Customer Reviews for

After the Fire

Average Rating 3.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good read

I liked the writing style, very easy to read, good story.

posted by 6288102 on January 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

struggled to finish

I had a hard time finishing this book...Kept hoping it would get better and it never did. I didnt care for the writing style, very juvenile. THe author apparently knew alot about her subject, but she kept repeating the details of the fire over and over. The interaction ...
I had a hard time finishing this book...Kept hoping it would get better and it never did. I didnt care for the writing style, very juvenile. THe author apparently knew alot about her subject, but she kept repeating the details of the fire over and over. The interaction between the daughter and mother in the story was ridiculous. they just keep hugging each other and telling each other how wonderful they were. The main character kept changing for a hard, driven, foul-mouthed investigator to the perfect, moral upstating citizen and mother who was too soft-heart for this investigation. Did not enjoy this book

posted by BrutSB on July 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Good read

    The book is a solid and quick read; however, the editing could be improved.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nice

    Nice

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    Enjoyable

    A decent story about good people and how a community deals with such a tragedy. Nothing spectacular but I enjoyed the read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great story

    The misspellings in this book just about kept me from enjoying the book.
    Other than that, I enjoyed the story.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    enjoyable

    I enjoyed the book even though it had way too much repitition. Also it had lots of spelling and punctuation errors.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Good people doing good things

    C+ to B-.
    Nothing great, nothing horrible. Don't expect Robin Cook as this 473 page book is not suspenseful, nor a thriller, nor a drama. The author should get better with more practice and some talented editing.
    I would be surprised if the author didn't work at an insurance company. The story is the detailed account of an insurance claim (fire destroys a restaurant and kills many people) from the point of view of the claims adjuster as she handles this tragedy in her hometown. The book "...is filled with good and decent people who do the right thing when given chance." That includes the protagonist, her teenage daughter, the insurance company's executives, the lawyers, the insured, the FBI, etc. You get the idea.
    The characters, except maybe for the protagonist, seem one-dimensional and never seem real. They also don't have distinctive personalities (other than all are good people), nor do they change or progress as the story gets deeper. Everyone and everything in the book is PG-rated or less.
    Once I realized what the book wasn't, I enjoyed it more as I wanted to see how it would be able to end well for everyone. And it did. This makes it a bit of a fairy tale, but sometimes I enjoy that pollyana view of life (as the pessimism, cynicism, negativity can get you down).

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    good but different

    it was a good read if you've ever wanted to see things from the insurance investigators point of view or just learn how the insurance game works this book will give you a clear idea of the process. ms.morgan really did her homework on this one. fair warning though there is no romance or high action thrills just a great paced little mystery

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Easy read

    Enjoyed the book although it contained many typo errors.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2