Customer Reviews for

Afloat

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

This is a book where you aren't sure where it is going, but you

This is a book where you aren't sure where it is going, but you can't put it down! I ended up finishing it in 2 sittings, ONLY because I was too tired to do it in one! Like the weather, the plot twists and turns, providing new drama for the characters to overcome and to...
This is a book where you aren't sure where it is going, but you can't put it down! I ended up finishing it in 2 sittings, ONLY because I was too tired to do it in one! Like the weather, the plot twists and turns, providing new drama for the characters to overcome and to show their true selves and faith. It was a very interesting device- having been through Hurricane Katrina and no power for 21 days, and no media for 5 days, I could relate to how the characters have no idea of what is happening in the 'outside' world and how banding together is their best bet of survival. There are times when I think God sends natural disasters to test just that- our faith in him, each other and to strengthen those bonds. Another winner from Erin, you'll want to read this one as soon as you can, as I'm sure movie rights will not be far behind!

posted by BTHM on June 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

Thanks for the heads up about this having spiritual christian themes.

posted by 17278898 on November 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a book where you aren't sure where it is going, but you

    This is a book where you aren't sure where it is going, but you can't put it down! I ended up finishing it in 2 sittings, ONLY because I was too tired to do it in one! Like the weather, the plot twists and turns, providing new drama for the characters to overcome and to show their true selves and faith. It was a very interesting device- having been through Hurricane Katrina and no power for 21 days, and no media for 5 days, I could relate to how the characters have no idea of what is happening in the 'outside' world and how banding together is their best bet of survival. There are times when I think God sends natural disasters to test just that- our faith in him, each other and to strengthen those bonds. Another winner from Erin, you'll want to read this one as soon as you can, as I'm sure movie rights will not be far behind!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Another christian book phooey

    Bad literature too dogmatic preachy

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Anonymous

    Thanks for the heads up about this having spiritual christian themes.

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Along the coast is a floating apartment complex that is the home

    Along the coast is a floating apartment complex that is the home of Danielle and her son Simon. She lost her husband a few years before in a car accident and has been living under the eye of Tony Dean the owner of the apartment complex. He has a corrupt nature like most who aspire to be a politician and has secrets in his closets.

    The architect of the complex Vance Nolan is also a Christian after spending much of his life as someone that didn’t believe. But he was taken in by Zeke who helped him through a rough time and let him stay basically rent fee while he drank a lot. But over time Zeke was able to change Vance for the better. Vance also has his eye on Danielle and would like to get to know her better.
    A great tragedy hit the complex during a storm and they were cut off from the mainland. Vance and Tony butt heads over what should be done about getting people to safety and things are revealed about the past that show Danielle what kind of person Tony really is. Things that make her not want to share her life with Tony any more.
    Erin Healy has written an engaging story and one that is a real page turner. I recommend this book wholeheartedly and think you won’t be disappointed.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful homes built on the water might just be the way of the

    Beautiful homes built on the water might just be the way of the future, as architect Vance Nolan sees it. But just as his dream is becoming a reality, disaster strikes. A sinkhole endangers several lives, including those of Danielle Clement and her son Simeon. In the aftermath of the disaster, merciless rain and rising waters ensue, stranding everyone in a single building. It becomes survival of the fittest when it is discovered murders are among them.




    Afloat dives straight into the heart of the story. There is a beautiful symbiosis between suspense and plot. Just enough backstory is initially revealed for initial hook, and an alternating blend in the rest of the story keeps you perfectly ensnared. In such a seemingly confined setting, my mind roamed free. 




    Since these stranded, survival of the fittest type stories can occasionally be cliché, I would like to point out that this is in no way the case for Afloat. The story was loaded with unexpected turns, both in happenings and in characters. My mental view of the story world was just stunning and in great detail, yet I never felt any descriptions dragged on.




    I loved the spiritual elements in the story. Often times the theme can be so very monotonous in a Christian fiction, but this story mixed things up a bit and even had multiple points. The supernatural element that is trademark in Erin's work has a milder tone in this novel than some of her other works, but still plays a notable part. Eagerly awaiting the next Erin Healy novel!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Erin Healy in her new book "Afloat" published by Thoma

    Erin Healy in her new book "Afloat" published by Thomas Nelson gives us a wonderful thriller.

    From the back cover: Dark waters are rising. Who will stay afloat?

    Architect Vance Nolan has crafted a marvel--shining apartments floating in the peaceful cove of a winding river. The project is partially occupied and about to make investors rich when a sinkhole gives way.

    Torrential rains quickly flood the cove, leaving a handful of builders, investors, and residents cut off from the rest of the world.

    The motley group is bitterly divided over how to survive.

    Vance insists they wait for rescue. Developer Tony Dean wants to strike out into the darkness. And single-mom Danielle Clement, obligated to each man and desperate to protect her young son, Simeon, isn't sure which one is wiser.

    Power failure, an unnatural daytime darkness, explosions, and a murder expose hidden intentions and dark histories. Then Simeon spots something strange underwater--beautiful, shifting lights in the dark depths.

    In this watery world, everyone's secrets will eventually come to light. And deliverance may mean more than just getting out alive.

    The Seventies were a time of great disaster movies. We had burning skyscrapers, upside down cruise ships, earthquakes and even airplanes underwater. The common thread was there were a handful of survivors that were fighting for their lives. Erin Healy has given us a very creative 21st Century disaster. The Dictionary defines "Cove" as, "a small sheltered inlet or bay". For something that is supposed to be sheltered the inappropriately named, "Eagle's Talon" floating homes is the scene of the disaster. First there was the saboteur, then came the flood and now the survivors are cut off from land with no means of communication. Who will survive? "Afloat" is most definitely a thriller and, I would say, Ms. Healy's best work to date. Be prepared to have your nerves stretched to the breaking point as you read this book. "Afloat" is a really enjoyable read that makes you root for the wonderful characters.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    Eagle's Talon is a very unique place. Built entirely over water,

    Eagle's Talon is a very unique place. Built entirely over water, it's like an oasis away from everyone else. One building is occupied while the rest are being built when tragedy strikes. First a sinkhole appears out of nowhere, almost killing a number of people. Next a storm like no other hits, flooding the site and stranding the people who didn't get swept away. Now the people there must fight to survive, but as secrets start to be revealed the surviving seems to become much more difficult. Everyone is hiding something at a time when trust is vital. On top of that people have been seeing mysterious glowing things in the water below them. What does this mean for the survivors? Will they be able to pull through it all?




    This book was very different from what I expected. There were so many elements to it. I found it a little difficult to get into initially. I didn't really understand the technical parts of the buildings, but the book really wastes no time when getting to the meat of the story. I thought I was being given a ton of back story on the characters initially, but then I discovered that they had secrets even beyond what I knew. This added a lot of depth to the story. There is also a fair amount of "action" as it were. With the sinkhole then flood, there are a lot of things going on. Also, people are not spared from the destruction. It really ends up being a tragedy all around.




    Beside the human aspect to the book, there is also a bit of the supernatural. This takes the form of mysterious glowing things that some people are seeing in the water. Rather than being frightening though, they seem to be helping the people to find their way and survive. You find out rather early on though what these are, but that really didn't take away from the impact for me. This book is full of suspense and atmosphere. You really get a sense of how difficult it is for these people in the harsh circumstances they find themselves in. I almost didn't want to read it at night, but then I am not really friends with the water so it creeped me out even more. If you are looking for a suspenseful yet thoughtful book, check this one out.




    Book provided for review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The one thing I love most about reading books is their uncanny a

    The one thing I love most about reading books is their uncanny ability to transport us to a place we'd never imagined we would go or experience things we would never want to but still like to be an outsider looking in. Erin Healy is a master at both of these events. In her latest suspense novel, Afloat, we meet Vance Nolan who has developed a revolutionary idea of building homes that can float inside a sheltered cover, providing the experience of an water-view home in a vastly different perspective. Originally Vance created these modular, green-friendly homes to provide alternative housing for the homeless in the small town called Eagle's Talon, so defined from the unique riverfront shape of land that houses what will be 96 modular units, in 12 buoyant buildings.

    The one thing lacking in all of this master build planning is the financial component and soon that appears to be solved with the backing of Tony Dean, a wealthy developer who sees these units as something larger than providing them for the homeless. He convinces Vance to build them with a higher end clientele in mind and spears heads the sales with the help of an attractive single mom, Danielle Clement and her son Simeon. Yet when a freak and unexpected storms rocks the small cove, along with a series of unexplained accidents, it seems that there is more going on that just what lies beneath the pristine waters. Darkness soon falls to those that find themselves trapped with no apparent way out.

    I received Afloat by Erin Healy compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse Publicity Book Tours for my honest review. I received no monetary compensations for a favorable review. This is now my third book from Erin and once again she manages to captivate me right from the beginning. I was turning pages and trying to follow along while making my own guesses on what exactly was going on. There is a supernatural twist to this one that really makes you wonder about the people who come into our lives in unexpected ways and the ending is one that has you completely on the edge of your seat. I'd rate this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars in my opinion and know that I will most certainly add Erin Healy to my Must Watch List.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Entertaining

    The book was interesting but obviously religious. The characters were a bit flat but this was a new story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    amazing book

    This book held my attention from start to finish. Excelleny read!! U won't be sorry if u purchase. She is on the list of one of my favorite authors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    I felt that I was not sure whether I was going to land.  At the

    I felt that I was not sure whether I was going to land. 
    At the beginning of the book, I wan't sure where this book was going.  I became so engrossed in the book, I couldn't put it down.  This was a great book. Enjoyed it so much. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    very entertaning

    I read the book instead of watching TV. A fascinating fantasy. To be read by sone one who likes to be entertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Interesting but not well-written

    Good story. I enjoyed it, but it had awkward sentences that you have to re-read to understand as they are worded unusually. Could have been more developed story-line and characters but overall a decent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2013

    Intriguing Read

    Although I was not familiar with the author, I saw that another book was co-authored with Ted Dekker and decided to try it. The story has excitement, drama, smatterings of a love story and based on a faith message. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2013

    Interesting !!!

    Tough circumstances bring out the best and worst in people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Kept My Interest ... but ...

    This was one of my $1.99 deals. I thought the premise was good but it ended up being kind of predictable. Still, I didn't put it down once I started reading it, so that must mean something. I found the descriptions of the accident and the storm to go on a little long -- I believe the author was really trying to paint a picture for the reader, but it felt like she was trying to sell a movie script.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Lol

    Lol heck yah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Plot: I really enjoyed the plot of this book. It was nothing lik

    Plot: I really enjoyed the plot of this book. It was nothing like I've ever read before. I found it to be creative and intriguing. There were twists and turns that I didn't expect and an interesting spiritual level.

    Characters: The way the characters interacted and relied on each other was great. Every action by one character effected the actions of others. It all came together in an intricate web of character design.

    Themes: This book has several themes in it including forgiveness, selfishness, and redemption. All of the themes work together to create a spiritual atmosphere in the story.

    Emotion: There wasn't a lot of emotion in this book. It was very fast paced, but nothing that was engaging emotionally.

    Overall: I really enjoyed this book. It was an extremely fast read while still having a lot of story to it. I had no idea what was going yo happen next and there were so many twists that kept me on my toes. The spiritual aspect wasn't overpowering or a turn off. It gave a new depth to the story line.

    ---I received this book for free from the publisher for this review.---

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Its the best book ever

    Random person 555 302 9954 gwtdjgjfuk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Cool

    Coll

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2