Customer Reviews for

The Affinity Bridge (Newbury & Hobbes Investigation #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Captivating Read Indeed!

I wasn't fanatic about The Affinity Bridge though I was thoroughly interested in it at the same time. It was a change from the books I have been reading (my recently read books I either couldn't get enough of or disliked with a passion). This one was in the middle. Stil...
I wasn't fanatic about The Affinity Bridge though I was thoroughly interested in it at the same time. It was a change from the books I have been reading (my recently read books I either couldn't get enough of or disliked with a passion). This one was in the middle. Still I recommend it too fans of mystery and steampunk genres. I guess the main reson why I wasn't too thrilled with it was(and I feel horrible saying this mind you) because it had minimal amounts of romance. I can tell George Mann was trying to ease into the relationship of the two main characters (but to me it was torture!) and I respect that especially since your average romance novel usually rushes the romance between the lovers to where it's unrealistic (I really do hate that part of being a fan of romance). All in all, The Affinity Bridge was an awesome book (with it's zombies and electrical walking canes...) to read and I enjoyed it very much. I am also very excited for the sequal The Osiris Ritual.

posted by Madame_Lovey-Dovey on March 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

...and after 35 pots of Earl Grey, the story ended.

It seemed like a tweener book for British kids. I am neither. In spite of having enough plot elements to make a thrilling read, I put the ebook down again and again, even toward the end of the book. I will not criticize the author, I could do no better, and a critic ris...
It seemed like a tweener book for British kids. I am neither. In spite of having enough plot elements to make a thrilling read, I put the ebook down again and again, even toward the end of the book. I will not criticize the author, I could do no better, and a critic risks nothing. He does write in a fashion that is easy to visulaize in the mind's eye.

posted by LibrisAnnelid on October 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Captivating Read Indeed!

    I wasn't fanatic about The Affinity Bridge though I was thoroughly interested in it at the same time. It was a change from the books I have been reading (my recently read books I either couldn't get enough of or disliked with a passion). This one was in the middle. Still I recommend it too fans of mystery and steampunk genres. I guess the main reson why I wasn't too thrilled with it was(and I feel horrible saying this mind you) because it had minimal amounts of romance. I can tell George Mann was trying to ease into the relationship of the two main characters (but to me it was torture!) and I respect that especially since your average romance novel usually rushes the romance between the lovers to where it's unrealistic (I really do hate that part of being a fan of romance). All in all, The Affinity Bridge was an awesome book (with it's zombies and electrical walking canes...) to read and I enjoyed it very much. I am also very excited for the sequal The Osiris Ritual.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    ...and after 35 pots of Earl Grey, the story ended.

    It seemed like a tweener book for British kids. I am neither. In spite of having enough plot elements to make a thrilling read, I put the ebook down again and again, even toward the end of the book. I will not criticize the author, I could do no better, and a critic risks nothing. He does write in a fashion that is easy to visulaize in the mind's eye.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    Affinity Bridge is a Steampunk crime Mystery set in London in th

    Affinity Bridge is a Steampunk crime Mystery set in London in the Victorian era. The author paints the setting well and we can actually feel the choking London fog of times gone by, but are further intrigued by elements of the story that are able to cloak themselves within the thick, dark atmosphere. The writing is good and fast paced so that our interest is held throughout the story. I don't want to give away the plot points of the story, but will say that it's imaginative, engaging, and inspires me to want to read the next book in the series, The Osiris Ritual.

    This is the sort of story that makes Steampunk interesting as a genre. I would have liked to get more of a feel for what it's like to travel on an airship, but perhaps that will come in one of the further stories.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    3.50 Stars Lack Depth What a wonderful tale centered in jolly

    3.50 Stars

    Lack Depth

    What a wonderful tale centered in jolly old England, or is it jolly. The plague is feverently running through the slums of Whitechapel. Mysterious and unexplained murders are stumping Scotland Yard. To add to the mayhem, The Lady Armitage (a passenger derigible) has crashed in Finstead Park adding to the woes of the current investigative team of Veronica Hobbes, Sir Maurice Newbury and Inspector Charles Bainbridge. The Crown has summoned Sir Newbury to give his best effort to quickly uncover the airships demise as there could be a connection to the Royal Dutch Throne. How's that for a plot? Very enticing.

    The pros. This is a well laid out story. The scenes and descriptions are dead-on and will have the reader engulfed with the daily deluge of fog and rain in London. Keep a good cup of tea or coffee available to keep the chill off. You will find yourself immersed in the manufactory of the airships as our trio's clues lead them into the impressive, yet sinister company of Chapman and Villiers. The plot thickens as Professor Villiers introduces them to the intricacies of modern technology—The automatom's. Sir Newbury is overtaken by the new machines as they are fully functioning robots capable of performing the most intricate human endeavors. Yet, despite his fascination with the advances in science, he feels there is more than meets the eyes. Something is askew. Is there a connection between the downing of The Lady Armitage, the automatoms, and the murders of Whitechapel, or do they stand on their own? You'll have to get a copy for those answers.

    The cons. As in the last work, The Ghosts of Manhattan, the action scenes reminded me of a James Bond thriller. The injuries our hero, Sir Maurice Newbury has sustained would have him completely incapacitated to efficiently engage his assailants. A bit too far-fetched at times. The end of the work took up a little too much space as the reader is introduced to more hidden sub-plots.

    Overall, this is an excellent work the Steampunk followers will gobble-up in a heartbeat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Affinity Bridge had all the potential in the world but when

    The Affinity Bridge had all the potential in the world but when it was all said and done it didn’t amount to much. The world created by George Mann is an interesting one, his characters not so much. Each one was a cliché with little imagination and the mystery involved here left little doubt. Overall this book was a fine attempt but not worth the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Steampunk sherlock holmes

    A great detective novel with a mix of sci fi and supernatural elements

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    A delightful steampunk story

    I enjoyed this story even if the description of the automata was a little bit too far fetched to be believable in the traditional SciFi genre and it sounds anachronistic. On the other hand the pace and the richness of the descriptions do take you to that victorian and foggy London we love so much. Definitelly recommended.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    Quintessential Steampunk with an Engaging Story

    Though a little less engaging than it's sequel, The Osiris Ritual, The Affinity Bridge is an absolutely fantastic story which in many ways catered perfectly to my notion of Steampunk London. Sir Maurice Newbury is the Sherlock Holmes of steampunk, with a wonderful personality that is, nevertheless realistic; Newbury has faults. The relationship between he and Miss Veronica Hobbes, his "assistant," (she is only so in that Newbury hired her; in every other way she is his equal) is endearing, and is possibly the first ever instance of a romance as a major factor in a steampunk novel. The book starts out a little slow, but speeds up drastically after about the fifth chapter as the plot thickens and the mystery becomes more and more engaging. Mann's writing style can sometimes be a little sloppy, but he is the first author I've seen to successfully create and describe in print format an action scene which would usually be better suited for a movie. I understand that this is said all the time, but I truly was unable to put this book down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A good yarn. . .

    though not a great one.

    The plot reminds me a little of Gordon Dahlquist's Glass Books of the Dreameaters, although the plot of The Affinity Bridge is decidedly less strange. Here we have a feisty heroine and a flawed hero, AND (if that weren't enough), a solid sidekick. It's a little bit Sherlock Holmes and a little bit Amelia Peabody.

    Nonetheless, The Affinity Bridge is an easy, escapist, page turner; I finished it in seven hours, by the clock--and I am very much your average reader. It is promising, but it doesn't quite live up to it's promise. I found the characters a bit shallow and the dialog incongrous: highly purple Victoriana, coupled with modern colloqualisms.

    I think I understand what Mann was going for; the plot is steam-punkish. However, culture changes much slower than technology--as we witness everyday--and Mann doesn't really sell me that the language will have changed that much. Nor do I buy the other characters' easy acceptance of Veronica as a professional woman/buttkicker. Oh, that it were that easy: give us cars, airships, and robots, and we will give you universal human rights, just like that. But, that's not how it works, clearly. If you are going to do something like that, you've got to make it make sense in your world. Mann didn't.

    Yet, the plot's okay. The ending is neither surprising, nor is it unsurprising. The plot point having to do with Jack seems an afterthought more than anything and would probably have been best left out; it's a distraction. The whole book seems clearly a set-up for another novel with the same characters, and so it left me a little unsatisfied with this novel.

    Bottom line: If you like the steampunk genre or mysteries, it's worth a read, but it's not going to make you think. Then again, not everything has to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    disappointing

    Airships, mechancial men, zombies, spiritualism. This should have been a wonderful book. Unfortunately, the author's attempt at Victorian dialogue was stilted, witless, and unauthentic. It became such a distraction that I lost interest in the story, and have yet it finish reading it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE AFFINITY BRIDGE is an odd alternate earth historical thriller

    In 1901 London, automatons have taken over most of the manual labor replacing humans. In that environs British Museum anthropologist Sir Maurice Newbury and his assistant Miss Veronica Hobbes investigate the crash of a zeppelin piloted by a cyborg in which pilot error is statistically impossible yet in this case somehow appears plausible. --------------

    At the same time, a plague is spreading throughout the city's poorest sectors turning people into zombies. These revenants pose a major threat of destroying the British Empire from within. An expert on the occult, Maurice with Veronica's able help connects the two incidents in between Earl Grey time.--------------------

    THE AFFINITY BRIDGE is an odd alternate earth historical thriller that combines elements of horror, science fiction and mystery in a London at the start of the twentieth century filled with robot and zombies; yet in some ways sort of remains the same as our earth as there is always time for a bit of tea. That combination adds some realism to the story line, but tea for two is fun for the participants however can be tedious to the reader. Still filled with plenty of blood, the occult and automatons, George Mann provides his audience with overall an enjoyable tale of a London out of control except for the tea time outs that seem mindful of Holmes-Watson.-------

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    !

    :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Hello !

    This book is serieously for 15+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    A Rip Roaring Read

    This is a great steam punk book, full of Air Ships, and automata, with an element of horror throw in.

    This book is highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Great steampunk adventure

    A great, fast moving steam punk adventure. Both the plot and the characters were well developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Steam Punk Murder Mystery

    Suspend disbelief. Good alternative reality read. Tedious in places but a good steam punk read over all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Enjoyable Read - Good Summer Read!!! I recommend it to everyone

    Enjoyable Read - Good Summer Read!!!

    I recommend it to everyone and will read this author again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Enjoyable

    ^_^

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    SEXIST MUCH?

    I was annoyed throughout this bbok.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Steampunk story

    Great story. Loved the characters of Newbury & Hobbes. Can't wait to read the next story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5