BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

After the Kiss: A Sex, Love & Stiletto Novel

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Loved it!!!!

    Haven't read a book that i have enjoyed this much in a long time! Great banter , sex and friendship! Would recommend as long as you have several uninterupted hours to spend because you won 't beable to put it down!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2013

    I receieved a copy of this title from Net Galley in exchange for

    I receieved a copy of this title from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review

    What a fun new series! I was pretty excited to get a copy of this book to review and I certainly was not disappointed. Lauren Layne created characters that were instantly likeable and interesting. The chemistry between Julie and Mitchell was intense and made for a fabulous read. The book was funny and steamy...my favorite combination in a romance novel. The writing was clever and fluid and the story was engaging. The plot reminded me of two movies: How to Lose a Guy in 10 days and Never Been Kissed. As a romantic, I was impressed by how accurately the author captured the process of transitioning from dating to a relationship. This was a fun and quick read and I am eager to follow the series to see how Grace and Riley fair in the game of love. This is the perfect weekend read to entertain you and make you swoon. I know I certainly want my own Mitchell after reading this story. I would highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    Julie Greene has been commanded by her boss Camille, via the hai

    Julie Greene has been commanded by her boss Camille, via the hair sway, to write beyond the first date, the first kiss, to go deeper.  Deeper isn’t Julie’s thing, she thrives on the first, knows the rules and is a pro at the game.  She doesn’t want to meet parents or, God forbid, do a movie night.  Julie does the fun dating stuff, not actual relationships.  Shallow?  Guilty as charged but it’s a lot more fun this way.   That’s not the half of it though…. Camille has assigned her nemesis, Kelli, as an alternate. Over her dead body is the only way that’s happening.




    Stiletto Magazine is the magazine and Julie, Grace Brighton and Riley McKenna are, quite literally, the Dating, Love, and Sex Department.  
    While making a charity appearance at the MoMA Julie, Grace, and Riley, hatch what they consider a brilliant plan.  Julie will find a man to start a pretend relationship with that goes beyond a few weeks of dates.  In fact, Grace knows the perfect man. Mitchell Forbes.  Mitchell is a Wall Street colleague of Grace’s boyfriend, Greg, and just broke up with his girlfriend of two years, Evelyn.
    Mitchell Forbes is predictable. He’s never had a fling or one night stand. His colleague, Colin, bets him half his Yankee season tickets that he can’t do a fling.  Now that things are over with Evelyn it’s just what he needs isn’t it?  Can he do it?




    Mitchell’s thoughts on first seeing Julie…
    She looked like California chic had collided with East Coast reserve and gotten it all wrong.
    Julie’s thoughts on Mitchell..
    Pinstripes. Good Lord. Ten bucks says he has a pocket protector.
    Let the games begin…




    Hilarious. I laughed my way through the first part of AFTER THE KISS.  Mitchell keeps Julie off center, never being quite what she expects and blowing her away with the “kiss from the gods.”, among other things.
    Julie gives up all pretenses and practiced moves with Mitchell, surprising him by actually having depth, intelligence, and a personality.  
    Neither is what the other expected.  Having their misconceptions blown away while they truly get to know the person beneath the public facade is loaded with humor and fun.  
    Julie wanted an article out of this “relationship” and Mitchell wanted Yankee tickets for half the season, they’re both getting exactly what they weren’t looking for and didn’t want.  You can see the train wreck coming.  
    Ms. Layne’s writing snagged me from the beginning.  Mitchell and Julie’s lively banter complete with snarky asides and thoughts, their believable evolution to a real couple and dreading the moment they discover the original reasons each sought the other made AFTER THE KISS hard to put down.  Despite having a good idea of how things would play out I was still 100% vested. 
    The whole package blends wonderfully to make AFTER THE KISS an addictive delight.  Looking forward to Grace’s story, Love the One You’re With.  I’m fairly confident Riley will have her book but sincerely have my fingers crossed that Camille will get her HEA.   Reviewed by IvyD for Miss Ivy's Book Nook

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    Dear phille

    I want u btw my names katie

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2014

    To katie

    I will

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Read

    This is a trite rendition of " How to Loose a Guy in Ten Days". 164 nook pages of shallowness. Other books by this author are pretty good, but this one is not

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Loved it!

    Really enjoyed it from start to finish couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Jake

    Walks in

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Fuq a sexy mute guy

    At bdo res one

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Hi

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Loved this series!

    Lauren Layne is my new favorite author! Her writing style reminds me of Jill Shalvis, Rachel Gibson, and even Julie James! This was a great series and I fell in love with all the characters. They were believable and her books made you feel as if your a part of the story. I hope Lauren Layne writes about Alex and Emma. That was the only disappointment....three books but 4 characters. Can't wait for more from this author!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Good Read

    I actually read the second book of this series first, then went back and read the first one. This book was very similar to the second one, but still enjoyable. Julie is an orphan and has a hard time with relationships. Mitchell has been in a long term relationship but realizes that it wasn't right. The two both enter into their relationship basically for a dare. There is a lot of emotion in this book, from both characters and it's a bit of a roller coaster. Very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Ashley

    Cleans her cuts on her hands with rubbing alcohol....

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Hghh

    Huhh

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Julie Greene is a journalist working for one Manhattan's trendie

    Julie Greene is a journalist working for one Manhattan's trendiest magazines. Her reputation is to never reach the stage of staying home to watch movies as a date night. Her editor gives her the assignment of finding someone to date to actually reach that stage. Who can she find to conduct her experiment? Enter Mitchell Forbes.




    Mitchell Forbes has had relationships that tend to be long lasting commitments. A co-worker bets Mitchell that he can't become involved in a short term relationship and then end it. What's at stake? Season tickets for the Yankees.




    After the Kiss is a fast, fun, sexy read with good character development and witty dialogue I recommend this story. Lauren Layne gave great insight into both Julie's and Mitchell's feelings as their relationship progressed.








    Copy provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Quick cute read

    Loved the story and the characters. Well writtrn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    There are similarities in this story to one of my favorite movie

    There are similarities in this story to one of my favorite movies, "How to lose a guy in 10 days", which made me absolutely eat it up. Similar, but it's own story. This was an easy read. It was enjoyable and funny. The characters had that humorous banter going on with one another while playing a game and falling in love. 




    A copy was provided to me from the publisher via Netgalley for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

    Loved the book..... story was just too short... 164 pages!!!

    Loved the book..... story was just too short... 164 pages!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    Good Book! This is the first book I have read by Lauren Layne a

    Good Book!

    This is the first book I have read by Lauren Layne and I truly liked it. To begin with, it has a Sex and the City vibe, which I found extremely enjoyable since the TV show remains one of my all time favorites. I love Ms. Layne's writing style because it is smooth, evenly paced and fresh. Secondly, the chemistry between Julie and Mitchell is hot and their evolving feelings are palpable. Lastly, the combination of angst, love and friendship is wonderfully executed. I will definitely read more from this series.

    Book provided by NetGalley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2