Customer Reviews for

After Dark

Average Rating 3
( 1979 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(449)

4 Star

(299)

3 Star

(449)

2 Star

(339)

1 Star

(443)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

An Exciting Read

At only 9 pages, After Dark is a short, quick read with an underlying story that you've probably heard to some extent before. The story was well written, and descriptive. The quick introduction set the scene very well, and provided a good mental image that set the sta...
At only 9 pages, After Dark is a short, quick read with an underlying story that you've probably heard to some extent before. The story was well written, and descriptive. The quick introduction set the scene very well, and provided a good mental image that set the stage for the coming events.

After Dark starts a little slow as it pants the scene, but quickly gains pace and builds excitement as the events quickly unfold. The story deals with some situations that could be considered mature and also includes some strong violence, so keep that in mind when deciding if you would allow younger readers to read this story.

I definitely recommend this story to anyone looking for a quick and exciting read to pass some time, perhaps at a doctor's office, or waiting for food to cook, whatever suits your time needs.

posted by BlueViper on July 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

132 out of 151 people found this review helpful.

Short book!

Eight pages?! I downloaded this twice - all I got were eight pages! Don't waste your time with this.

posted by 2727563 on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 443 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 23
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    waste of time

    this should have a caption stating "short story written by a college freshman"

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    I think I'm being ripped off?

    We're just looking at buying a Nook-Color. B&N Claims to have free books available to down load. So I went to the free Nook-books and downloaded this to my PC to check out the claims. I went through all the rigamarole to set up my PC to receive it. (The same as I would have to do if I had a Nook.) That wasn't an easy process by any means. Then I FINALLY got everything set up so I could download the "book".

    It was all of 9 pages. A teaser? No where in the book description could I see that it was only nine pages. So, if you want to get a real, complete book you gotta fork over the $$$$$

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    Don't Recommend - only 9 pages

    Story line to short. Where is rest of book! Tired of downloading books only to find out they are 5-15 pages long. Please B&N give us full length books. I'm looking at other book sites and ereaders. This service is bad! Give us the number of pages of the book before downloading.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What is it?

    I kept looking for it to say "sample" somewhere...but it never did! Sorely disappointed with nine pages! Good beginnings of a possibly strong storyline but geesh, what a letdown!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Short

    This free download was only 9 pages long with two of the pages the cover page and the publishing info. Of course being only 9 pages long there was no story plot, no depth of characters. Basicly just a an action scene. I would not waiste your space or time on this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    G

    Gghgh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    After Dark

    Way too short more like a sample, and too much unnecessary curse words!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    I hate it

    Complete waste of time to much swears

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    After dark

    Thi was boring! Good but way to short. I mean what happen next? There are so many things that could happen when the book ends but we will never know?
    -M

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Too short but would make a great book

    Stupid being so short but i would love it if he make a full length novel...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    dont bother and if i could it would have no stars

    i cant beleive someone would call this a book.. they are right it would have been a great book if it was more then ten pages. forreal why would the writer do that it wasnts even a mini book.. im just glad i didnt pay for it because i would have been po

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No. Just no.

    Everone is milking vampires and warewolves now! Its not even cool eneymore!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    NOT WORTH YOUR TIME!!!

    Don't bother even bother to buy it. Total waste of space.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Waste of space even for free book

    Only 20 pages! Thought I would be getting a book not a teaser that ends in the middle of the second chapter (est). Dont waste your time. Check out Alexa O'Brian instead much better and so far i have gotten full books.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    ?

    Seriously?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    What is going on

    Well I got hooked into this book which starts of great and then I find out there are there are only 20pgs.... This is a leand me book not sample. Someone please fix this... I would like to read the rest.
    M.Turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    WHAT?!?!?

    Would be a really good book if there were more pages. This is apparently just a preveiw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This seemed more like a "sample" than an e-book since

    This seemed more like a "sample" than an e-book since it was maybe a chapter from an actual novel (??). Don't waste your time with this version, wait to see if there is an actual book later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Horible

    I like long books this is not it is realy good then blam it endz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Terrible

    WARNING! WARNING! DO NOT GET UNDER ANY SURCUMSTANCES! TOO SHORT! NOT WORTH IT! ONLY 8 PAGES! WASTE OF TIME! Was pretty good but is not enough should not even be on the market!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 443 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 23