Customer Reviews for

Afraid of the Dark (Jack Swyteck Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What if the lies are the truth and fiction is fact?

    Many interesting cases have crossed Jack Swyteck's desk and he is a master at knowing when his client is not telling him the truth. The client he has now is not only not telling him the truth he will not event talk to him at all. Very interesting decision since he is being held at Guantánamo with no chance of release unless they figure out why he is being viewed as a terrorist. The world gets stranger when the terrorist charges are dropped and his client becomes suspect #1 in a police officer's injury and the death of another police officer's daughter. Jack figures out quickly why his client thought being in Cuba was safer than getting out of jail.

    How is it possible that the defense becomes that there is no way he could have committed these murders he was being held in a black ops secret interrogation facility? Even Jack has trouble sorting through that and the phone call from his FBI agent fiancé telling him to walk away from this one. The truth is buried so deep and the evidence is based on the police convicting someone regardless of whether they are guilty or not. Jack won't listen to any of this and keeps moving forward resolving to sort through the lies to get to the truth regardless of what country he has to travel to in order to find the answer. However, when Jack puts all the pieces together will he be able to handle the reality that maybe conspiracy theories are true and factual.

    I am a fan of Jack Swyteck and his interesting and diverse life. The back characters are always add flavor and spice to this series and with secrets coming out about Jack's own family the heat is turned up another notch of interesting. Loved it!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Wonderful!!

    Fast paced, umpredictable, good action, intelligent dialogue, belivable characters, what more can you ask for in a mistery. Excelent, even better than my first james grippando novel that i read, Highly recommende

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    Great mystery story!

    Good reading! Exciting to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    I have not read any of Grippando's books before and was unaware this was even a series. The story has a great plot, is laid out well and keeps just enough of an edge that you don't want to put it down. The story unfolds beautifully and has everything you could want for a murdery myster, CIA, computer genius, a grieving parent with need for revenge, and lots of secrets that ultimately lead to the killer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Jack is back-better than ever

    Jack Swyteck is that old friend you want to keep visiting. Like Coben's Myron and Rosenfelt's Andy, his main character comes alive and draws you in. In this book, defense attorney Swyteck tries to determine if the right man is facing the death penalty. Vince Paulo held his best friend, Chuck May's daughter as she bled to death. The name she whispered, Jamal, seemed to indicate that her boyfriend was her killer. Now Vince, Chuck and Jack must make sure that the right person is paying for the crime. This is a popular genre, and it is difficult to stand out in it. Grippando continues to do so with his vivid portrayals of his characters and their surroundings. As always with his books, I finished this with the disappointment of knowing I would have to wait at least a year to visit with Jack Swyteck again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an excellent tale

    Lawyer Jack Swyteck defends twentyish Somali prisoner 977detained at GITMO, which stands for "Giving Interrogation Teams More Options" for three years. His client distrusts anyone from America after being bushed by enhanced interrogation techniques at Guantanamo. The charge against 977 is he signed a confession that he sheltered al-Qaeda operations chief Fazul Abdullah Mohammed. Jack wins the case for his client, but over lunch with Neil Goderich, instead of the release of 977, he is informed he has been handed over to Florida law enforcement.

    977 has been identified as American Jamal Wakefield, wanted by Miami police for the murder of his former girlfriend McKenna Mays three years ago. Jamal is sent to Florida to stand trial with Jack defending him again. Jamal explains an over the top conspiracy of abduction and rendition to a Prague prison, and forceful interrogation. He names people as his alibi, but each person he claims as a witness is killed by an unknown assassin team; Jack believes the Pentagon is outsourcing murder to Black Ice. Jack tries to find ways to end the killing spree that seems sanctioned high up; even as his girlfriend FBI Agent Andie warns him to drop the case. Still he remains resolute unaware how deadly the Dark truly is.
    .

    The latest Swyteck legal thriller (see Born to Run) is an excellent tale as the attorney goes from defending his African client against terrorism charges to defending his American client against murder charges. With some nasty foes on all sides of the war against terrorism and an irate avenger demanding justice for McKenna, Jack struggles to do right by his client if he lives so long. Afraid of the Dark is a terrific international thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Great Intrigue

    This was an exciting, compelling read. Characters seemed real (believable) and the plot did too. Just wished I knew what happened to Shanda. Grippando is an excellent writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Titw

    Fierse

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Andrianna

    Heyy this book is kind of weird

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Dawne

    I fully enjoyed this whole series ( 9 books ) about Jack Swyteck and his family and friends. I found all of the books very enjoyable. The writing kept you drawn in from the beginning and kept you there till the end. In apparently the last book to the series (march 2011) I can honestly say I could NOT put the book down. Wasn't much about Theo but we can't get him in every book. This I would say was the most heart wrenching of them all. I wish more would come but after 2 dry years of none I'll have to settle with re reading. Thank you for this glorious series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    reivew

    I read all the Jack series.I could not get enough of this character .If stuff could happen it did to him .I look forward to more in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    unknown

    I did not enjoy the book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding...best Swyteck to date!!!

    I have long been a big fan of Grippando, both with Swyteck and without. I think this is his most intense work to date, with a complicated plot and a myriad of sub-plots. There was a great deal of disturbing information provided about just some of the goings-on within the Internet sex community...yuk!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Forgetable

    Can't recommend

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    action packed

    Afraid of the Dark by James Grippando is the ninth book in his Jack Swytek series. (and 18th book overall)

    Swytek is a criminal defense attorney based in Miami. He is called in by an old friend to help with the defense of a young man who has been in Gitmo for 3 years. His true identity is uncovered - he is not a Somalian, but rather an American named Jamal - a young man wanted in the U.S. for the murder of his girlfriend and the blinding of the cop who tried to save her. But he says he was in a black site camp in the Czech Republic at the time and couldn't have done it. And the US government put him there.

    That's the opening salvo - from there the plot grows exponentially, including terrorism both home and abroad, child porn and more. (Some readers may find the graphic violence a bit too much)

    I like Swytek as a character and the series has always been a satisfying read. Afraid of the Dark was very, very busy in terms of plot - perhaps a bit too much. Grippando was ambitious with this one - I think Swytek being involved at the international level is a bit of a stretch. But the plot elements are very real and very current. This was a good, thrilling page turner - exactly what I've come to expect from James Grippando. Fans of David Baldacci would enjoy this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2