BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

After the Fire

Average Rating 3.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good read

I liked the writing style, very easy to read, good story.

posted by 6288102 on January 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

struggled to finish

I had a hard time finishing this book...Kept hoping it would get better and it never did. I didnt care for the writing style, very juvenile. THe author apparently knew alot about her subject, but she kept repeating the details of the fire over and over. The interaction ...
I had a hard time finishing this book...Kept hoping it would get better and it never did. I didnt care for the writing style, very juvenile. THe author apparently knew alot about her subject, but she kept repeating the details of the fire over and over. The interaction between the daughter and mother in the story was ridiculous. they just keep hugging each other and telling each other how wonderful they were. The main character kept changing for a hard, driven, foul-mouthed investigator to the perfect, moral upstating citizen and mother who was too soft-heart for this investigation. Did not enjoy this book

posted by BrutSB on July 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    struggled to finish

    I had a hard time finishing this book...Kept hoping it would get better and it never did. I didnt care for the writing style, very juvenile. THe author apparently knew alot about her subject, but she kept repeating the details of the fire over and over. The interaction between the daughter and mother in the story was ridiculous. they just keep hugging each other and telling each other how wonderful they were. The main character kept changing for a hard, driven, foul-mouthed investigator to the perfect, moral upstating citizen and mother who was too soft-heart for this investigation. Did not enjoy this book

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    After the fire metedith rae morgan

    I just finished the above book The Story was interresting , but the typos, mistakes, were so distracting, I lost the whole point of relaxing with a good book.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    371 pages

    This free, 371 page book had a lot of errata. The punctuation, left out or added words and messed up tenses really did a number on the flow of the story. Bev, the heroine, was more juvenile then her 16 year daughter. Bev also had a penchent for cursing, as did her daughter, a fact which Bev seemed to think was halarious. The daughter was, oh so perfect, she really got on my nerves. She was in charge of the household and Bev just went along with her. Bev was extremely unlikable. Part of this book was first person, part third person, it switched back and forth, which was annoying. Many scenes, technical details, and communications were repeated over and over. This was very boring. There is violence from being burned to death, ( many people) but without many details. Thank goodness, there is a lot cursing, no sex or romance and rather a rather bland writing style. This book is not a fast read. Readers will learn way more about insurance adjusters and lawyers then they ever wanted too. I did not think this book would ever end and was starting to wonder if I could tough it out. This is one I wish I had skipped. For readers 18 and up.

    AD

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Good read

    The book is a solid and quick read; however, the editing could be improved.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    this book is ok...

    I felt this book was long and drawn out. I definitely practiced my speed reading here. This book is also not very suspensful which also makes it a long read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    a bore

    Didn't like the style of writting. one of the few books i had a hard time finishing because I was so bored.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    WawawawawWa

    I've read all three of these Bev the investigator and this author is exactly why book burnings are so popular. And having people you know put a 5 star review on for you will not increase your following it just adds another bad layer to the whole mess. You would do better to admit you are under 18 and write on your age level. You are very much sadly mistaken if you think your making it as an adult writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Truly a good book

    I really enjoyed this book. It moves quickly and keeps you turning the pages. I learned a lot about how insurance claims work. The characers were believable and fun to get to know. The details on the process of investigating a fire was enlightening. This comes in as a big recommendation to anyone who wants to read a good mystery.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    loved it!!!!

    after the fire was written beautifully and i enjoyed it so much ive reread it at least 10times

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nice

    Nice

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    Intriguing, Nice Plot...but nobody is that nice and sweet

    This was well written. It almost seems as if this is a story of which the author has lived through.

    Good depiction of small time life. Characters are well developed. The main characters teen daughter is almost too nice, but it is a wonderful change from how most teens are portrayed now.

    Worth reading but be prepared to muddle through a few parts. Don't stop reading, it's worth it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Great book, A must read.

    Never read any of Meredith Rae Morgan books but I'll read everything from her for now on.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    Enjoyable

    A decent story about good people and how a community deals with such a tragedy. Nothing spectacular but I enjoyed the read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    good book

    couldnt put this one down, really enjoyed!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Good read

    I liked the writing style, very easy to read, good story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great story

    The misspellings in this book just about kept me from enjoying the book.
    Other than that, I enjoyed the story.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    enjoyable

    I enjoyed the book even though it had way too much repitition. Also it had lots of spelling and punctuation errors.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Excellent!

    Enjoyed reading the book. This one's keeper. I suspect that someday I'll read this one again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Good people doing good things

    C+ to B-.
    Nothing great, nothing horrible. Don't expect Robin Cook as this 473 page book is not suspenseful, nor a thriller, nor a drama. The author should get better with more practice and some talented editing.
    I would be surprised if the author didn't work at an insurance company. The story is the detailed account of an insurance claim (fire destroys a restaurant and kills many people) from the point of view of the claims adjuster as she handles this tragedy in her hometown. The book "...is filled with good and decent people who do the right thing when given chance." That includes the protagonist, her teenage daughter, the insurance company's executives, the lawyers, the insured, the FBI, etc. You get the idea.
    The characters, except maybe for the protagonist, seem one-dimensional and never seem real. They also don't have distinctive personalities (other than all are good people), nor do they change or progress as the story gets deeper. Everyone and everything in the book is PG-rated or less.
    Once I realized what the book wasn't, I enjoyed it more as I wanted to see how it would be able to end well for everyone. And it did. This makes it a bit of a fairy tale, but sometimes I enjoy that pollyana view of life (as the pessimism, cynicism, negativity can get you down).

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    Really good read

    If you like police suspense, you should like this except it's with an arson investigator.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5