Customer Reviews for

After the Kiss: Sex, Love & Stiletto Series

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    Julie Greene has been commanded by her boss Camille, via the hai

    Julie Greene has been commanded by her boss Camille, via the hair sway, to write beyond the first date, the first kiss, to go deeper.  Deeper isn’t Julie’s thing, she thrives on the first, knows the rules and is a pro at the game.  She doesn’t want to meet parents or, God forbid, do a movie night.  Julie does the fun dating stuff, not actual relationships.  Shallow?  Guilty as charged but it’s a lot more fun this way.   That’s not the half of it though…. Camille has assigned her nemesis, Kelli, as an alternate. Over her dead body is the only way that’s happening.




    Stiletto Magazine is the magazine and Julie, Grace Brighton and Riley McKenna are, quite literally, the Dating, Love, and Sex Department.  
    While making a charity appearance at the MoMA Julie, Grace, and Riley, hatch what they consider a brilliant plan.  Julie will find a man to start a pretend relationship with that goes beyond a few weeks of dates.  In fact, Grace knows the perfect man. Mitchell Forbes.  Mitchell is a Wall Street colleague of Grace’s boyfriend, Greg, and just broke up with his girlfriend of two years, Evelyn.
    Mitchell Forbes is predictable. He’s never had a fling or one night stand. His colleague, Colin, bets him half his Yankee season tickets that he can’t do a fling.  Now that things are over with Evelyn it’s just what he needs isn’t it?  Can he do it?




    Mitchell’s thoughts on first seeing Julie…
    She looked like California chic had collided with East Coast reserve and gotten it all wrong.
    Julie’s thoughts on Mitchell..
    Pinstripes. Good Lord. Ten bucks says he has a pocket protector.
    Let the games begin…




    Hilarious. I laughed my way through the first part of AFTER THE KISS.  Mitchell keeps Julie off center, never being quite what she expects and blowing her away with the “kiss from the gods.”, among other things.
    Julie gives up all pretenses and practiced moves with Mitchell, surprising him by actually having depth, intelligence, and a personality.  
    Neither is what the other expected.  Having their misconceptions blown away while they truly get to know the person beneath the public facade is loaded with humor and fun.  
    Julie wanted an article out of this “relationship” and Mitchell wanted Yankee tickets for half the season, they’re both getting exactly what they weren’t looking for and didn’t want.  You can see the train wreck coming.  
    Ms. Layne’s writing snagged me from the beginning.  Mitchell and Julie’s lively banter complete with snarky asides and thoughts, their believable evolution to a real couple and dreading the moment they discover the original reasons each sought the other made AFTER THE KISS hard to put down.  Despite having a good idea of how things would play out I was still 100% vested. 
    The whole package blends wonderfully to make AFTER THE KISS an addictive delight.  Looking forward to Grace’s story, Love the One You’re With.  I’m fairly confident Riley will have her book but sincerely have my fingers crossed that Camille will get her HEA.   Reviewed by IvyD for Miss Ivy's Book Nook

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Good Read

    I actually read the second book of this series first, then went back and read the first one. This book was very similar to the second one, but still enjoyable. Julie is an orphan and has a hard time with relationships. Mitchell has been in a long term relationship but realizes that it wasn't right. The two both enter into their relationship basically for a dare. There is a lot of emotion in this book, from both characters and it's a bit of a roller coaster. Very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Julie Greene is a journalist working for one Manhattan's trendie

    Julie Greene is a journalist working for one Manhattan's trendiest magazines. Her reputation is to never reach the stage of staying home to watch movies as a date night. Her editor gives her the assignment of finding someone to date to actually reach that stage. Who can she find to conduct her experiment? Enter Mitchell Forbes.




    Mitchell Forbes has had relationships that tend to be long lasting commitments. A co-worker bets Mitchell that he can't become involved in a short term relationship and then end it. What's at stake? Season tickets for the Yankees.




    After the Kiss is a fast, fun, sexy read with good character development and witty dialogue I recommend this story. Lauren Layne gave great insight into both Julie's and Mitchell's feelings as their relationship progressed.








    Copy provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Quick cute read

    Loved the story and the characters. Well writtrn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    There are similarities in this story to one of my favorite movie

    There are similarities in this story to one of my favorite movies, "How to lose a guy in 10 days", which made me absolutely eat it up. Similar, but it's own story. This was an easy read. It was enjoyable and funny. The characters had that humorous banter going on with one another while playing a game and falling in love. 




    A copy was provided to me from the publisher via Netgalley for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    Good Book! This is the first book I have read by Lauren Layne a

    Good Book!

    This is the first book I have read by Lauren Layne and I truly liked it. To begin with, it has a Sex and the City vibe, which I found extremely enjoyable since the TV show remains one of my all time favorites. I love Ms. Layne's writing style because it is smooth, evenly paced and fresh. Secondly, the chemistry between Julie and Mitchell is hot and their evolving feelings are palpable. Lastly, the combination of angst, love and friendship is wonderfully executed. I will definitely read more from this series.

    Book provided by NetGalley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    ****

    This was a very good read. I was just a little bit disappointed that it ended so quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Good read...

    164pgs

    Good story....reminded me of the story line of the movie How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Star Review - After The Kiss (Sex, Love & Stiletto Serie

    4.5 Star Review - After The Kiss (Sex, Love & Stiletto Series # 1 series)
    I recommend this book.
    I enjoyed this book by Lauren. This book includes drama, passion, betrayal and romance throughout the entire story.
    Julie Greene needs to write an article for the magazine about a relationship. So after talking with her best girlfriends they decide that she needs to go undercover and fake date a man to get the info. They know just the man.
    Mitchell Forbes has just broken up with a long term girlfriend. At a get together his co-worker bets Mitchell that he can’t have a fling with a woman without falling for her and thinking of marriage. He accepts the bet and his co-worker points out Julie.
    With Julie and Mitchell dating each other both of them keep the secret of why they are dating from each other. The more dates they go on the closer they grow. Now how are they going to back out of the article and the bet with the co-worker?
    Will they be able to make the right decision? Will they be able to forgive each other when the truth comes out?
    You can feel the chemistry between the two throughout the book. You also feel there conflict as the days go on and their feelings for each other grow.
    Look forward to the next book in this series.
    Love the One You're With : Sex, Love & Stiletto Series #2 - Due out December 09, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Mitchell and Julie. Sigh.  We have a plot with a lot in common w

    Mitchell and Julie. Sigh.  We have a plot with a lot in common with How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days. Fashion Magazine Columnist  type
     out for a story and a guy with a competing bet that pushes too opposites together until they really fall in love and then what do they do?  
    The assignment is different as is a bet but the outcomes of romantic drama is the same and just as good. 

    There is resistance, agnst, guilt, and a wonderful coming to terms.  Good stuff. And the sexy times are so well done that we really feel
    how Mitchell and Julie are really overwhelmed by the physical and emotion chemistry that propels them deep into relationship land. 

    Because of the nature of Julie's job and that of her friends as sex, dating and relationship writer, the book also delivers some fun and
     philosophical exploration of love that give this love story a little something extra.

    At first, I don't like Julie. She is just not my kind of gal.  She is a high maintenance, girlie-girl, and this new trend in romance heroines--
    deliberately shallow. Shallowness as self protection is a riveting character device I have seen in a number of books lately. She has
    close friends but we don't have enough time with her with them in settings to show her in a more intimate relationship. I get the feeling
    even these relationships are not as close as they should be for her.  I grow to really like Julie as Mitchell does when she is her snarky
    non people pleasing self. When she is real. The move is hard to to pull and Lyons does it beautifully!  She grows and is vulnerable and
     we love her. 

    Mitchell is uptight and constrained and planned.  It is always great to see these types all mussed up. Mitchell also becomes more real
    and more himself. He can be restrained but doesn't need to be constrained by what he thinks is the way to be. I love his cussing and
    alphaness. He is good at saying I am sorry as well.  He has yummy glasses too. 

    There is a slight feel of the best parts of chick lit here but really we are all romance. Yea!

    Very good stuff!

    I can't wait for Grace's story.

    I am thrilled that Loveswept is bring it with the new books and taking advantage of e publishing to bring their wonderful authors to a wider romance audience. 


    I highly recommend this book.

    I was given this book to read for my honest review. So, there you have it! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    Have you ever started a relationship under false pretenses, just

    Have you ever started a relationship under false pretenses, just to have it turn very real on you? Have you ever took a dare or made a bet and at the moment, it was a great idea, but….?

    Welcome to Julie and Mitchell’s world. If you haven’t been in this situation, then sit back and enjoy the story. For those who have…just be patient with our hero and heroine. LOL. This book is a fast read that will entertain you. It’s a story that has been told in many different ways, but never gets old. For those with grammatical interests, for me..I couldn’t find any misspellings. I don’t do spoilers, so I’ll try to keep the “experience” firmly planted in your capable hands.  
    The characters in this story are very endearing, even though you know how the story will end. Our leading man, Mitchell Forbes, is not the typical man. He’s actually a one woman kind of man. Is he able to change that status? Naturally if our hero is normally a one woman kind of man then, our leading lady, Julie Greene, must be the opposite. Will she be able to change or even want too? So when they each are challenged by others~for different reasons~to find a person that’s considered “safe” to be with~which is the polar opposite of what they are used to dating…well lets just say, things get a little challenging for them. Here let me give you an example:

    “He wanted to know more. To know her. Don’t even think about it, Forbes. This was supposed to be a fling, not a budding relationship. Emotional entanglement was one major step in the wrong direction. Feeling like a jerk, he remained silent.”
     
    “And it was effective. Too effective. His time was up. Julie had a steadfast rule that the first kiss should never last more than two minutes. Enough to get a feel for the other person, but just enough mystery to leave him wanting more. Pull back. Pull back now.“
     
    Ok that’s all the hinting you’re going to get out of me. If you want to read a book that I consider an easy, good flowing, afternoon read then, ‘After the Kiss,’ by Lauren Layne, is the one to curl up with. Yes it’s predictable but, I truly enjoyed it! For my grammatical guru friends out there…I couldn’t find any misspelled words. This story line is one that I hope Lauren continues with the other characters, because I would buy them. If you want to know what happens in the middle of this story, guess what you have to do….BUY THE BOOK!! You won’t be disappointed. The only reason I’m giving this book a four star, is solely for the predictability. Great job Lauren Layne…keep ‘em coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1