Customer Reviews for

After the Golden Age

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fans will enjoy the silver adventures of the offspring of two Golden Age heroes

    In Commerce City, Celia West the forensic accountant is fortunate that the Olympiad superheroes protect her because she keeps getting kidnapped. She is the daughter of the group's leaders Suzanne known as the Spark because of her ability to create and control fire and Warren endowed with super speed and strength. However, Celia is estranged from her parents as she wants to live a normal life working assets and liabilities that are numbers and not fighting supervillains with masks and powers.

    Currently she is looking into the records of supervillain Destructor seeking proof of tax fraud. When his case comes to court, her relationships through her parents to the alleged felon are exposed. This costs her the job and her friends while widening the rift with her parents. As a crime wave hits the city and with too much idle time on her hands, Celia sees a pattern that ties all the felonious activity to one person. She uses the supercomputer at the Olympiad headquarters trying to uncover the identity of this diabolical mastermind, but also learns much about the yin yang births of superheroes and supervillains.

    Carrie Vaughn is a superhero of an author as she deftly switches voices and worlds with her different series (see Kitty the werewolf tales). The story line obviously pays homage to the Golden and Silver Ages of comic books with the twist of an accountant working the numbers to bring down supervillains. Readers root for Celia who they hope reconciles with her parents and obtains self-esteem as she fears she can never live up to the legends her parents are. Filled with pathos and a touch of romance as well as plenty of POW! And AM! Fans will enjoy the silver adventures of the offspring of two Golden Age heroes.

    Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Must read for fans of Astro City comics

    Great read. Would love to see a graphic novel adaptation.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    A Great Book!

    I loved this story. Celia is such a believable heroine. Her parents, although powerful superheroes are completely normal as well. Even her romantic interest is normal. What is exceptional is how much the story tugs at your heartstrings. It was an engrossing tale and I am so sorry that it ended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    This book really took me by surprise, I didn't think I'd end up

    This book really took me by surprise, I didn't think I'd end up caring about Celia West as much as I did. Celia is the non super powered daughter of Commerce City's mightiest champions, Captain Olympus and Spark. This her story of rebellion and redemption and Carrie Vaughn does a wonderful job of telling it. The super hero trapping are used to good effect here to describe how parents expectations mold their children.
    And those super hero trappings are pretty cool. Lots of neat twists and turns and awesome super human action. If you're a comic book fan, do yourself a favor and pick this up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    So much fun

    I ventured out of my normal genres for this one, and I'm so glad I did. A superhero tale for non-superhero readers. I zipped through it in no time because I was having so much fun reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    This is a wonderful story.  The trappings of a world with Superh

    This is a wonderful story.  The trappings of a world with Superheroes is more scenery than the real story.

    The real story is the journey of Celia West.  A non-powered child of publicly known Superheroes, her reaction to her frequent kidnapping is almost hilarious, the first one shown, where she corrects the kidnappers techniques prior to her rescue had me laughing.

    Her story of her teen years where she rebelled against her parents and 'joined' their greatest enemy was believable, with the humor of his flat out telling her that he was only allowing her to hang out because it would bug her parents was laugh out-loud funny.

    I kept expecting her to suddenly manifest long dormant powers, the story seemed to take us to that edge several times, only to have the expected not happen.Yeah, I've read far too many comic books.  

    I cannot recommend this story highly enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    An Entertaining Effort

    Carrie Vaughn's book was an entertaining effort. I purchased the book without reading the synopsis, thinking that it might have been build around the "Golden Age" of meta-humans that may have been constructed as a back history for DC comics. Once I realized that the characters, setting and circumstances were established to stand apart from the comic books I had known, I began to enjoy the book for its creative merits.

    Carrie has done a really good job transferring the visual and text style found in the comic books into the narrative of her novel and for adopting the perspectives and emotions of a non-gifted child of a local super hero team and regular victim of choice for the bad guys. I especially liked her limitation of her meta-human characters to one or two talents/powers instead of a broader range (think Superman or Green Lantern) and her gradual revelation of the integration of the origins of many of the major players.

    The book was very entertaining and hard to put down, once the reader understood the author's adaptation of the comic book style into her narrative.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Reaally Fun

    Fantastic. I could't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    A fresh take on old tropes

    This is fun, escapist novel set in a world where superpowered people exist and some fight crime. The protagonist, Celia, has two superpowered parents but has no abilities of her own and is trying to live her own life. Unfortunately, the trope of the superhero's loved one-as-hostage is alive and well in this book. In fact, Carrie Vaughn takes all the major superhero tropes and blends them into an entertaining tale that reads fast and fun. From doomsday machines to diabolical villains who monologue their plans, long-lost relatives and heroes at odds with the populace who they have sworn to protect, all the standards are represented here. And yet, Vaughn's storytelling breathes fresh life into the old cliches, building up to a climax that doesn't disappoint. Darn good book. Darn good fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Love superhero fiction and well-written characters? You'll love this book!

    Big picture: it's a superhero book about family and it's fantastic. Don't miss this book.

    === More Details ===

    I picked this book out for the weekend and ended up reading it in two days; I just could not put it down. I love this particular sub-genre of sci-fi & fantasy, the superhero novel, but I like them to have some depth of character and to treat the subject matter with the type of respect and honesty that any other novel would treat normal human characters. After the Golden Age fit that bill perfectly. My only issue is the propensity of "wry" smiles going on in the book. This is probably something I saw because I couldn't put the book down, but it got to the point where I would start wondering who would smile wryly next. But that's a minor, small, middling concern that shouldn't keep anyone from picking this book up and enjoying it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    Loved IT!

    I found this book when i was looking to see when the next Kitty Norville book was due out and I bought it because I love Carrie Vaughn's writing. This book does not disappoint. No Spoilers but I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Super good

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Wonderful!

    Uses a superhero milieu to tell both a cracking good adventure and a story about family (both blood and chosen). Cannot recommend this highly enough. You'll laugh, cry, and see yourself in this book. Touching, entertaining, and funny even if you know nothing about comics; doubly so if you do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    An interesting premise, the unexceptional daughter of two famous

    An interesting premise, the unexceptional daughter of two famous superhero parents. I thought the writing was rather poor, especially the dialogue; so corny. To sum of the review: a good idea, but lamely executed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Very good!

    I enjoyed this book a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2