Customer Reviews for

After Diana: William, Harry, Charles, and the Royal House of Windsor

Average Rating 3
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    A Hard-cover Victory For Diana's Enemies

    A nice little cube of propanganda against Diana. Too many author's these days do not write by Diana with an honest portrayal but instead use negative, unproven words such as troubled, paranoid, unbalanced, mad and mentally ill. In reallity, if she had been, she could not have functioned so utterly brilliantly in public. Besides, you find out that she was labeled as 'unbalanced' because she wanted her husband to be faithful or she was 'barking mad' because she did not think her husband could handle the job of being king. At the same time that whispering campaigns were being waged that the princess was mad and needed to be locked up, Diana goes on Panarama and states my enemies want me locked up...... After that Diana public exposed of what going on behind the scenes in Charles' camp, the whisperers publicly declared Diana was in the advanced stages of paranoia for thinking her enemies wanted her locked up. I think William and Harry would have turned out better men if Diana had lived to guide them into adulthood. Their obvious acceptance of Camilla can only point to a regular royal hatchet job on Diana to her two sons. Considering Camilla is the same woman that for all practical purposes ruins their parents marriage and caused their beloved Mummy so much pain it is odd. William and Harry are far too willing to accept Camilla as a respectable step-mum. Actually the book paints the picture that this is the way it should be. And that is the reason I gave it a poor rating.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2007

    Interesting but not always accurate

    Overall this was a good book about life after Diana for William, Harry and the royal family. It covers: William and Harry's lives (up until ca. March 2007), Operation Camilla and events leading up to the wedding of Charles and Camilla in 2005, and a look back at the marriage of Charles and Diana. The ladies in the young princes lives, Chelsy Davy and Kate Middleton, are also given considerable attention. The book isn't always laudatory about the young princes and covers the boys enjoyment of the good life of partying and looks into some of the escapades that perhaps the boys would rather forget (e.g. Harry in the Nazi outfit which William was said to approve of when they were shopping for costumes and William dancing in a boa during a night of revelry). What I didn't like about the book and found very tasteless is the gossip about Harry's paternity. Though the author rather earnestly presents the possibility that Hewitt is Harry's father he is on extremely shaky ground. He has a pic showing the 'resemblance' between the two--which is ridiculous since there is NO resemblance. Harry looks like his granddad Prince Philip in his facial features and a Spencer with red hair and as a toddler he bore a strong resemblance to his father Prince Charles at the same age. And the author's contention is based on some nonsensical reality show Hewitt went on 'under hypnosis' to make a fast buck. And the author keeps repeating it in several parts of the book. Harry is Prince Charles' case closed. And still another quibble is the obviously doctored photo of Kate Middleton and Queen Elizabeth--this is actually a picture of the Queen and Melinda Gates with Kate's head substituted. I don't know why the author didn't check the accuracy of this first. Plus, Anderson has 'pillow talk' between Charles and Camilla who always seems to be giving Charles advice. This is hearsay and unless a microphone was planted hard to believe. I also have trouble getting through the passages about how 'sensitive' Charles was after Diana's death. Charles didn't treat Diana very well (even having the 1997 birthday party for Camilla which was a major factor in Diana leaving England that Summer) so it's hard to believe he'd act so sensitively over the funeral plans after she died. All in all a good book, but I wish Anderson had left the ravings of Hewitt out and the wink wink nudge nudge about Harry's parentage. I find this very tasteless and ridiculous since there is NO resemblance between Harry and Hewitt.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2007

    good

    I thought this book was good and helpful.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    Too Much Rot About Harry's Parentage

    I did not mind reading this book is fact it was pretty enjoyable until it came to the question of Harry's father. I immidately loss my respect for the author. I do not think James Hewitt is Harry's father. Period! Harry poor fellow looks in many ways like Prince Charles -- the eyes and the nose and even his mouth. About the only snips that can be made is the color of Harry hair, which also is the same color as his aunts Sarah and Jane. I am also suspicous of a money-strapped James Hewitt suddenly deciding to claim that his affair with Diana as early as 1981. If that is true then why not question who is Prince William's father? Princes William does not look at all like Charles. William favors Diana. And as for a reciding hairline, Diana's father had thinning hair and bare patches too. There were quite a few date-type errors in the book as well. I was glad to note that the author clearly pointed out that Camilla is now the new Princess of Wales and will be crowned Queen when Charles is King. I also think Camilla is a fend for flaunting Diana's jewelry in public.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2007

    Wish it were better.

    The first 22 pages of this book dealing with Diana's death were full of misleading statements, e.g. implying sinister reasons on why the ambulance in Paris took so long to reach the hospital, and inaccuracies, such as stating the card saying Mummy was on top of the lilies when it was on the roses from Harry. Reluctant to believe this book was a total waste of time and money, I did read some more, only to find a further lack of research and many, many innuendoes. I was left feeling suspicious of everything I read and decided not to finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1