Customer Reviews for

After Dark: The Darkest Angel\Shadow Hunter

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Sherbert to Viper

    Please come to my office at daily res 16

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    The Darkest Angel ~ Gena Showalter Well Gena always jumps right

    The Darkest Angel ~ Gena Showalter

    Well Gena always jumps right in and keeps your attention.

    What better way then to play with fire.

    Lysander despises Bianka yet he can’t stop looking at her.
    Would she feel as soft as she looks, get that out of my head he says
    more than once but when he captures her and brings her back to his home,
    he gets more than he bargains for.

    Bianca – Carefree and looking for a good time. Hanging with her sister Kaia one minute and the next she is in the arms of a beautiful creature.

    He says he needs to teach her how to be good, boy is he in for a treat

    She will be good….so good he might not know what to do with her.

    The passion building between them both confuses and excites them both.

    What to do?

    Ecellent read!!

    Shadow Hunter ~ Kait Ballenger

    I want to start off by saying this series is going to be a keeper!

    I always want to give a new author and series a chance and I’m
    glad that Kait was coupled with Gena , whom is my favorite author.

    Kait Ballenger has a great aspect of what paranormal romance is.
    Her story keeps building as you read on and her characters are strong.

    Damon and Tiffany were pen pals sorta speak at a time when they both needed
    someone to talk to . Damon worked with Tiffany’s brother Mark in the
    Execution Underground, a vampire hunter special team unknown to most
    people. That’s how they came to write to each other.

    Although they never met face to face their feelings grew during their letters
    But when Mark was suddenly killed in a mission and Damon didn’t save him
    Tiffany has never forgiven him.
    Damon comes face to face with Tiffany but she doesn’t know it’s him.
    He only knows it’s her from the picture Mark has shown him of her.
    One thing leads to another and they share a kiss and sparks fly.

    Should he tell her who he is or keep it a mystery?

    Tiffany is on a mission of her own. When she finds out her brother is dead,
    She decided she will find the vampire who gave the orders to kill Mark and kill him herself. But when the tall dark man shows up and they share a electrifying kiss, she
    wishes it was “B” for Brock his last name (the name Damon used in his letters) her pen pal who she fell in love with.

    When Tiffany figures out Damon is her “B” she can’t believe she finally kissed him
    and he is here and is trying to find the killer also . They team up and the trouble is
    just getting started.

    They find the killer and more information on the vampires, and not good news.

    Kait leaves us with a cliffhanger and you better believe I’m reading the next installment
    Twilight Hunter asap!!

    Add this to your list of great new series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Sweet Death

    Sweetie flew in. It was dark. Suddenly, something attacked her. She unsheathed Hope. "Who's there?!" Snarled the dranicorn ultima. An unicorn looked up at her. "I'm Dark Midnight." She said nervously. "I-I was suppose to as<_>sassinate somepony as part of my training with Princess Bloodfire." "Bloodfire is dead." Sweet Death said. The unicorn mare stepped out into the light. Dark Midnight is black with red eyes, with a crescent moon with two crossed katanas as a CM. "Then who will train me? I don't want to be evil. But I felt I had no choice but to become a student of Bloodfire." Sweetie said "I will. Come with me to Ponyville." She picked up Dark Midnight with her claws and flew to Ponyville.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    Shadow Hunter (Execution Underground 0.5) Shadow Hunter is a p


    Shadow Hunter (Execution Underground 0.5)

    Shadow Hunter is a promising start to the Execution Underground (EU) by Kait Ballenger.

    Damon Brock is one of the Execution Underground best men he has taken an oath to protect the humans from the dangerous creatures that lurk and seek to harm them. Damon has been tracking the person responsible for taking his closest friend and partner Mark. Locating him in Rochester Damon has requested a transfer to seek his own justice for Mark and the sister he left behind.

    Tiffany Solow lost everything the day her brother was killed not only did she lose the only family she had left she also lost the man who captured her heart in a letter. Now determined to find the person responsible she has inserted herself into the seedy underground of Rochester.

    The closer Damon gets to Mark's killer the stranger things become and when he comes face to face with his best friends sister things are about to take a turn. Determined not only to get justice for his friend, Damon must also try to keep Tiffany safe and with things happening that can't be explained there are no guarantees he will be able to do either.

    I enjoyed reading Shadow Hunter and look forward to reading Twilight Hunter book 1 of the Execution Underground.

    Reviewing with Book Monster Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    TWO AWESOME Novellas in After Dark!  FIVE STARS to Both!!!! I'm

    TWO AWESOME Novellas in After Dark!  FIVE STARS to Both!!!!

    I'm a huge fan of Gena Showalter's Lords of the Underworld series and knew I couldn't miss The Darkest Angel, Lysander's story. If you are a fan of the Lords, you will be in for a treat with this entry. Lysander hasn't exactly endeared himself to me as he's been a goody-goody with the Lords. I'm so glad that Bianka finally gave him a come-uppance! There were some laugh-out-loud moments that I will treasure. AND a GREAT ENDING! Thank you, Gena, for another winner!




    Then... I also thoroughly enjoyed Shadow Hunter by Kait Ballenger! She is a new author for me and I can guarantee that I will be reading more books by her! LOL! In fact, Twilight Hunter, the 1st full book in her Execution Underground series, is already on my nightstand waiting for me. Damon Brock is a vampire hunter with the EU (Execution Underground). He is still reeling from the death of his good friend, Mark, during a recent raid. Damon has made a promise to himself to take down the vamp who was responsible for his friend's death. While pursuing that goal, Damon meets Tiffany in a private room in Club Fantasy and neither of their lives will ever be the same. This novella begins the story of Damon and Tiffany and ends with a cliffhanger that will be resolved later in a book devoted to both of them. I LOVED Damon and can hardly wait for their story to be told!




    Bottomline: TWO AWESOME novellas in After Dark. 5 stars to both!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There are two novellas in this book and I'm only reviewing Shado

    There are two novellas in this book and I'm only reviewing Shadow Hunter (Execution Underground #0.5) by Kait Ballenger.

    I love paranormal romance! I actually started reading urban fantasy novels but for me, UF was missing the extra bit of romance I was looking for in my books. Give me a book that's 50% urban fantasy and 50% romance and I'm completely ga-ga over the moon and I won't be out of the house for days.

    I'm a big, fat fan of long running series such as Larissa Ione's Demonica, Kresley Cole's Immortals After Dark and Gena Showalter's Lords of the Underworld. So when a call went out for help promoting Kait Ballenger&quot;s debut story, all I had to do was see that she's published with Ms. Showalter and slam dunk, sign me up!!! I'll help the cause. Because if the story is even close to the greatness that is Ms. Showalter, I'll have no problems standing behind a review for Ms. Ballenger's story.

    So wasn't I totally surprised by the depth of story and the world building Ms. Ballenger managed to squeeze in to this introduction to her new world, Execution Underground? This novella was a spectacular way to start off her series. A sweet, shorter story so readers don't have to invest too much time into the world. But I was completely sucked in and left dangling at the end screaming, &quot;More!! Don't stop now!!!&quot; Here's my reasons why I'm loving this debut PNR author...

    Characters

    First, let me share with you a very cool thing that Ms. Ballenger did when she sent out the uncorrected proofs of her story for review. She wrote a little letter entitled &quot;Dear Reader&quot; that explains how she came about structuring the series and why the stories are the way they. Here's the letter, reproduced with Ms. Ballenger's permission, in its entirety:

    --------------------------------------
    Dear Reader,

    In the upcoming pages you'll find a prequel to my paranormal romance series, the Execution Underground, about an international organization of elite men, hunters of the supernatural who fight to protect humanity from the evil lurking after dark. The prequel, SHADOW HUNTER, is the story of Damon Brock, vampire hunter and founder of the Rochester division of the clandestine organization. When the hunters of the Rochester division first came to me, the attitude I received from Damon's character simply said: &quot;piss off, lady&quot;...not surprising that Damon became the last member on my roster for the order of the six novels.

    In September 2013, TWILIGHT HUNTER, the first full length novel in the series featuring werewolf hunter Jace McCannon, debuts. I intended TWILIGHT HUNTER to be the beginning of the series, but when Harlequin approached me with the offer to fill the remaining section of this anthology with a prequel I jumped at the chance. With the help of some whom had already read TWILIGHT HUNTER, the thought of a prequel, the pre-story of Damon, the elusive badass we see brief glimpses of within Jace's novel arose. Though I never wanted to showcase Damon's soft side which you will see in this short novel, the more I told Damon's origin story, the more his character opened up. Now, I can't wait to tell the rest of his story and I hope once you finish reading his prequel, you'll be equally as excited, too.

    Though his full novel will still be last in the series, Damon's metamorphosis is intertwined within the stories of his fellow hunters. I hope that reading SHADOW HUNTER before the other novels in the series will reveal that to you in the way I've always seen it, and I hope Damon's story brings you all the smiles, laughs, gasps, and tears it gave me. Thanks so much for reading. I'm blessed to be able to share this with you.

    Sincerely, Kait Ballenger
    -----------------------------------------

    So we have Damon, who has just arrived in Rochester, NY to avenge the death of his best friend. He blames himself for his best friend's death but ultimately, it was a vampire who killed Damon's fellow hunter on the Execution Underground. Damon seems to be one of those guys who has always had a tortured soul and blames everything wrong that happens around him on himself. He's a big, tall drink of sexy and pretty much lives a loner existence.

    Damon runs into Tiffany at a nightclub where he's trying to apprehend the vampire who killed or played a part in killing Damon's best friend, Mark. Unfortunately (or fortunately, depending how you're looking at the whole mess), so is Tiffany and they end up running into each other quite literally.

    Tiffany is great as a protagonist because she's both young and gutsy but at the same time intelligent in her hunting skills. She doesn't have any of the super human strength that Damon has but she can think quick on her feet. She is vulnerable and sensitive, too. She's never kissed a boy before, let alone done &quot;other things&quot; with them. She's been too busy hunting vampires, avenging her family's death, and going to college. A girl's gotta have priorities I guess :)

    Story / World Building / Tempo

    The story behind this couple is quite cool - Damon and Tiff have &quot;met&quot; in the past but have never &quot;met&quot; in person. Damon figures out who Tiff is and tries to steer clear of Tiff but of course that's impossible for young love *sigh*. Through a series of &quot;not telling the entire truth&quot;-s, their lives become more and more wrapped up and it all comes down to that final battle every reader wants in a great PNR story.

    Honestly, this ending threw me for a loop and a half . We're talking non-stop story, no lulls, all the way until we're down to the very last sentence in the story. So much story for such a little &quot;story&quot;, novella style. So worth it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Anything by Showalter!

    As usual, Ms. Showalter delivers. I have yet to read anything written by her that I didn't absolutely love. She carries me away to a better place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    I loved Shadow Hunter. This prequel to the upcoming Execution Un

    I loved Shadow Hunter.
    This prequel to the upcoming Execution Underground series gives you just a taste of what’s to come, and what’s coming is going to be great.  You meet Damon and Tiffany as they try to let go of the past to find each other while kicking major vampire butt. 
    I enjoyed this book immensely and cannot wait for Twilight Hunter to get here.  


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book has 2 separate stories from 2 different authors and I

    This book has 2 separate stories from 2 different authors and I am reviewing Shadow Hunter (Execution Underground #0.5) by Kait Ballenger. This is the prequel to Kait's Execution Underground series.

    Shadow Hunter features Vampire Hunter Damon Brock who works for the elite secret organization known as the Execution Underground and is out for blood for the death of his partner. Tiffany Solow is a woman who knows how to kick some ass and looking for revenge for her brothers death. She is also his dead partners sister!

    The book started a tad slow but soon picked up speed. The two of them work together to try and kill the head vampire while having some steamy chemistry! I loved reading the back story and learning about Damon and Tiffany story. The fight scenes were great as were the seduction scenes! Just be warned...the book ends with one heck of a cliffhanger that literally has you dying for more!

    Twilight Hunger which is book #1 in the series comes out August 27th!

    Rating - 4 1/2 potion bottles!

    Froggy
    Froggarita's Bookcase
    *I received this book for free for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a review of Shadow Hunter by Kait Ballenger. Wow! Balle

    This is a review of Shadow Hunter by Kait Ballenger.

    Wow! Ballenger shows a lot of promise with this explosive series-opener to the Execution Underground sequence. I am not normally a reader of paranormal romance but I could not put this book down. Ballenger saturates her characters with heartfelt, realistic emotion, which gives them real depth. And she tortures them, oh how she tortures them. The pained brooding of lead character Damon Brock is completely understandable given his tumultuous past and the roguish nature of Tiffany ignites the page as she tries to avenge the brutal murder of her family. The sparks fly as the two meet and their mutual history of untold romance eventually comes to light. Their differences and love for one another collide as they try to satisfy their own personal vendettas while at the same time attempt to foil a sinister vampire conspiracy. And that ending! Don't get me started on the whopper she leaves the reader with! I'll just say I simply cannot wait until the resumption of Damon and Tiffany's story later in the series (there will be a full-length novel dedicated to it later on). Every page crackles with sexual tension, violence, and intrigue. The sex scenes are scorching and the fight scenes are white-knuckle. Infused with wry humor and a powerful sense of place (the setting of Rochester, NY is extremely well-established and detailed), Shadow Hunter wins at every turn. I will definitely be pre-ordering a copy of the first full-length novel of the Execution Underground (Twilight Hunter) when it comes out in August.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent start to a new series by Kait, and nice novella for Lords of the Underground series. Both STEAMY!

    The Darkest Angel:
    We have two POV's in this story; Lysander and Bianka. I love the two. Lysander is the 'innocent' and Bianka is the experienced one in this world. I like the reversal of roles here. Bianka and her wild ways, I loved listening to her and her twin Kaia talk. They are to fun. But she has one serious thing she'd like to do one day. For a Harpy, it's unheard of.

    Gena takes us along as Bianka teasers Lysander to the brink of explosion. Each time Lysander comes closer to falling - what he is fighting so hard to avoid - into Bianka's arms. Bianka is wonderful. She knows exactly how to torment Lysander and reads him so well. Yet, it seems Bianka might find she is more attracted to Lysander with all her efforts to leave his cloud home that's become her prison.

    This world feels rich and full. One that feels like I should experience more of. I loved the creation with the play on angels and demons and everything between. There is a lot to the characters here, and I want to meet all that were mentioned and more. I will have to try this series by Gena because from what I'm seeing here, I think I'll enjoy the world and it's blended with Romance too.

    Shadow Hunter:
    We are introduced to the Execution Underground and their ways in this novella. By the end, you know who the crew is that will be working the area and ready to pick up in the first full length novel, Twilight Hunter. Rochester is becoming the hot spot for Supernatural activity of all kinds, as Damon is seeing first hand. And now is a new place to have a crew for Execution Underground to control and eliminate the threats.

    We have two POV's in this story; Damon and Tiffany. Romance GALORE with Damon here! Sweet. Hot. And Sexy! Mhmm, delicious tale with Damon. I enjoy him and Tiffany. Two people who didn't want partners find it might help to work together to accomplish their goal - to kill a powerful ancient Vampire.

    This is a romance. I liked that there is a connection between the main characters. There is an immediate desire, but there is a great tidbit of history (unknown to one - you'll have to read to understand why) to build on. I like when there feels to be something deeper in relationships in romances, and Kait has nailed it perfectly for me. The attraction heats and pulls us along with them.

    I enjoyed the little things about vampires that were played with and explained, to make the myth of vampires the authors own. Here, Kait describes the rules and creates her world, setting the rules to play with and around.

    I enjoyed this romance story. Sex, fighting, growth to a starts of a new world and characters. What more can I ask? I'll be following this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    This review is for the novella Shadow Hunter by Kait Ballenger.

    This review is for the novella Shadow Hunter by Kait Ballenger.

    Don’t you just love that feeling you get when you finish a book and you realize that you have found a new favorite author? Because that is the feeling I got when I finished this very enjoyable novella! The plot and the characters totally dragged me into their world and I can’t wait to go back again.

    Damon Brock is a part of Execution Underground, a group of vampire hunters who protect humans from the hungry vampires. Now that his closest friend has been killed he has sworn revenge on one of the oldest vampires in New York. Unfortunately Damon is not the only after this vampire. Now he must protect Tiffany from getting hurt all the while trying his best not to fall in love with her.

    Now there is a huge, huge cliffhanger at the end but never fear! The next book, Twilight Hunter, will be coming out in September! So you (and I) won’t have a long wait to see what happens next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Stars ~This UTC Team Review is also posted at Under the Cove

    4.5 Stars
    ~This UTC Team Review is also posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    “Funny, yes. Cute and romantic, yes. HOT, absolutely. And … totally memorable” ~Under the Covers

    Shadow Hunter by Kait Ballenger

    I was pleasantly surprised of how good this novella turned out to be. Shadow Hunter is the prequel for Execution Underground but not one time that this book felt like it was a prequel. The author’s execution of a good world building and character build up was awesome. Ms. Ballenger delivered a good blend of action, suspense and an ending that will have you panting for more. This author certainly captured my attention and believe me, I will be keeping an eye out for more of her work.

    Damon Brock and Tiffany Solow had several things in common. First is the loss of a loved one. Tiffany’s brother, also Brock’s best friend was killed by a vampire. Unfortunately, Mark’s death is not something neither of them can forget. They also have the same drive to seek out revenge. Brock continues to work for Execution Underground waiting for the opportunity to kill his friend’s murderer. And Tiffany’s goals are the same but has become an undercover vampire hunter. Fate has a funny way of bringing them together. As the infected vampires and deaths are on the rise, they will end up working side by side toward the same goal but ultimately to revenge Mark’s death.

    I really like Damon and Tiffany. Damon is a classic hero who is strong physically and mentally, very sexy and respects a woman who is just as strong. And Tiffany is equally strong. I mean this girl can kick ass and has balls bigger than most man I know. Their relationship was cute and heartfelt throughout the book until the story took a turn at the end. I honestly didn’t expect a tearful and jaw dropping end. By the way this book ended, gave me the impression that this series will be of UF genre. But looking at Twilight Hunter’s blurb, looks like Execution Underground is PNR. I have not had much interaction with the author and I have not had any discussions with anyone about this book, so, I’m not really sure, but damn it, I am hoping to get more of Damon and Tiffany. I know that this is not…CANNOT be the end of their story. If the rest of the books from Ms. Ballenger are as good as this prequel, She will most definitely be added to my favorite authors list.

    The Darkest Angel by Gena Showalter

    The harpies are my favorite females in this series, well with the exception of Anya, of course. The Darkest Angel is the story of how Bianka and Lysander got together. We’ve known from the series books they are a couple, but how did a harpy manage to get with an Angel?

    I think these two could’ve gotten their own book, they were certainly amazing together and I would’ve loved to see their relationship more developed. But what we got was full of humor, tensions, battles of will and naughtiness.

    Lysander wants to convert Bianka from her evil and impure ways. So he decides he will kidnap her and bring her to his home, in a cloud, keep her there, and teach her how to be good. Not counting on the fact that he wants her too much, and he can’t help it if she affects him in ways he doesn’t even understand. What are these feelings? How can he deal with them? Well, maybe he shouldn’t. And he leaves her alone in his house for long periods at a time.

    This just makes Bianka furious. Doesn’t he know that a harpy can’t even eat or drink unless she steals! There’s nothing for her to steal, how is she going to survive? And why is her traitorous body warming at the mere sight of the Angel.

    Funny, yes. Cute and romantic, yes. HOT, absolutely. And … totally memorable. Let’s just say if you’ve ever thought about Paris half naked in a mud fight with another hot half naked guy, then you have to read this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An enthralling new paranormal romance debut that leaves you crav

    An enthralling new paranormal romance debut that leaves you craving more! {Shadow Hunter by Kait Ballenger}

     **Please note this review is only for Shadow Hunter by Kait Ballenger in the After Dark Anthology**
    As a member of an elite group of supernatural assassins, vampire hunter Damon Brock's newest assignment leads him to Rochester, NY, a city infested with vampires. Seeking vengeance for his best friend and partner's murder is the only motivation he needs to carry out this mission. What he doesn't plan on is coming face to face with another vampire hunter, Tiffany Solow, the woman who stole his heart a long time ago and will make him fall all over again, in the midst of a potential zombie-vampire apocalypse!
    Kait Ballenger wastes no time delving right into an action packed story that keeps you turning the page with anticipation. The world building is rich in detail and the characters draw you in with their genuine personalities and struggles. The author packs the quality of a full sized novel into a short installment without sacrificing the plot or character development. A bit of sprinkled humor adds a lighter feel to the story which I really enjoyed. Another reason to love this book? It takes place in my home state of NY!
    Tiffany and Damon are pretty a kick ass couple! She's young but courageous, outspoken and can hold her own in a world of only male hunters. Watching her stand up to an alpha male like Damon makes Tiffany a worthy heroine. While I didn't love the &quot;virgin aspect&quot; of her character, I understand why the author chose that path after reading the history between her and Damon...it was a little sweet, actually.
    Damon Brock...that name says it all, doesn't it?! He's powerful, loyal and sexy as hell! He has a tortured soul vibe but without the major damage. Damon is a swoon-worthy hero who charms his way into your heart in just a few chapters with his gentlemanly ways and passionate nature, he's the best of both worlds. One minute he's killing vampires and the next he's being affectionate with his lady love. I couldn't help but compare him to one of my fave TV characters, the gorgeous, bad-ass Dean Winchester from Supernatural...yes ladies, I went there!
    The romance between Tiffany and Damon might seem like insta-love, but these two share a history over years that makes their attraction believable. Both characters are stubborn, but their love and passion for each other is unmistakable. Kait satisfies my love of a sexy romance with a couple of smexy scenes that leave you in need of a cold shower...let's just say Damon's vampire hunting skills are nothing compared to his bedroom skills!
    Shadow Hunter is a story packed with emotion, kick ass vampire hunters, villains and a forbidden romance. I have to say I had an inkling of what might happen towards the end of the book, but I was not expecting the cliffhanger that leaves you floored and shaking your fist in the air (even when the author warns you!)! My hat goes off to Ms. Ballenger for keeping me guessing and not delivering a picture perfecting happily ever after, it just means we get another look at Tiffany and Damon's story down the road. If this sensational debut is any indication of what's to come in the series, I'm sold! Now that I've met Damon, I'm more than ready to get to know the rest of the dangerous hotness that is the Execution Underground!
    {I received a complimentary copy of this book by the author, in exchange for an honest review.}

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Damon is on the hunt for the head vampire who killed his partner

    Damon is on the hunt for the head vampire who killed his partner, Mark. However, when he tracks down the bloodsucker, he finds Mark's little sister acting as a potential feeding host. She's no longer the teenager he used to write letters to. She's hunting her brother's killer and will do anything to seek revenge, even if it means putting her life on the line.

    I don't know why but I'm always a fan of the best friend's little sister stories. This one had a fun twist to it though. Damon and Mark were Hunters together and in an attempt to help Damon release some pent up emotions, Mark gets his little sister to start writing Damon. Pretty soon the two of them are close pen pals but neither of them have met. So fast forward to the present time, Mark was killed in action, Tiffany blames Damon for not saving him and Damon agrees with her assessment. When these two meet, she has no clue that her brother's partner &quot;B&quot; is the same man standing in front of her and of course Damon isn't going to be forthcoming with that information. However, they have a common goal and that is to take down the vampire responsible for Mark's death. So they team up to try to take this vampire down, while becoming closer in the process.

    Even though this is a novella that sets up the Execution Underground series, there was a lot going on. We got to understand the characters, the world that they live in as well as get a grasp for the stage that Kait is setting. This series isn't going to revolve around just vampires, the EU handles all things supernatural and apparently there is a whole butt load of supes in Rochester, NY.

    &quot;I hate to tell you this, but Rochester is swamped with supernatural predators. There are reported werewolf sightings, possibly a full-on pack, there are demons lodged so deep the people they've possessed are pretty much done for, there are several small witch covens, loads of non-wereworlf shifters-oh, and that's not even including all the poltergeists and ghosts reported in the old abandoned asylum.&quot;

    So with all the action taking place in Rochester, Damon finds himself appointed team leader and will soon be getting a team of Hunters to help him handle all the things that go bump in the night. If the prequel is anything to go off of, this is going to be an amazing series. I'm so glad I found out about this debut author. The whole story was captivating, from the intense fight scenes to the seductive bedroom scenes. If you are a fan of paranormal romance than this is an absolute must. I personally cannot wait to read more of not only the EU series but anything that Kait comes out with.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I only read Shadow Hunter by Kati Ballenger.  Set Up: Supes are

    I only read Shadow Hunter by Kati Ballenger.  Set Up: Supes are unknown by humans with the exception of the Execution Underground, think special ops warriors that hunt all kinds of supes.




    Hero: Damon is a member of the Execution Underground and it specializes in hunting vampires. And he is Über sexy! He is looking for one bloodsucker that killed his partner. When he finds where the vamp is, he hopes to not run into her.




    Heroine: The her being, Tiffany. Tiffany is the little sister of Damon's dead partner. The two wrote letters to each other for years as part of a program the EU forces on their warriors when they are in need of making a personal connection so that they don't go all killer. Damon chooses Tiffany as his &quot;pen pal&quot; since she is the little sister of his partner, thinking she will be a safe choice since she was only 16 at the time.




    I also like that the heroine is no whiny chick. After the death of her brother she starts hunting vamps in hope of killing the bloodsucker that caused her brother's death.




    What I liked: I liked that Damon and Tiffany had a connection that was built over a few years. So it's believable that they are in love with each other. We don't get that instant-a-love thing. We do get instant-a-lust the first time they meet face to face. 




    What I wasn't too crazy about: Another 22 year old virgin. (eye roll) After reading Tiffany and Damon's story I guess it's plausible that she could still be a virgin at 22 when you see that she is in love with Damon before she even meets him. No other man peaks her interest so it' could be that she is subconsciously saving herself for Damon.




    Will I read this author again? Yeah. I'm looking forward to reading Twilight Hunter and I hope we get answers to the cliffhanger we're left with at the end of Shadow Hunter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    Great start to a new series:   Shadow Hunter is part of an antho

    Great start to a new series:   Shadow Hunter is part of an anthology called AFTER DARK with Gena Showalter and Kait Ballenger. Shadow Hunter is Kait's storyline featuring Vampire Hunter Damon Brock and Tiffany Solow-a woman he has loved from afar but never really knew.
    Damon Brock has been desperate to prove himself worthy of the title vampire hunter, but when his best friend and fellow hunter at the Execution Underground was killed while on assignment, Damon cannot compete with his own guilt. Feeling he has betrayed his best friend, Damon makes it his mission to hunt down the vampire who struck down Mark Solow. And the last person Damon ever thought he would meet on assignment was Tiffany Solow-Mark's little sister-all grown up and hunting the vampire who took her brother's life. When Damon discovers Tiffany's plans, he must decide whether to reveal the truth about his identity and relationship to Mark or continue to hide behind a cold façade of anger and pain.
    Meanwhile there is a string of vampire killings that resemble something similar to zombie feasts. With no explanation, Tiffany and Damon seek out known vampire haunts and discover that the mysterious zombie-like behavior plaguing new vampires may not be a naturally occurring event. Hoping to take down one of the oldest vampires, Tiffany puts her life on the line and in doing so, discovers the truth behind the origins of the vampire virus.
    The relationship between Damon and Tiffany begins as one of disdain and animosity then friends to lovers. When Damon discovers that Tiffany is willing to risk her life to take down the vampire who killed her brother, his hopes and fears for his best friend's sister turns Damon into both protector and warrior. But Damon holds back a few secrets from Tiff, and if those secrets were revealed, Damon believes his relationship with Tiff would never be the same.
    SHADOW HUNTER is a well-written, fascinating and amazing storyline that introduces the premise behind Execution Underground and the men and women who risk their lives fighting the supernatural creatures that stalk the human world. Kait's fantasy world of vampire hunters and the undead they seek had me reading until the very end- and oh, what an ending it was. I hope to learn more about what happens to Damon and Tiff-but the ending was heart breaking and painful to read.
    see all of my reviews at :thereadingcafe(dot)com

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    A great start to Ballenger's Execution Underground series and an

    A great start to Ballenger's Execution Underground series and another great tale from Showalter's Lords of the Underworld!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2