Customer Reviews for

After Glow (Harmony/Ghost Hunters Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Readers of Jayne Castle¿s Harmony books are sure to love the sequel to ¿After Dark¿!

    “After Glow” continues where “After Dark” left off and now Lydia is once again caught up in a murder investigation.

    “After Glow” really ties up all of the loose ends from the first book and readers get to see more of Lydia and Emmett and of course the loveable dustbunnies. I really liked how this book was written. The storyline kept me just as enraptured as the first and maybe even more so with the current developments in Lydia and Emmett’s relationship.

    The budding relationship between Lydia and Emmett was really the highlight of the book. I was thrown into the rollercoaster of emotions brought out in this book with the characters and I loved every minute of it.

    Readers of Jayne Castle’s Harmony books are sure to love the sequel to “After Dark”!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Big fan of her Castle books

    I love Jayne's Harmony and really got so depressed thinking she would never go back to it, I mean it been FOUR YEARS. Worse, having to suffer through her limp Quick trilogy and the started out good then went to limp noodle Whispering Springs book, I am in desperate needs of a GOOD Jayne read.<BR/><BR/>And WOW...this is Emmett and Lydia's story continued. I loved After Dark. Know there were some whines when it came out, but the market is just now exploding with great writers writing in this same vein like <BR/>I read this, and you can read it alone, but I went and got my After Dark out and really enjoyed it again.<BR/><BR/>Followed by more in the dust bunny series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Cici

    Hehe. :3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Nice follow up.

    Nice resolution to After Dark

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    Just read it again

    I really enjoyed this series. I am 1/2 finished with my second reading. Like the independent women portrayed by Jayne.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    Great Series!!!

    I'm almost finished with the 2nd book in this series and it is hard to put it down. It seems to just pull you into the action so you want to keep reading to find out what happens next.
    I can not wait to start number 3 in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Awesome series!! You gotta check it out!!

    Getting ready to start 5th book in series. Once you start, you don't want to stop!! I love it when a series incorporates previous characters in the current book. Would like to see more of that in her series's.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Love this series

    I've read and re-read the Harmony series over and over. Whether writing as Jayne Castle, Jayne Ann Krentz or Amanda Quick, she is my favorite author but this series is my absolute favorite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Y Must

    Yep this too!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Must Read

    I just read this one, loved it! I can't wait to snap up the rest of this series.
    The gang we all met the first time around is back, as well as some great new characters, from allies to enemies, very interesting. Poor Lydia has no luck and dead people just seem to find her. Emmett too for that matter, he's always just behind her. Lol. Her hunter beau is deeply in love w/her and he wants to make it last, but when the Guild gets involved, things get even more complicated. We also get a shocking revelation about him and Wyatt. Which leads so some other very wild developments. We learn just how clever Lyd can really be and how she can get her way. She also ends up w/Guild fans and w/how much she dislikes the Guild this turns out to be highly amusing. We find Emmett has a little jealous streak that makes me giggle and the head of security is so easy going and unassuming, it's an odd match that makes me really enjoy the addition of his character. We also get more depth into Detective Martinez and find she's got a sense of humor. There's a tomb adventure, rescue and a very impressive discovery. And what about Dust Bunnies? Does Fuzz have a psy ability? But ah, this is not the end of the story. There has to be a twist ending right? Plus a touching wedding thrown in for good measure. And I absolutely adore the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2007

    Break out the dust bunnies, kids!! Fluff the original is here!

    I bought this atory, but it was a part of a '2-fer' called 'Harmony'. It was this particular title, plus one called 'Bridal Jitters'. As much as I enjoyed the second title, I especially loved After Glow, mainly because it premiers the ultimate in pets, the many legged multiple eyed dust bunny. As cute as they are, it seems that no one in Harmony ever thought of them as pets, as they hunt with those extra eyes in the dark, are carnivores and have teeth that any pit bull cringe in fear and admiration(no nasty letters from the pit bull fans. I love them too, they make great pets, but in the wrong(evil) hands they are loose cannons). As fantastic as the story is, and how brave and sexy the lead characters are, I'm afraid Fluff steals every scene, and pretty much dominates the entire book. Maybe it's the blue eyes that are so eloquent, or how so much expression Ms. Krentz puts into Fluff's face and body language. I'm going to buy this title as a stand alone in my library and pray for more stories out of Harmony that compliment this, the past titles about life on Harmony, and the Ghost Hunter novel. I say if we had more dust bunnies in our lives, we'd be much happier(the pets not the dust).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2004

    brilliant Jayne Ann Krentz off-world romp!

    After Jayne Ann's last three efforts under her Krentz name and Quick penname, I was in despair. She is one of my favourite writers, but she had lost of heart, I feared. The books spent more time talking about food than romance, and her leads were tediously boring. In her aim to sell mainstream, she is killing her decades-long, devout romance fans with books that lack ROMANCE. Jayne needs to take time go back and read her own books such as ¿Wildest Hearts¿, ¿Family Man¿, and ¿Absolutely Positively¿, to get 'the mind scent back', find her roots. That said, this was - to me - was a 'make or break' book. If she did not come up with the old magic, I would likely move on to spend my monies on writers that are delivering. Well, I am SO DELIGHTED to say this book has the old Jayne Ann magic. And I hope this book is received better than the other 'Harmony Books'. I adored them all and see the JAK dazzle in there. It is in her off-world books ¿Amaryllis¿, ¿Orchard¿, ¿Zinnia¿ and ¿After Dark¿, where you can still find the old JAK magic that pulls at the heart, that makes you smile. These books were not well-accepted, because she was AHEAD of the pack. Futuristic books with J. D. Robb, Robin D. Owens, C. J. Barry - and the new Dorchester line coming with Susan Grant and Kathleen Nance's books kicking it off - are selling like hotcakes, showing off-world books are the cutting edge. Meaning everyone else is JUST NOW catching up with JAK. In this long awaited sequel to ¿After Dark¿ (2000), where we first met Emmett London and Lydia Smith, we pick up their lives a month after the pair had their last adventure. They have moved in together, with Emmett hoping to work Lydia into a Covenant Marriage, but fears Lydia's experience in the Alien Underground has permanently set her against 'ghost-hunters' - people with the talent to channel and control the residual energy left behind by the race that once lived on New Harmony. And since Emmett is one of the best ghost-hunters, he fears this could tip their relationship into shattering. Worse, the head of the Guild - (union/government) for the ghost-hunters - has been wounded and Emmett has to step into his place to keep things running smooth. Lydia is not happy with the limelight that is hitting Emmett as the new guild boss. especially not thrilled the press is dragging out the fact Emmett was engaged to marry the Guild's Boss wife. This prompts her to push Emmett into a MC - Marriage of Convenience - to protect him. Emmett is thrilled for he sees this as a chance to convince Lydia into making it a Covenant Marriage. It has all the JAK special characters, the romance, the adventure that marks her best works. After being so disappointed by her last three books - and I am hoping this is a new streak starting for JAK that show she can 'rez' them ghosts and fascinate us as she has for so long. It can be read alone, but you really should read ¿After Dark¿ to fully appreciate the fun. In fact, I suggest reading ¿Amarylliss¿, ¿Zinnia¿ and `Orchid¿, too! See JAK at her best! Great Return to Harmony - just don't make it so long before the next visit, Jayne Ann, because this is where you are shining!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3