Customer Reviews for

After Ever After

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Masterful Sequel to a Masterpiece

"But most of my earliest memories are of spinal taps, throwing up for two hours straight on my birthday, watching my own hair fall out while my friends were worried about learning how to write their names in crayon. And I guess Steven has lot of those shocks, too, throu...
"But most of my earliest memories are of spinal taps, throwing up for two hours straight on my birthday, watching my own hair fall out while my friends were worried about learning how to write their names in crayon. And I guess Steven has lot of those shocks, too, through being my brother. But that's still not the same as being me."

Calling all teachers, parents and educators: Jordan Sonnenblick might just be the most important young adult author on the market! This man has found a niche that millions of teenagers have been desperately waiting to be filled. In a delicate way that blends good humor with tough reality, his books address critical issues related to family, friendship, school, life and death. Sonnenblick obviously understands what kids are going through and knows how to help them feel more comfortable with their daily challenges and goals through wholesome literature. I wish more authors would write with such purpose and passion to spread meaningful messages to young readers.

In "Drums, Girls and Dangerous Pie," Jeffrey was fighting cancer as his older brother, then 8th-grader Steven, threw his whole life into providing the necessary support for his sick brother. Now, in this sequel to "Drums, Girls and Dangerous Pie," Jeffrey is in remission. In the aftermath of his sickness, a lot has changed besides his health status. Jeffrey's older brother has gone on hiatus to Africa to escape the responsibilities that he couldn't avoid when he was playing second fiddle to his Jeffrey's cancer battle. Their parents continue to worry about finances and state testing requirements following the imposing learning disabilities cancer treatments and medications have handed their young son. Jeffrey's best friend, Tad, also has his share of challenges to worry about. Together, they face the mystic challenges of deciphering the baffling words and actions of girls, setting seemingly unreachable goals, and clearing up the cloudy meaning of life.

This book hit home for me in many ways. One example is that it reminded me of my 10th grade year, when my older brother - my best friend, idol and mentor throughout my grade school years - joined the Marine Corps and moved overseas to Japan. This person I'd counted on for so long was suddenly nowhere to be found. I remember how hard it was for me to deal with the void he'd left behind. I'm sure a lot of people can relate to similar feelings of loss and abandonment.

"I wish I could remember now what I was thinking during those next two hours, because they were the last good hours I was going to have for a long time. But nobody ever tells you in advance when you should concentrate on the good times - that's why you're supposed to try to do it every day."

Be sure to read "After Ever After" sooner rather than later! Books don't get much better than this one!

posted by Teachtown on March 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

It used to b a young hosear book if you are from indy u know what is is

Ilove ilove it iloveit most awesome (exept the part when jeff was at tads grave i was about to cry )it is awesome except that part .irate it 9000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000...
Ilove ilove it iloveit most awesome (exept the part when jeff was at tads grave i was about to cry )it is awesome except that part .irate it 9000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000starsbut i can only rate it for 5

posted by Anonymous on January 26, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Masterful Sequel to a Masterpiece

    "But most of my earliest memories are of spinal taps, throwing up for two hours straight on my birthday, watching my own hair fall out while my friends were worried about learning how to write their names in crayon. And I guess Steven has lot of those shocks, too, through being my brother. But that's still not the same as being me."

    Calling all teachers, parents and educators: Jordan Sonnenblick might just be the most important young adult author on the market! This man has found a niche that millions of teenagers have been desperately waiting to be filled. In a delicate way that blends good humor with tough reality, his books address critical issues related to family, friendship, school, life and death. Sonnenblick obviously understands what kids are going through and knows how to help them feel more comfortable with their daily challenges and goals through wholesome literature. I wish more authors would write with such purpose and passion to spread meaningful messages to young readers.

    In "Drums, Girls and Dangerous Pie," Jeffrey was fighting cancer as his older brother, then 8th-grader Steven, threw his whole life into providing the necessary support for his sick brother. Now, in this sequel to "Drums, Girls and Dangerous Pie," Jeffrey is in remission. In the aftermath of his sickness, a lot has changed besides his health status. Jeffrey's older brother has gone on hiatus to Africa to escape the responsibilities that he couldn't avoid when he was playing second fiddle to his Jeffrey's cancer battle. Their parents continue to worry about finances and state testing requirements following the imposing learning disabilities cancer treatments and medications have handed their young son. Jeffrey's best friend, Tad, also has his share of challenges to worry about. Together, they face the mystic challenges of deciphering the baffling words and actions of girls, setting seemingly unreachable goals, and clearing up the cloudy meaning of life.

    This book hit home for me in many ways. One example is that it reminded me of my 10th grade year, when my older brother - my best friend, idol and mentor throughout my grade school years - joined the Marine Corps and moved overseas to Japan. This person I'd counted on for so long was suddenly nowhere to be found. I remember how hard it was for me to deal with the void he'd left behind. I'm sure a lot of people can relate to similar feelings of loss and abandonment.

    "I wish I could remember now what I was thinking during those next two hours, because they were the last good hours I was going to have for a long time. But nobody ever tells you in advance when you should concentrate on the good times - that's why you're supposed to try to do it every day."

    Be sure to read "After Ever After" sooner rather than later! Books don't get much better than this one!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Yes!!!!!!!!!

    Need to read love jordan sonnenblick!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Can't stop!!

    I can't stop reading this book! I'm forcing myself to go to bed right now at 12:00am so I can wake up for school tomorrow!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Wow

    Great book! Very moving. Enjoyed as much as drums girls and dangerous pie.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    AFTER EVER AFTER by Jordan Sonnenblick is the sequel to DRUMS, GIRLS, & DANGEROUS PIE. It is eight years later and life is continuing for the Alper family.

    Jeffrey is ironically starting the eighth grade. That's the grade his older brother, Steven, was in when Jeffrey was diagnosed with leukemia. Jeffrey is now in remission from the disease, but he suffers from some side effects from the chemo treatment that saved his life. He walks with a limp, his attention wanders easily, and his brain just refuses to process anything related to math.

    Not a big deal, you say. Well, if your father is an accountant and the mailman has just delivered a letter saying that every eighth grader in the state must pass a set of required tests, including a math test, or repeat the eighth grade, let's just say things have looked rosier.

    A lot of other things have changed for Jeffrey, as well. His brother graduated from high school and went off to college. Again, not a big deal, but then Steven decided after three years of college that he would drop everything and head to Africa to become part of a drum circle. That left Jeffrey on his own to deal with his last year of middle school.

    Fortunately, back in fourth grade, Jeffrey found his best friend, Tad. Tad was also a cancer survivor. In fact, Tad had survived the disease twice. It left him weak enough to need a wheelchair, but it certainly strengthened his wit and wisdom when it came to dealing with daily life.

    When Tad learns about the state testing requirement, he steps up to help Jeffrey by becoming his official math tutor. The two make a deal that Jeffrey will study hard to pass the test, and Tad will train hard so he is able to walk across the eighth grade graduation stage under his own power.

    Jordan Sonnenblick continues Jeffrey's story in his signature style using an authentic teenage voice and laugh-out-loud humor. By asking his main character to adjust to a learning disability and a physical handicap, as well as changes in his family structure, Sonnenblick creates a new depth to the sequel. The determination he showed as a young boy dealing with cancer helps him with the struggle to be successful at school and also at any new challenges thrown his way.

    This is a sequel I was not expecting, but I was thrilled when it came to my attention.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Hdjsmdbms,dnns

    Dont tell me anything!!!!!!!!!!!! Im going to get from library tom. And read it so shout up big mouths!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    I CRIED MY EYES OUT ! I CRIED NY EYES OUT !!!

    THe most saddest ending ever !!! IM happy for jeff but tad.... hes my favorute chraacter ever i just love him!! Ahmazing book evrr

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Good

    Greats book but very sad and moving

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Good book

    Loved this book it was sooo good. You really need to read tgis if you read Drums Girls and Dangerous Pie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Om my gosg...

    When Jeffrey talking about Tad being dead and everything, I didn't even realize I was crying until the pages were splattered with tear-drops. Poor D.A.... The first book was good too, but this one had me up until 12:47 a.m.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    I absolutely loved the book, Ever After Ever by Jordan Sonnenbli

    I absolutely loved the book, Ever After Ever by Jordan Sonnenblick. This book is a sequel to another really good book Drums Girls & Dangerous Pie. In Drums Girls & Dangerous Pie, Jeffery is a kindergardener who has leukemia. In After Ever After, Jeffery is an eighth grader, who is in remission. His best friend Tad, is also another cancer survivor, and still in remission. This book will make you cheer for Jeff and Tad but it might also make you cry for them! Tad is a very tough and good friend to Jeffery. When Jeffery wan't doing so well in math, Tad tutored him. Tad is a good friend also because even though he had issues with his personal help, he didn't want to tell Jeff what happened because he was worried it would distract him from doing good on the math standardized test scores. Not only will Jeff have to lose something in this book he also has to go through drama of everyday life, girlfriends, tests, homework, his brother and even his parents! To anyone who like romance & everyday life books would love After Ever After! I defiantly didn't have to think twice about giving this book 5 stars!! If you start this book you might never be able to put it down!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Book lover

    Love love love this book!!!!! This is a wonderful, tragic and moving book and series if you want to call it that. Jourdan sonnenblick got it once again. Love the author!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    <3

    Good job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    After Ever After

    This book is wonderful. Jordan is halarious. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Fatastic

    This book was so touching and inspiring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Great

    This story was read by one of great friends who has been battling cancer 5 know and he says that this story is almost exactly what he went through as a teen.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    I CRIED FOR TWO HOURS | SPOILER ALERT

    I cried and cried when jeff was talking to tads grave. :*(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    After ever after

    I'm reading the book from our libary because i can buy it on here i think it going to be an amazing book im just at the biginning but i hink its an amazing book so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Please reply i need some help.....

    I read part of the first book and really liked it. Is this sequel as funny as the first? Or just sad?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    One of the Best Books Ever

    Oh my gosh! This is one of the best books ever. I stayed up all night to finish it. Very touching and heartfelt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3