Customer Reviews for

Afraid to Die (Montana 'To Die' Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Mithos

I feel ya

posted by 10274694 on June 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

How do you write a review prior to it being released...

Kind of hard to write a review when the book has not been released yet. Can't really comment on it as I do not have access to read it. You think the system would be set to not ask people who pre ordered something to write a review prior to reading.

posted by Titanicgirl1480 on February 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    How do you write a review prior to it being released...

    Kind of hard to write a review when the book has not been released yet. Can't really comment on it as I do not have access to read it. You think the system would be set to not ask people who pre ordered something to write a review prior to reading.

    7 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Mithos

    I feel ya

    2 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Afraid to die

    I found this book to be of much better quslity than the other books in the Montana series. Though somewhat repetative, this book had a much better draw for the reader. The excitement of the books csptivating story line had me on the edge of my seat wanting to find the kilker myself. Very good book with an incredible tale of events.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    Same song...different versr.  Well written but it is basically t

    Same song...different versr.  Well written but it is basically the same story that was told in the first book.  Even the sex scenes are boringly predictable.  This auther needs some new material.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Hk

    Fh hk

    N,n,uohln,fjhl jk
    Lhbmuob,bm .n,n,n,hkgjyi

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good, But Not Great! Brought to you by OBS reviewer Heidi Sele

    Good, But Not Great!

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer Heidi

    Selena Alvarez and Regan Pescoli are back in Lisa Jackson’s newest installment of the To Die series, Afraid to Die. This time Selena’s past that she has worked so hard to bury is coming back to haunt her in the form of an old boyfriend and a son that she gave up for adoption. All the secrets Selena has tried so hard to keep from those around her in her ‘new’ life are slowly being revealed and the floodgates on her emotions she’s kept hidden inside are finally breaking open.

    Its Christmas time in Grizzly falls, which means another serial killer, is on the loose. This one is abducting women and freezing them to death. He then sculpts them into ice sculptures that he displays around town. And, strange enough each victim has been found with a piece of Selena’s stolen jewelry on them.

    Then, a teen on the run breaks into Selena’s house as she is coming home, followed by an old flame, Dylan O’Keefe, who is trying to catch him. Seeing Dylan brings back a lot of old memories that Selena would rather not remember, but that’s nothing compared to the emotions invoked by the young teen, Gabriel, who Selena is convinced is the son she gave up for adoption when she was 16 after being raped and impregnated by her cousin, Emillio. Now she’ll do anything to protect him. So when the killer gets his hands on Gabriel, she has no choice, but to act even though she knows it’s a trap.

    I’ve been waiting a couple of months to get my hands on this book. I was pretty disappointed with its predecessor, Born to Die, but was hoping it was just a fluke and that this installment would have the heart-pumping action I’ve come to expect from Lisa Jackson.

    I was sad that this book had a pretty slow start to it and I was really starting to feel the ‘here we go again’ vibes. I don’t even think the problem was that too much was going on, but more that the story was switching narrators so often that it was sometimes hard to determine what was going on in the beginning of the book. But not to worry, once the storyline was outlined and things started going good, they kept getting better. I ended up really enjoying the book and its suspenseful conclusion.

    One thing that I didn’t like was that the book never explained why the killer had a vendetta against Selena. Surely he wasn’t doing all of this over a chance meeting at a grocery store. He had worked for her for how many years after that as her handyman? That just doesn’t pan out for me, there has to be more to it, but it was never fully explained. (Cont)

    The FULL review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Nook sample

    Jac2848- did not like nook sample

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Very good book, just wish there was more detail to the back stor

    Very good book, just wish there was more detail to the back story and more of a connection between Selena and the killer. just wish there was more detail period. This book seemed rushed. Read all four books in this series and this one was not my favorite. It was good, but wasn't as detailed of a story as the first 3 were. Lisa Jackson is one of my favorite authou's and i hope she continues with this series, because there is a lot still left open.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Fear: Chapter 2

    I get my monster info from Monsters and Mysterys in America, though i change some of it. Its a little hard for me to think up names btw. Idk why.)) "Demonton? Wheres that?" I asked. Raven cocked her head. "What do you mean, wheres that?" Ok, now i was really confused. "As in, what country?" I replied. Raven shook her head. "You must have hit your head when you were born. There are no countrys anymore. Everywhere is Demonton." I sighed. Was i in the future or something? There was a long moment of silence. "So, uh, why are all the houses like this? Ya'know, armed?" I asked, breaking the quiet like glass. Raven facepalmed. "Your more of an idiot than i thought. I dunno, maybe because of, lets see, everything?!" I was insulted for a second, but then i realized she had lived here for probably her entire life, and i was only here for a few minuetes. "Everything? Like what?" I asked. Raven rolled her eyes at me. "Like i said before, Wendigos, Hell Hounds, Shadow People, you name it." I had no idea what ANY of those were, but all of them sounded pretty terrifying. Suddenly there was a scratching noise near the back of the house. Before i could say a word, Raven pulled me upstairs. I decided not to ask why this time. There was a sinister cackling outside that sent a shiver down my spine. Raven and me finally arrived in a brightly lit room. A purple bed was pushed off to the side, making room for towering cabinets overflowing with papers. The walls were metal, like the rest of the house, makng the purple bed the only colorful thing in the room. She slammed the door behind us, and locked all 5 locks on the door. She looked scared. I asked her what that was. "Gnomes." She replied. I couldnt help but laugh. "Gnomes? Hahaha! Oh wow, thats soooo terrifying, Raven!" I laughed. She glared at me. "I'll be the one laughing when you get stolen by one!" I rolled my eyes. "Oh wow. Evil Gnomes! You're a laugh!" Raven gestured twords the window. "Be my guest. If you think they're so harmless, then take a look at one." I got up and walked over to the window, accepting her so called challenge. I peered down. A small humanoid creature with long, dirty, sharp nails was clawing at the metal walls. It was wearing a red hat, its goblin like ears sticking out. Its nose was crooked and warty, and the Gnomes cold brown eyes had an evil glint to them. His clothing was tarnished and tattered, with ripped sleeves. I backed away from the window. I heard the disgusting creature cackle even louder, indicating he saw me. I heard a thud down below. Then another one, but louder. I poked my head out the window. The Gnome was climbing up, making dents for his feet. Who knew they were that strong? I slammed the window closed, locking it. Raven had a smug look on her face. "Told ya." Her smirk quickly evaporated at there was a banging on the window, the Gnomes wicked cackling louder than ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Lend

    Can you lend it to me plezzzzzzzzz

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow, Barnes and Noble does a horrible job (or just ignores) of m

    Wow, Barnes and Noble does a horrible job (or just ignores) of making sure the reviews are worth people's viewing. One of the things that I find annoying is that even the "most helpful favorable review" is garbage on this book. Come on, "I feel ya" was the most helpful???? Okay..... Oh, and maybe if they wouldn't allow so many "characters" people wouldn't be writing "essays" instead of letting people enjoy the book themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Although it took me longer to read

    Although it took me longer to read than the 1st 3 books in the series because life got in the way, I actually enjoyed the read more than the others. They are all off the edge of reality, but this seemed just enough less contrived than the others to keep my interest going. I'd thought about abandoning reading the others, but not this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Not her best

    Used to be a fan of lisa jackson books. The last couple, including afraid of the dark, left a lot to be desired. Dont believe ill be reading anymore of her works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    ?...

    ?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Shadowtalon

    Why is freeze acting like this?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Freeze

    Im back.... im sorry....

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Lily

    IDK?!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Awsome

    Keep you reading

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Can't go wrong with lisa jackson

    I enjoyed the more in depth storyline about the main characters. I am never disappointed with a L.J. book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Alvarez and Pescoli are back and the bodies are stacking up...

    Alvarez and Pescoli are back and the bodies are stacking up...

    “Afraid to Die” is the fourth book in Lisa Jackson’s Selena Alvarez/Regan Pescoli thrillers and she does not disappoint her fans of this series. She picks up the lives of Selena and Regan about a year after “Born to Die” ends. We learn more about who Selena is and how she developed into the character we know and love. Regan is still battling her children and as a parent you can totally relate to all of the little problems that come up. We get to see Regan and Selena’s romantic lives develop with the men in their lives as well as the now expected Christmas rituals that happen around the station that add to the richness of the characters that allow you to feel as if you are a part of the story. Along with all of this is the very unsettling story of a serial killer who is drawing in Selena and her past by introducing items of hers to each crime scene. Lisa Jackson does not disappoint with the creepiness of the serial killer and the unique way the victims are killed and discovered.

    There is some predictability to the series, there is the setting, the cases all seem to crop up at the holidays year after year. There are the issues with Regan’s children who as teens whose behavior is similar to so many teens we all know. There are the holiday preparations that occur down at the police station and the odd residents of the town. Some may not enjoy the repetition but then again this is what makes the characters seem so real and like someone from your own neighborhood. I look forward to the next chapter in the Alvarez/Pescoli to Die for series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4