Customer Reviews for

After

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    A reviewer

    Sam R- After- Have some books every just jump out at you? Don¿t they make you want to never stop reading? One of these books is After by, Francine Prose. It happens to be one of my favorites. As soon as you start reading you are sucked in. After has an unbelievable plot, deep characters, and twists and turns on every flip of the page. Boom! As soon as you open the book you are dropped into a hectic high school classroom. Everybody¿s cell phones are buzzing. Nobody knows what is happening but soon as they do they will wish they had never of heard. There had been a school shooting at a nearby high school. There was many fatalities including the gun men. This later affects their school. The state tries to deal with it by sending a crisis counselor to the school. But he doesn¿t live up to his title. He is more of a mind controlling evil person that takes over the school with gloom and despair. Soon things go crazy, the school security becomes tighter than one of an airport. Students get in trouble for the most ridiculous things. Soon some start to disappear. With everyone being watched no one is sure who they can trust. One of the students under the eye of the ¿crisis counselor¿ is our main character Tom. His new goal at school is to stay out of trouble. Along with his friends Silas and Brian he tries to understand why the school is turning into a prison and stay out of the light. I like these three characters. Tom is sort of the leader the one with the plans, guts, and the most smarts. Brian would fit well under the trusty sidekick category. He is very loyal to his friends and watches their backs. Silas, well what can I say about Silas. He is very paranoid about everything. I think he is mostly this way because he is a drug addict. These friends call themselves the ¿smart jocks¿. These three characters fit together perfectly. Although I would have to say my favorite is Tom. He is also the most similar to me. I always try to be the leader, I get pretty good grades, and I like to play sports. After is phenomenal book with an outstanding plot line, complicated characters, and makes you long to know what will happen next. It is one of my personal favorites that can put your life in perspective. It is an exciting drama and mystery that anyone can get into. This is a must read that reached out to me. I bet you will want to read it over and over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    After: A Gripping Novel

    The novel After is a gripping novel by Francine Prose. It's a book that you can never let go of. The novel is full of suspense and the plot has twists and turns. After tells about a school, Pleasant Valley, however, most of the major conflicts are happening at a school fifty miles away called Central High School.
    Cell phones are ringing and people are frantic about their children. Central High School is a school fifty miles away from the shooting site. Central High School hires a grief and crisis counselor, Dr. Willner, who ruins and enforced the lives of the students at Central. The major action and conflict with Dr. Willner revolves around four friends: Tom Bishop, Brian, Avery, and Silas. There many twists and turns in the plot of After.
    I thought After was a novel with a great plot, very descriptive settings, and interesting characters. The author, Francine Prose, was very good at planting the visual images of the novel in our brains. When I was reading this book I couldn't put it down because of the vivid scenes in the book. To me, After was like a movie inside my head.
    I highly recommend this novel to anyone. It is very entertaining, gripping, and descriptive. I can truly and fully confirm that After is a great novel for everyone to read and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good for well-adjusted 15-18 year olds

    After was a very quick read, easily finished in a short amount of time but what I found was the chilling was the realism. Yes, the topic and the way it's written would appeal to teens, ages 15-18, but parents should be encouraged to read it first to screen it. (I tend to do this for my children, just because I'm, well, the mom). I couldn't put the book down, and read it during a medical procedure so it is very easy to follow. I could see how it would come about after the Columbine tragedy, but it plants a seed in the reader's mind, like could we really be so controlled by mail, email, news, etc.?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    The school changing its way soo rapidly .. thats somthing i like ...

    im not the reading type.. but i just couldnt stop readin .. in colombia i could imagen my self in that situation. i enjoyed every min of it even though i think the ending could of been different

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    Very good.

    According to the summary, this book did not really seem too interesting. I somehow started it, and realized it was very, very unique. The story is so plausible and it makes you have to read more of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    Freakishly the best.

    Even though I'm just a boy living in the ghetto of Chicago and i never read, this book got me into reading. It's THAT GOOD. I just loved the emotion from the characters from the fear of the students at Central High to the love between Becca and Tom. So many high schoolers can somehow relate to this story. its easy to compare to because it somehow teaches how there are changes and how far it gets taken. And how major changes can make students react in different ways. Also, how easy something can be taken away from you. You learn to aprreciate what you got before its gone. It's just great and perfect. Because you never know whats going to happen After.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    After reading the book

    I believe this book was amazingly gripping, kind of like the murder mysteries. I would definitely recommend this book to anybody, though I do not recommend for younger children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    Great!

    This book was a satisfying one. Really, it was. It held my attention the whole time. There was always something that the author wasn't telling me, and I was always keen on finding out what that was. And the plot was amazing! It intrigued me a lot. Everything was just written so well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    Awesome.

    This book is awesome. It's sort of creepy how close our government comes to this. I know that when we visit Columbine there isn't our school's grief and crisis counselor calling our dad's cell phone, however he may have gotten it, and saying, 'We need to talk about your inapropriate interest in Columbine.' But you know, I love how it gives details and a little bit more than hints at a secret government, -- a conspiracy theory, if you will. I absolutely loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2006

    Outstanding

    I had to read this book for school I thought it would boring. Towards the 3rd chapter i thought this book wasn't bad I thought the whole mystery was great To bad there is no volumes to the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2005

    Great book

    Probably one of the best, or even THE best book I have ever read. Reflects so much on what our society is coming to, starting with a shooting at a high school. This book shows how when something horrible happens, the loners, drug addicts, and unnoticed people are always blamed. Those that commited the shootings were never noticed by their peers... so that must mean that anyone who is invisible to the world is a homicidal maniac. Yes, that is right! What a stupid cliche. This book perfectly depicts the measures people will go to to protect themselves at all costs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2005

    Greatest book I ever readBud

    This book was the best I have ever read it really showed me to treat others well so they won`t come and shoot you dead. I could really picture the pain of loosing friends. And having a crazed phy. at your school taking over.And I put myself in there shoes and thought how would I feel if this guy just came to my school and took over and then going to take my favorite color{red} and say that I can't were it no more who does he think he is the president. This book really made me think of tragedies that go on at schools everywhere. I recamend that you should pick it up sometime cause I couldn`t put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2005

    wicked good

    This is one of my fav books. I couldn't put it down. At first I wasn't happy with the ending, but now I look at it as the author allowing us to decide what happens next instead of telling us outright.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2005

    REALLY GOOD!

    This book was one of the best ones I've read in a while. Some of the things that happened in the book were far-fetched (brainwashing e-mails?) but the way it was written made it seem possible. Overall, the story was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2005

    Chilling

    A brilliant novel, After terrified me to the core. With it's reality and perfect portrayal of real high school students, one might almost believe they were reading straight from fifteen year old Tom Bishop's mind. Being the speed-reader I am, I swallowed the book in a night, and spent the next ten minutes shivering in fear in my bed at the prospect of an event such as the one described in the book really happening at my high school. It was possible, and even more so, it was plausible, and that made the story even more terrifying. This is a book, I believe, that tells a tale of what we do not want to happen to us anytime in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2005

    Makes you wonder...

    Wow it has been quite some time that I've read a book this good. I think the age level needs to go up a little as someone else said. I hope there's a sequel eventually. It really makes you wonder. I find myself in class looking for cameras. I REALLY want to know what happened to everyone! YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2005

    'After' Reading

    This book was awesome, reading it was no waste of time. Though the age group suggested was 9-12 i would suggest slightly older, not because of the difficulty level, but because of the happenings. I'm 13 and this book is almost to 'scary' for me. It has a lot of situations that i would never want to be in in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2005

    After

    Awesome.. nothing else can possibly describe this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    After

    This is probably the best book i've ever read in my entire life... it was so good. i also thought it was a bit scary how dr.willner watched the kids so close... like on the bus, how he had it bugged so he could hear and see what the kids were doing. if that happened on my bus, i would freak! i thought the ending was a bit sudden, but good, the only think i would change is telling what happened to silas and avery. i wonder how they could brainwash the parents by sending e-mails.... also, i want to know what happened to the social studies teahcer. i guess that was the point of the book, to keep u wondering. it's the best book ever...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2005

    You can't put it down once you begin reading!

    I read this book in one setting and immediately knew my students would love this book. I took it into my classroom and presented it to my students. My most talkative class immediately begged me to start reading it aloud. They are quiet as mice as I read aloud to them now. If I only would have found this book in September.....HA! This book has many text-to-life connections and many opportunities for cross-curricular learning. This book definitely gets kids reading and keeps them interested. Wonderful writing that kept me guessing what would happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3