Customer Reviews for

Affliction (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series #22)

Average Rating 4.5
( 332 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(210)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

At last.....The Return of Anita Blake

I have been an avid fan of this series for over a decade (that is a scary thought all on its own...but anyway....). I have read and re-read each novel in the series and it is apparent that somewhere along the line Anita lost her way, or should I say Hamilton did. I had ...
I have been an avid fan of this series for over a decade (that is a scary thought all on its own...but anyway....). I have read and re-read each novel in the series and it is apparent that somewhere along the line Anita lost her way, or should I say Hamilton did. I had tried to stay positive, but after Cerulean Sins, everything just started to go south. By the time I got to Danse Macbre, I was starting to wonder why I should keep reading.

I know why. I love this world and the many characters in it. So I trudged along like everyone else. I kept reading. Things got better...things got worse. Things got better....things got worse.

Now we come to Kiss the Dead. It was better....but a little (dare I say it?) boring, but at, least it was sex for every single chapter. Now we have Affliction. All I can say is......thank god! We had a case. We have some sex. We had snappy Anita. We had freakin Jean Claude back !! And I think we are finally going to get back the major relationships in Anita's life. (She has so many lovers at this point that I can't keep them straight and honestly.....I really dont care enough about them, to try. )

All I can say is....I only hope things will keep going this way.

posted by 9687538 on July 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Hamilton was great from the gate, but she wasn't much for stamin

Hamilton was great from the gate, but she wasn't much for stamina. This latest Anita Blake installment is good, but…

We had a fast-paced case, we had a bad guy, we had zombies, we had a mystery, we had Jean Claude and all his yummy-ness, we had Edward in all his psycho...
Hamilton was great from the gate, but she wasn't much for stamina. This latest Anita Blake installment is good, but…

We had a fast-paced case, we had a bad guy, we had zombies, we had a mystery, we had Jean Claude and all his yummy-ness, we had Edward in all his psychopathic glory (and some new fun toys), and we did not have Richard or Asher.

Unfortunately, the resolution of the case was anti-climactic, the bad guy was easily identified and quickly dispatched (albeit confusingly), the mystery disappeared about half way through the story, we didn’t have enough Jean Claude, and despite not having Richard or Asher, we still had shadows of their dramas.

Micah’s family was humorously dysfunctional, his aunt and uncle were delightfully offensive and narrow-minded, his mother and the rest of her sisters were hilariously blunt, but most of the familial information seemed forced and hurried, and all of the characters were superficial and lacked any real depth. We also had an unfamiliar police force with which to contend. I usually enjoy Anita’s sharp-tongued banter with law enforcement officers who have unjustified grudges and prejudices, but after 21+ books, the situation has become trite.

And if I have to read one more description of someone’s eye color, hair color, or a detailed description of what every single person is wearing, I am going to gouge out my mind’s eye.

posted by robinirish on July 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Great book...

    Hamilton, you did great...ignore all of the prudish porn comments, we do! If they can't handle the sex maybe they should start reading Amish titles! Ha! Ha! You go girl...keep 'em coming in all ways!

    12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Shes baaack!

    It was like reading her old books,before they turned into porn . There was sex but it wasn't about the sex. Im so glad this one returned to her old style and im looking forward to her next book already!

    I

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Angela Shikany

    Very good. I just wish she'd write more Meredith Gentry books.

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    I was so excited for this release. I have really enjoyed this s

    I was so excited for this release. I have really enjoyed this series. I can't honestly say that I haven't enjoyed every book.....but most of them I have. I was very happy to see most of the key characters here and the story was fantastic. I made myself slow down when reading it because I just didn't want it to end. I was happy with the way the book ended since it left things open to so many possibilities for the future. I loved Affliction and can't wait for the next Anita Blake book!!!!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    AWESOME SURPRISE!

    I've kept up with this entire series, but the stories/characters and the true bitterness/anger that has always been Anita; has done nothing but turn me away from my beloved Jean-Claude. The heroine's negative personality and downright bitter treatment to everyone around her has done nothing but turn me away from the writing of L.K. Hamiliton. And its a shame, because Hamiliton is very talented. ....Her bitterness/anger/hatred would seep into me and then into my very real world. That contagious negativity really does transfer into others and so I quit reading them like I used to. If I hadn't read the customer reviews that gave a glimpse of something light and positive, I wouldn't have bought this book. I'm very glad I did. This is the very FIRST book that displays a positive/secure and very affectionate Anita Blake. A character that has taken 20years to evolve...Too long I know, but finally there is light. I think that Hamilton's personality has always been aligned with Anita's. It appears that Hamilton has wiped out her own personal demons and the bright light is now being shown into Anita Blake's life. Maybe discovering yourself takes a while, because some things are hard to let go. Glad to see that positive metamorphosis. And thank you for Jean-Claude!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    She's baaack!

    So happy this book was like LKH's first books. You can really sink your teeth into it. I seen how many pages it was and did a happy dance. Then started reading and was thrilled. Great book. Great characters. And yummy sex scenes!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Happy happy

    Not since i was first introduced to the series have i been so happy! Fantastic paced story, LKH will have her long time readers screaming and cheering with glee. I could not have asked for a better book to this series. Thank you so much for giving us a wonderful book!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Amazing

    The book was the best so far. The author is getting really good about forshadowing in her books and finally nailing down a plot.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    They just get better and better.

    At the beginning of every book I think "this can't be better than the last," and by the end of the book all I can think is "No this can't be the end!!!".

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Yess

    I say it was a splendid good read at tea with my chaps.we had a bloody good time, did not even stop to go to the lew

    5 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Love it.

    Love it.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    I don't generally do these, but I felt compelled to write a revi

    I don't generally do these, but I felt compelled to write a review for this book. Like many of Anita's fans, I have been getting more and more disillusioned by Hamilton's seeming to have simply thrown out the formula that hooked us all, and simply exploring her own sexual fantasies chapter after chapter, book after book. I had almost given up. Then I read Kiss the Dead, and well, it was like she tried to go back to telling the Anita story the way that we all enjoyed, but kind of couldn't break free of the bad habits she had fallen into... but it gave me hope. Then I read Affliction, and , WOW, she is back! This was a true to form, old school, Anita Blake book! The case stayed the focus, the relationships enhanced the story, she used her Necromancy, and the sex was intense but brief. BRAVO, Hamilton, Bravo. Welcome back! Please... PLEASE, keep it up, and stick to writing these stories in this style.. It is why we have come to love the characters and buy your books

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Wow

    All i can say is wow. The anniversary book for the series kicked ass. She came hard with this book, and we got a little of everything. And the book is huge. I loved it. I highly recommend for the real Anita fans, not the haters. Any loyal fan sticks by their favorite author and sometimes books are not as great as another, but this is one of the greats.. Can't wait for the next one. Thanks Mama

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    Congratulations and welcome back, Laurell K. Hamilton and Anita

    Congratulations and welcome back, Laurell K. Hamilton and Anita Blake! Oh, how we've missed you!!!

    Did you enjoy The Laughing Corpse? The Lunatic Cafe? The Circus of the Damned? Remember those? Well, she's back, baby!

    No more 20 pages of sex, 2 pages of endless dialogue, 15 pages of sex, 2 pages of endless dialogue, 10 pages of action, and 300 pages of sex and endless dialogue. This book blows the roof off of every Anita Blake book Ms. Hamilton's written since Narcissus in Chains. There is nonstop action; enough dialogue to hold the book together as an actual story and give it meat to sink your teeth into, (oops! Did I say that? lol); enough sex to keep the reader titillated; great way-back references to other characters and situations; a brand new bad guy, (who is really, really bad) and some good, old fashioned family issues with a twist.

    I cannot tell you how happy I was to find myself completely enjoying another Anita book again. It's been so long, and I've felt so awful that an amazing series had fallen off the tracks so badly.

    Ms. Hamilton... Whether it's you who writes the books, or your characters... Thank you for bringing your series full circle. I'm a huge fan and I'm thrilled to be in Anita's world, once again. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Great!

    Loved it! The actions scenes were great. The difficult romances were great. The whole book was a great. Ready for the next book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    I have been a fan of the Anita Blake series for longer than I ca

    I have been a fan of the Anita Blake series for longer than I care to admit. I actually stayed out of work for a week when I first started reading them (shhhh!). I look forward to each one with glee. I was never one of the nay-sayers who hated some of the books in the middle of the series that verged on porn. If I am understanding what's happening correctly, Anita is going through a LOT of changes. The first one was even accepting that the vampires weren't monsters. Then as she accepted Jean-Claude's marks she became a vampire of sorts, and unfortunately initially had to "feed" only on sex, so we watched her work her way through that. Then she got infected with lycanthropy (of so many kinds that I can't keep up) and had to deal with that. The cool thing is that those of us who have hung in there have seen the books go from vampire hunter/zombie raiser, through a lot of books about a lot of partners, through to the last few books. Now, Anita is a legal Federal Marshal who relishes the powers she's gained, and the books are back to basically being the good guys hunting down the bad guys,

    I loved it. I agree with some of the writers who got sick of the descriptions of one gorgeous guy after another. But I think I figured out why she's doing that--the last few books really can stand alone; you don't really have to know all about Richard and the ardeur and the wicked vampires she's vanquished, but you do need to know the characters, so she spends some extra time describing them. And at this point her world is so real to me that I can handle hearing about Nathaniel's hair and eyes again!!

    Highly, highly recommended. Anita is kick-a$$!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Amazing!!!

    What can i say LKH does it again. I am in love with this book, especially with Jean-Claude and Nicky. I liked them before and now i fell more in love. Definetly a good read and totally worth reading again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Very much enjoyed this book.  I would say one of her best.  

    Very much enjoyed this book.  I would say one of her best.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    One of the best

    So far one of the most action packed book of the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Wow

    I am telling u what i think this is the best book so far in the series yet.i can not wait for more these are awesome. This is a new whole leave to heros that make wemon stand up and cheer

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11