Customer Reviews for

After You'd Gone

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    AFTER YOU'D GONE

    After You'd Gone is a series of flashbacks. The first page hooks you immediately with the 28 year old, Alice, telling you that she took a train from London to Scotland on the day she decided to kill herself. The plot jumps back and forth in time through the eyes of Alice, her mother, her grandmother, and her husband until the pieces of the puzzle are revealed. Each vignette is a fascinating character study in which you will be able to draw your own conclusions. This is a wonderful story of perfect love, family and betrayal.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    outstanding--blew off 3 hours of work to finish it at my desk.

    I love so much about this book. The writing is beautiful and fluid. The narrative jumps around but it doesn't feel jarring at all, it seemed to me to be perfectly timed & placed at each point of the story. The characters are vivid. They are exposed and raw and you come to really feel for the major characters, and because of that it's excruciatingly sad. This book is so moving, and so well written--I think it is outstanding.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing

    The story is written in a way where one chapters jumps from time to time, character to character. It can be confusing at start but once you get hang of Maggie's writing style its a great novel. I actually had to go a buy this book. I have it in my book collection with hundreds of note cards in the book. The story flows and reveals different sides of humanity.


    my favorite book so far.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    Incredible Book & Brilliant Author

    Maggie O'Farrell has mesmerized me for two days with After You'd Gone (would have finished in hours, but I stretched my enjoyment). Her gift of deftly switching back and forth through time and characters is brilliant! So glad I happened across this jewel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2003

    beautiful

    This book was a fantastic and truly memorable read, and i have found none to match its apt psychological exploration of human relationships and the human capability to love. Maggie writes with a colloquial style whilst recreating something very intense, and in this way, the story took my breath away.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2002

    Crybaby

    I've read this book twice so far, and both times I absolutely bawled because it is soooooooooooooooooooooooo saaaaaaaaddddddddd. And because I am a wimp. Regardless, this book is a winner, especially for being O'Farrell's first. I would recommend this one if you're looking for something mentally light (not too much thinking involved, although it is difficult to keep up with the characters), but emotionally hefty.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    I want more!

    More books by Maggie O'Farrell, please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    A disappointing read

    From the reviews I had great hopes of reading a sensitive book with psychlogical nuances. However, I found the book's characters uninspiring and puzzling. Alice seemed to act on the spur or the moment and not to have deep psychological reasons or even qny reasons for what she did. All the characters lacked depth and I could not relate to any of them. The book left me cold. I did not cry at the end, I was happy it was over.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2008

    Amazing

    I thought that this book was incredible and moving. I couldn't wait to find out where the book was going to take me next and which piece of the puzzle of Alice's life, and what brought her to this point, fell into place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2008

    Review For English Project =]

    This book creates a story of true love and family relationships. It¿s a very heart stopping and psychological in depth story. It shows various tenses, tones and views through out creating the peeling of layers of Alice¿s¿ life. The novel also goes through loss of loved ones , grief and the healing after. The author wrote a good novel showing these relationships and by using the truth of things and emotions of the human condition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    Surprisingly good...

    This was a wonderful book. I enjoyed her way of writing and the story she tells. The ending sort left me wondering so I read it again to see if I could sort it out. Sad but uplifting. Never leaved things undone or unsaid because you never know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    The first review I've ever felt compelled to write

    I loved this novel because it completely surprised me. I picked it up off the library shelf having no idea what it would be, and what it was was astounding. Like other readers, I sobbed through the latter part of it. I loved the way it was told. And even though, like another reader, I didn't particularly like the characters, when I found myself sobbing, I realized I cared about them a great deal--or about what was lost, what could have been, and the way we all take for granted what we have. I immediately checked out her other book and enjoyed it, as well--also surprising. I like light reading for the evening, and I also like the unpredictable, and this is both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2004

    Compelling and Intense

    From the start, I could not put the book down. It's an intense look at love, loss and overwhleming grief, as well as the complexities of familial relationships and pushing those boundaries. Her second novel was, however, quite a disappointment- I didn't even finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2004

    21st Century Woolf

    Maggie O'Farrell is an amazing writer. She blends brilliance, passion, bereavement, grief, pain and forgiveness into a novel that runs the gammet of human emotions. Cheers, Ms. O'Farrell

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    Great Debut Novel

    This is a novel frull of warmth and humanity. One reading was not enough; I'm about to dive into it again. After You'd Gone is evidence that, in this reviewer's opinion, the Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writer's program is a treasure trove of great reads. (From their Spring 2001 selection.) Read O'Farrell's most excellent work, and see for yourself that the art of prose is still alive and well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2002

    SO-SO BOOK

    While the book had a couple of interesting characters, the main character was kind of flaky and unmotivated and lazy. She wasn't a real likeable person! The climax of the book (when she sees something or someone in the bus terminal and then walks out into traffic on purpose) was not really a climax because I could tell from the beginning what was going to happen. This was an okay book, but I wouldn't really recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2002

    After you'd gone

    I loved this book. Each character is interesting, as is the complex way in which the story unravels. Highly reccomended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2