Customer Reviews for

After Dark: The Darkest Angel\Shadow Hunter

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Sherbert to Viper

    Please come to my office at daily res 16

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    The Darkest Angel ~ Gena Showalter Well Gena always jumps right

    The Darkest Angel ~ Gena Showalter

    Well Gena always jumps right in and keeps your attention.

    What better way then to play with fire.

    Lysander despises Bianka yet he can’t stop looking at her.
    Would she feel as soft as she looks, get that out of my head he says
    more than once but when he captures her and brings her back to his home,
    he gets more than he bargains for.

    Bianca – Carefree and looking for a good time. Hanging with her sister Kaia one minute and the next she is in the arms of a beautiful creature.

    He says he needs to teach her how to be good, boy is he in for a treat

    She will be good….so good he might not know what to do with her.

    The passion building between them both confuses and excites them both.

    What to do?

    Ecellent read!!

    Shadow Hunter ~ Kait Ballenger

    I want to start off by saying this series is going to be a keeper!

    I always want to give a new author and series a chance and I’m
    glad that Kait was coupled with Gena , whom is my favorite author.

    Kait Ballenger has a great aspect of what paranormal romance is.
    Her story keeps building as you read on and her characters are strong.

    Damon and Tiffany were pen pals sorta speak at a time when they both needed
    someone to talk to . Damon worked with Tiffany’s brother Mark in the
    Execution Underground, a vampire hunter special team unknown to most
    people. That’s how they came to write to each other.

    Although they never met face to face their feelings grew during their letters
    But when Mark was suddenly killed in a mission and Damon didn’t save him
    Tiffany has never forgiven him.
    Damon comes face to face with Tiffany but she doesn’t know it’s him.
    He only knows it’s her from the picture Mark has shown him of her.
    One thing leads to another and they share a kiss and sparks fly.

    Should he tell her who he is or keep it a mystery?

    Tiffany is on a mission of her own. When she finds out her brother is dead,
    She decided she will find the vampire who gave the orders to kill Mark and kill him herself. But when the tall dark man shows up and they share a electrifying kiss, she
    wishes it was “B” for Brock his last name (the name Damon used in his letters) her pen pal who she fell in love with.

    When Tiffany figures out Damon is her “B” she can’t believe she finally kissed him
    and he is here and is trying to find the killer also . They team up and the trouble is
    just getting started.

    They find the killer and more information on the vampires, and not good news.

    Kait leaves us with a cliffhanger and you better believe I’m reading the next installment
    Twilight Hunter asap!!

    Add this to your list of great new series!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Sweet Death

    Sweetie flew in. It was dark. Suddenly, something attacked her. She unsheathed Hope. "Who's there?!" Snarled the dranicorn ultima. An unicorn looked up at her. "I'm Dark Midnight." She said nervously. "I-I was suppose to as<_>sassinate somepony as part of my training with Princess Bloodfire." "Bloodfire is dead." Sweet Death said. The unicorn mare stepped out into the light. Dark Midnight is black with red eyes, with a crescent moon with two crossed katanas as a CM. "Then who will train me? I don't want to be evil. But I felt I had no choice but to become a student of Bloodfire." Sweetie said "I will. Come with me to Ponyville." She picked up Dark Midnight with her claws and flew to Ponyville.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    TWO AWESOME Novellas in After Dark!  FIVE STARS to Both!!!! I'm

    TWO AWESOME Novellas in After Dark!  FIVE STARS to Both!!!!

    I'm a huge fan of Gena Showalter's Lords of the Underworld series and knew I couldn't miss The Darkest Angel, Lysander's story. If you are a fan of the Lords, you will be in for a treat with this entry. Lysander hasn't exactly endeared himself to me as he's been a goody-goody with the Lords. I'm so glad that Bianka finally gave him a come-uppance! There were some laugh-out-loud moments that I will treasure. AND a GREAT ENDING! Thank you, Gena, for another winner!




    Then... I also thoroughly enjoyed Shadow Hunter by Kait Ballenger! She is a new author for me and I can guarantee that I will be reading more books by her! LOL! In fact, Twilight Hunter, the 1st full book in her Execution Underground series, is already on my nightstand waiting for me. Damon Brock is a vampire hunter with the EU (Execution Underground). He is still reeling from the death of his good friend, Mark, during a recent raid. Damon has made a promise to himself to take down the vamp who was responsible for his friend's death. While pursuing that goal, Damon meets Tiffany in a private room in Club Fantasy and neither of their lives will ever be the same. This novella begins the story of Damon and Tiffany and ends with a cliffhanger that will be resolved later in a book devoted to both of them. I LOVED Damon and can hardly wait for their story to be told!




    Bottomline: TWO AWESOME novellas in After Dark. 5 stars to both!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Anything by Showalter!

    As usual, Ms. Showalter delivers. I have yet to read anything written by her that I didn't absolutely love. She carries me away to a better place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    I loved Shadow Hunter. This prequel to the upcoming Execution Un

    I loved Shadow Hunter.
    This prequel to the upcoming Execution Underground series gives you just a taste of what’s to come, and what’s coming is going to be great.  You meet Damon and Tiffany as they try to let go of the past to find each other while kicking major vampire butt. 
    I enjoyed this book immensely and cannot wait for Twilight Hunter to get here.  


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book has 2 separate stories from 2 different authors and I

    This book has 2 separate stories from 2 different authors and I am reviewing Shadow Hunter (Execution Underground #0.5) by Kait Ballenger. This is the prequel to Kait's Execution Underground series.

    Shadow Hunter features Vampire Hunter Damon Brock who works for the elite secret organization known as the Execution Underground and is out for blood for the death of his partner. Tiffany Solow is a woman who knows how to kick some ass and looking for revenge for her brothers death. She is also his dead partners sister!

    The book started a tad slow but soon picked up speed. The two of them work together to try and kill the head vampire while having some steamy chemistry! I loved reading the back story and learning about Damon and Tiffany story. The fight scenes were great as were the seduction scenes! Just be warned...the book ends with one heck of a cliffhanger that literally has you dying for more!

    Twilight Hunger which is book #1 in the series comes out August 27th!

    Rating - 4 1/2 potion bottles!

    Froggy
    Froggarita's Bookcase
    *I received this book for free for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a review of Shadow Hunter by Kait Ballenger. Wow! Balle

    This is a review of Shadow Hunter by Kait Ballenger.

    Wow! Ballenger shows a lot of promise with this explosive series-opener to the Execution Underground sequence. I am not normally a reader of paranormal romance but I could not put this book down. Ballenger saturates her characters with heartfelt, realistic emotion, which gives them real depth. And she tortures them, oh how she tortures them. The pained brooding of lead character Damon Brock is completely understandable given his tumultuous past and the roguish nature of Tiffany ignites the page as she tries to avenge the brutal murder of her family. The sparks fly as the two meet and their mutual history of untold romance eventually comes to light. Their differences and love for one another collide as they try to satisfy their own personal vendettas while at the same time attempt to foil a sinister vampire conspiracy. And that ending! Don't get me started on the whopper she leaves the reader with! I'll just say I simply cannot wait until the resumption of Damon and Tiffany's story later in the series (there will be a full-length novel dedicated to it later on). Every page crackles with sexual tension, violence, and intrigue. The sex scenes are scorching and the fight scenes are white-knuckle. Infused with wry humor and a powerful sense of place (the setting of Rochester, NY is extremely well-established and detailed), Shadow Hunter wins at every turn. I will definitely be pre-ordering a copy of the first full-length novel of the Execution Underground (Twilight Hunter) when it comes out in August.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Stars ~This UTC Team Review is also posted at Under the Cove

    4.5 Stars
    ~This UTC Team Review is also posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    “Funny, yes. Cute and romantic, yes. HOT, absolutely. And … totally memorable” ~Under the Covers

    Shadow Hunter by Kait Ballenger

    I was pleasantly surprised of how good this novella turned out to be. Shadow Hunter is the prequel for Execution Underground but not one time that this book felt like it was a prequel. The author’s execution of a good world building and character build up was awesome. Ms. Ballenger delivered a good blend of action, suspense and an ending that will have you panting for more. This author certainly captured my attention and believe me, I will be keeping an eye out for more of her work.

    Damon Brock and Tiffany Solow had several things in common. First is the loss of a loved one. Tiffany’s brother, also Brock’s best friend was killed by a vampire. Unfortunately, Mark’s death is not something neither of them can forget. They also have the same drive to seek out revenge. Brock continues to work for Execution Underground waiting for the opportunity to kill his friend’s murderer. And Tiffany’s goals are the same but has become an undercover vampire hunter. Fate has a funny way of bringing them together. As the infected vampires and deaths are on the rise, they will end up working side by side toward the same goal but ultimately to revenge Mark’s death.

    I really like Damon and Tiffany. Damon is a classic hero who is strong physically and mentally, very sexy and respects a woman who is just as strong. And Tiffany is equally strong. I mean this girl can kick ass and has balls bigger than most man I know. Their relationship was cute and heartfelt throughout the book until the story took a turn at the end. I honestly didn’t expect a tearful and jaw dropping end. By the way this book ended, gave me the impression that this series will be of UF genre. But looking at Twilight Hunter’s blurb, looks like Execution Underground is PNR. I have not had much interaction with the author and I have not had any discussions with anyone about this book, so, I’m not really sure, but damn it, I am hoping to get more of Damon and Tiffany. I know that this is not…CANNOT be the end of their story. If the rest of the books from Ms. Ballenger are as good as this prequel, She will most definitely be added to my favorite authors list.

    The Darkest Angel by Gena Showalter

    The harpies are my favorite females in this series, well with the exception of Anya, of course. The Darkest Angel is the story of how Bianka and Lysander got together. We’ve known from the series books they are a couple, but how did a harpy manage to get with an Angel?

    I think these two could’ve gotten their own book, they were certainly amazing together and I would’ve loved to see their relationship more developed. But what we got was full of humor, tensions, battles of will and naughtiness.

    Lysander wants to convert Bianka from her evil and impure ways. So he decides he will kidnap her and bring her to his home, in a cloud, keep her there, and teach her how to be good. Not counting on the fact that he wants her too much, and he can’t help it if she affects him in ways he doesn’t even understand. What are these feelings? How can he deal with them? Well, maybe he shouldn’t. And he leaves her alone in his house for long periods at a time.

    This just makes Bianka furious. Doesn’t he know that a harpy can’t even eat or drink unless she steals! There’s nothing for her to steal, how is she going to survive? And why is her traitorous body warming at the mere sight of the Angel.

    Funny, yes. Cute and romantic, yes. HOT, absolutely. And … totally memorable. Let’s just say if you’ve ever thought about Paris half naked in a mud fight with another hot half naked guy, then you have to read this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Damon is on the hunt for the head vampire who killed his partner

    Damon is on the hunt for the head vampire who killed his partner, Mark. However, when he tracks down the bloodsucker, he finds Mark's little sister acting as a potential feeding host. She's no longer the teenager he used to write letters to. She's hunting her brother's killer and will do anything to seek revenge, even if it means putting her life on the line.

    I don't know why but I'm always a fan of the best friend's little sister stories. This one had a fun twist to it though. Damon and Mark were Hunters together and in an attempt to help Damon release some pent up emotions, Mark gets his little sister to start writing Damon. Pretty soon the two of them are close pen pals but neither of them have met. So fast forward to the present time, Mark was killed in action, Tiffany blames Damon for not saving him and Damon agrees with her assessment. When these two meet, she has no clue that her brother's partner &quot;B&quot; is the same man standing in front of her and of course Damon isn't going to be forthcoming with that information. However, they have a common goal and that is to take down the vampire responsible for Mark's death. So they team up to try to take this vampire down, while becoming closer in the process.

    Even though this is a novella that sets up the Execution Underground series, there was a lot going on. We got to understand the characters, the world that they live in as well as get a grasp for the stage that Kait is setting. This series isn't going to revolve around just vampires, the EU handles all things supernatural and apparently there is a whole butt load of supes in Rochester, NY.

    &quot;I hate to tell you this, but Rochester is swamped with supernatural predators. There are reported werewolf sightings, possibly a full-on pack, there are demons lodged so deep the people they've possessed are pretty much done for, there are several small witch covens, loads of non-wereworlf shifters-oh, and that's not even including all the poltergeists and ghosts reported in the old abandoned asylum.&quot;

    So with all the action taking place in Rochester, Damon finds himself appointed team leader and will soon be getting a team of Hunters to help him handle all the things that go bump in the night. If the prequel is anything to go off of, this is going to be an amazing series. I'm so glad I found out about this debut author. The whole story was captivating, from the intense fight scenes to the seductive bedroom scenes. If you are a fan of paranormal romance than this is an absolute must. I personally cannot wait to read more of not only the EU series but anything that Kait comes out with.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    A great start to Ballenger's Execution Underground series and an

    A great start to Ballenger's Execution Underground series and another great tale from Showalter's Lords of the Underworld!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1