Customer Reviews for

After Dark (Harmony/Ghost Hunters Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Want to read something out of the ordinary? Then this is the series for you!

I am an avid reader, and am always looking for new authors to read. When I discovered that Jayne Krentz was writing under the name of Jayne Castle, I had to check them out. I bought one of her futuristic Harmony books - and was hooked. This book, After Dark, is the firs...
I am an avid reader, and am always looking for new authors to read. When I discovered that Jayne Krentz was writing under the name of Jayne Castle, I had to check them out. I bought one of her futuristic Harmony books - and was hooked. This book, After Dark, is the first one in the Harmony series. I love the depth of the characters, and the descriptive scenes. I especially love the futuristic spin to this series. Jayne Castle does a great job of making you believe in the possibility of this story - humans living on another planet and the trials and tribulations they encounter. If you are looking for a different type of romance, one filled with suspense and a little sci fi, you will love this book

posted by LoveLeeAZ on February 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not the best of hers I've ever read

A bit disappointing in the childish dialogue.

posted by Sassy777 on December 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Want to read something out of the ordinary? Then this is the series for you!

    I am an avid reader, and am always looking for new authors to read. When I discovered that Jayne Krentz was writing under the name of Jayne Castle, I had to check them out. I bought one of her futuristic Harmony books - and was hooked. This book, After Dark, is the first one in the Harmony series. I love the depth of the characters, and the descriptive scenes. I especially love the futuristic spin to this series. Jayne Castle does a great job of making you believe in the possibility of this story - humans living on another planet and the trials and tribulations they encounter. If you are looking for a different type of romance, one filled with suspense and a little sci fi, you will love this book

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Must Read

    I loved this book. It was interesting from the get go, but it just kept getting better as it unfolded. Ancient ruins, inter-dimensional travel, pet dust bunnies (never look at one the same again), mysteries upon mysteries, ghosts, smuggling, kidnappings and rescues, humor, banter, and so much more. It's all done in such detail, rich characters and plot. I was sucked in and could not put it down. I was so thrilled to find out this was a series. I can't wait to read the others.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2000

    Sparks Fly in After Dark!

    Lydia Smith, licensed Para-archaelogist, is stressed-out from what she calls her 'Lost Weekend' in an alien tomb in the Dead City near Old Cadence, particularly since it caused her to lose her job at the university and end up working in the low budget museum known as Shrimpton's House of Ancient Horrors. However, just when things begin looking up, she discovers a dead body in one of the sarcophagus exhibits. Furthermore, she finds out that, Emmett London, her first client for her new consulting business, is the ex-CEO of the infamous City of Old Resonance Guild, a powerful organization that is sort of a cross between earth's old Lucky Luciano-type mafia and a feudal Scottish clan. Fortunately, he is a man a girl can trust, which is good news when one has energy ghosts floating into one's bedroom and traitors and tomb-robbers on the loose. In fact, London is one brilliant, sexy ghost-hunter as both the reader and Lydia will soon discover. In addition, once the sparks start to fly 'literally', that is when things really heat up. In short, no one does it better than Jayne Castle a.k.a Jayne Ann Krentz, and After Dark is no exception. Just a terrific read!! But she does leave some unanswered questions, which just beg for a sequel. I hope this is not the last we'll see of Emmett and Lydia, they make a perfect ghost-busting team.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2001

    One of my favorite Harmony books

    I really enjoyed After Dark The heroine of this futuristic tale, Lydia, has many modern day problems: her boss (and ex boyfriend) took credit for her work as a para-archeologist, a potential health problem got her fired, then most of her friends faded away. On her way to rebuilding her work life, with little or no plans for a personal one, she must deal with a murder, suspicious trade unions and her first real para-archeologist client: an alpha male hero named London. This book must be the start of a series not only because it is a great combination of romance, suspense, and science fiction with interesting characters; but because the book left many questions unanswered. Quite a tease this book is. The combination of union and academic politics allowed external tension to complement the romantic tension between the lead characters. After Dark gives a well-balanced male perspective as opposed to cliched hero behavior. The book also didn¿t succumb to ¿convenient science fiction¿ that plagues so many para-normal romances. No laws of physics were violated and chemical and physical events could be explained to a plausible level. One of the best parts of this book is the ending. Without giving away too much (it is after all a romance) Lydia and London don¿t ride off into the sunset. They have their own concerns and personality quirks that stop the ending from becoming sugary while still very romantic.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Good read

    Great first in the series

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    RECOMMENDED-check out

    I have now read all of the ghost hunter series except one,Jayne Ann Krentz is an excellent author no matter what name she uses when doing a series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    !great book as always

    Loved it cant wait to read the rest.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Lend Me

    Highly Recommend

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    Fun Romance Series

    I like the Arcane Series by Amanda Quick, so I thought I would try this. A fun escapism read. It isn't too over top on some of the "scenes" either which some romances can be.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    Having a really hard time with this one

    The writing and storyline just aren't grabbing me. I may try to plunder through more pages at a later date in hopes it's just a really slow-starting plot and storyline; but, I'm doubtful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Wonderfully Fun!

    Can't wait to read the rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Interesting Plot

    I enjoyed the story and am looking forward to reading more of the series. The only issue I had was that the plot didn't have a backstory so I was confused on why they were on a different "planet" and why they had special abilities. Maybe if I read other books of this author it may explain this but as a Book 1 in the series I felt lost at times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Love Jayne castle ...

    Enjoy all the harmony series from Jayne Castle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Wonderful author and book

    I love anything written by Jayne Castle under any name :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Very good book

    This book took some getting into, but once you get there it's very interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    I usually love all of Jayne Krentz's work, but I was seriously


    I usually love all of Jayne Krentz's work, but I was seriously disappointed in this new book. I purchased it because it was on the daily deal for 1.99 and got such great reviews. The entire premise just seemed to be contrived and was extremely hard to get into and follow. I thought this was the first in the series but felt like I was reading a series already established. I generally like science fiction as well as supernatural romances, but these characters seemed to fall extremely flat. I felt that the whole world with its resonances, crystals, etc. just needed more work.and description to be completely realistic. Extremely disappointing, but as always remember this is only one review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed reading this book

    I enjoyed reading this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Not the best of hers I've ever read

    A bit disappointing in the childish dialogue.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2015

    Hard read

    This book was hard to read. It took me awhile to understand what was going on and even then it didnt grab my attention. I couldnt even get into the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    Dhqtw

    Eywywywjhuwyhwyuhwjhijwjwwhdnkduudysjsjsjjjdjddjejdjjdjjfjdjjdjjjshsjdhxfdduududdjduwjiuuuuuuujddjdhddcb hknwwwuwwjjjswiccxnxnnsjwkvbnclkddddjjdudfufjjjjdjbhbfbchbbxhdhhhhdjfuxurddghyyxtxh "44445

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6