dark gray world. Her historical references are fascinating and I enjoyed seeing the other characters interactions unlike other reviewers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2007

    Horrible!

    I am usually an Eloisa James fan. However, this book was simply atrocious. The characters were flighty, the plot was confusing, and it was one big over-powdered mess. Don't waste your money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    Well...could have been better

    In fact, I kept reading thinking it would get better because her books usually are better. And then I was at the end...and it never really quite satisfied. However, liked the idea that the other two story lines are still to be resolved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    A Beautiful and Sensual Christmas Romance!

    In a captivating and beautiful story, we find the beautiful, young, and innocent Lady Perdita (Poppy) who has fallen head over heels in love with the handsome Duke of Fletcher, considered the catch of the season. Fletch feels the same for his beautiful Poppy and patiently awaits their wedding day. Little does he realize that the young and innocent Poppy has not been properly prepared for her wedding night, but instead has been controlled by an overbearing mother who has filled her head with unrealistic expectations of marriage and the marriage bed. Fletch experiences a disappointing wedding night, not understanding that Poppy needs tutoring in the ways of passion and marriage. Instead of being patient and instructing Poppy, Fletch distances himself from his beauty and soon an intense love turns to disappointment and severe loneliness for them both. As four years go by, Fletch even considers obtaining a mistress, but all he can think about is his love and desire for Poppy. Besides, he sees all the infidelity and unhappiness around him in society that brings little happiness to those involved. Poppy understands that something is seriously wrong with her marriage, doesn¿t understand how it can be fixed, and is left heartbroken. How can she bring back the intense love that Fletch had for her at one time? Before the marriage, she always seemed to please him, and since the marriage, everything she does is for Fletch. But that is the sweet Poppy¿s main problem pleasing everyone but herself and in so doing, feels she has accomplished nothing but disappointing the man she loves so intensely. Poppy understands the whole society side of being a duchess, but not a thing about being a true wife, especially because, just as her loving Fletch, she sees nothing but unhappiness in society marriages. Poppy makes the ultimate decision in her yearning for happiness in her life. She walks out on Fletch and her overbearing mother, leaving them both behind, and decides she will enjoy her own life and stop trying to please everyone else. It is not until Fletch loses his precious Poppy that he realizes he must woo her back somehow. Unwilling to lose her, Fletch decides to begin an intense seduction of Poppy that has her head and heart spinning, but not impressed. Can Fletch win back the love of his precious Poppy before Christmas? In the masterful writing style of Eloisa James, An Affair Before Christmas is a wonderful sensual sequel to the Desperate Duchesses Series. Adding an interesting depth to this story, the reader gets to revisit some of the secondary characters from the first book, like the infamous rake The Duke of Villiers and the dysfunctional Elijah and Jemma, The Duke and Duchess of Beaumont. Ms. James cleverly allows the reader to revisit these dysfunctional characters in order to emphasize and help the reader fully understand how Poppy and Fletch can become so disillusioned about love. An Affair Before Christmas romance is a delightful read and perfect for a holiday that celebrates true love and happiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    powerful character driven Georgian romance

    1778 in Paris, Lady Perdita ¿Poppy¿ Selby and the Duke of Fletcher ¿Fletch¿ meet and fall in love. They marry and both expect their desire and attraction to last forever. Four years later, Poppy decides to live a separate life from her spouse Fletch plans otherwise as he wants to woo back the woman he still loves into his arms and bed. His goal is to start anew with AN AFFAIR BEFORE CHRISTMAS that this time he intends as a ¿second once in a lifetime¿ (mindful of Peabo Bryson¿s song If Ever You're In My Arms Again). Meanwhile the Duchess of Beaumont Jemma and her husband live for the most part apart except for the stimulating chess games they may still love one another, but that's not enough apparently as each tries to checkmate the other. On top of that is the scandal and fear as Jemma's brother and the Duke of Villiers duel. However, Jemma and Poppy find some solace from their spousal relationship problems in the re-energizing of their friendship even as Villiers heals from the duel with Lady Caroline attending to his needs. --- The latest DESPERATE DUCHESSES saga is a powerful character driven Georgian romance that grips the audience who will feel as if friends are facing marital and other woes. The three subplots are well written and intermingle cleverly like a DNA double (make that triple) helix. Fans will appreciate Eloisa James wonderfully complex historical as the cast provides the audience with a tremendous tale. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3