Customer Reviews for

After the Kiss

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

okay book

the book at first was confusing but whe i started to really read it got into because i could relate to what was going on in the book .

posted by 2916075 on August 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

DONT BUY!!!!!!!! IT WAS REALLY BAD!

It is just a wast of money not worth it

posted by 10031677 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    DONT BUY!!!!!!!! IT WAS REALLY BAD!

    It is just a wast of money not worth it

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Ugh!

    I hate the structure in this book. It's so distracting and unorganized that I lose focus on the book itself. I find myself focusing more on structure than content. I'll try reading again because it sounds pretty interesting. To any readers, leave your time open so you can focus on both structure and conteng. Good luck.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    okay book

    the book at first was confusing but whe i started to really read it got into because i could relate to what was going on in the book .

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    LOVED IT!! (KAITE K)

    I loved the book (even though I haven't finished reading it) but its a little bit inappropiate because there is a sex secene and it is when Alec and her start having sex. I reccomend this book ONLY to kids 13 years and older.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Loved it

    I loved this book i couldnt stop reading it. I read to oage 284 in one day!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Not that bad

    Its not that bad book but i i got cufuzed at first. But caught up later on the only thing i hate about this book is how becca is all like i want to see alec so bad and she is all clingy to alec that is so stupid

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a lovely book that tells a wonderful story. While the s

    This is a lovely book that tells a wonderful story. While the structure
    is very different from the conventional mainstream novel, it is very
    well written and tells a story that is very pertinent to the teenage
    drama most kids experience on a daily basis. The novel is written in
    verse. Perhaps this is a big part of the reason many readers did not
    understand and/or like the novel. However, I thought it was incredibly
    clever. I also found it interesting that the two main characters, the
    two narrators, never really get to know each other or come to some sort
    of understanding. While I believe Camille comes to understand Becca, I
    don't think Becca ever really realizes how things were for Camille.
    This proves to be elementally unnecessary, however. I think Becca gets
    what she needs out of the situation in the end and her understanding of
    Camille is not required. It is enough that Becca realizes she does not
    need to get revenge against Camille and that she is better off moving
    beyond both Camille and Alex that is important to the overall plot and
    Becca's personal growth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    McVoy looks at this familiar situation in a new way and from all sides in this clever verse novel

    Camille isn't impressed with her new town. It's nothing like her old town (or the one before that, or the one before that). It's tedious making new friends during senior year only to move on like she always does, like they all will with college around the corner. Still, she'll put on a show and pretend it all matters while she marks time until her escape.

    That's always been her process and the plan is no different here. Not until she meets Alec at a party. He isn't the boy she left behind. But he's here. He's smart. He's a poet. That's pretty close to perfect.

    Camille doesn't want to get involved or care, not really. But when Alec kisses her out of nowhere at a party isn't that what he's asking for? Isn't that the right thing to do?

    Becca is in love and it's wonderful. She sees Alec after school, on the weekends, during her free time. Being with him, being a girlfriend to his boyfriend, doesn't leave a lot of time for other things. But Alec is enough. He's smart. He's a poet. He's perfect. In fact, they're perfect for each other.

    At least, Becca thought so until Alec kisses some girl at a party.

    After the kiss Becca is heartbroken, Camille is confused. In another life they might have been found each other as friends. That won't happen now, but maybe after everything they can find themselves instead in After the Kiss (2010) by Terra Elan McVoy.

    Love triangles are nothing new in young adult literature, or any literature really. But McVoy looks at this familiar situation in a new way and from all sides in this clever verse novel. Even though the book is ostensibly about a kiss and romance, it's more than that too as both Becca and Camille are forced to take a hard look at who they are before and after the kiss in alternating narrations in their own unique poetic styles.

    Both of the characters, especially Becca for me, are authentic narrators who grow and change throughout the story. They are achingly human with moments where they are unlikable and far from perfect. Still by the end of the story readers will find themselves cheering for both heroines and wondering, like the girls themselves, how things could have been different without that kiss.

    After the Kiss is McVoy's second novel. It is also a smart, smart book written in verse that is filled with emotion, humor, and even nods to other famous poets. If you are an English major or just a poetry lover After the Kiss is a must read.

    Possible Pairings: A Little Wanting Song by Cath Crowley, The Lonely Hearts Club by Elizabeth Eulberg, The Boy Book by E. Lockhart, The Unwritten Rule by Elizabeth Scott

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Great!

    I loved this book!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Addiction Reviews

    This is a beautifully weaved take on a love triangle type situation, pitched through alternating points of view that are connected in an invisible way. Though it took me a little to really get into the novel, it was well worth it. Camille and Becca have separate lyrical styles, one more prose than the other but it certainly helps paint their overall unique perspectives.

    The pacing, first and foremost, is unique and endearing. Some events that are classically elaborated on in most books are instead surpassed here, letting the reader know what happened without going into detail. Things rush unexpectedly before slowing again, helping to create the overall feeling of being overwhelemed with events and unsure how to respond. This particular facet did not come across as choppy, instead drawing the reader in more and forcing attention to keep up with the sometimes rapidly occuring events.

    Despite the two points of view, there is little retelling and choppy overlap and changes. These are two separate stories, twined together because of Alec without either girl knowing the other before his actions. Even after said kiss, the two girls remain strangers, showing the mayhem on each side and pitching each in a vulnerable, victim type light without one girl being particularly in the wrong over the other, at least within each perspective.

    Though this book is in lyrical form, each girls' personality comes out strongly, creating the overall picture of who they've become over the years, their home life, and their habits and drives. McVoy does a phenomenal job keeping them separate yet together, allowing the kiss to take place early in the book and showing in sometimes great and other times vague detail the aftermath.

    The most notable aspect of this book is the manner in which McVoy chose to bring these two girls together, putting them face to face despite what happened and continuing to play the events out. Her final outcome was surprising and beautifully played, as was Alec's ultimate ending of the story. Despite the dual perspectives, McVoy brought forth each girl's mentality and pulled the reader in to them through her strong writing even in a lyrical setting. With the many unique elements added in, even with a commonly used love triangle type premise, McVoy has created something that will stand out and engage the reader.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    After The Kiss was a delightful story!

    After The Kiss was a delightful story written in a charming poetic verse. At first, I was feeling perplexed since I'm not used to reading this type of style. However, the fluidity of Becca and Camille's point of views were easy to follow. Once I got into the rhythm, I started enjoying the plot and relatable characters. Becca, was an engrossing individual. I didn't really understand her complexity until she started working at the coffee shop. Camille, was a cautious yet respectable and level-headed young lady. I gravitated towards her attitude even though drama fell into her lap.

    Alec, Becca's boyfriend, was a jerk. After Becca started working and establishing responsibilities, her time became limited. A supportive boyfriend would remain by her side. But, Alec was nothing but a weak minded man. His mistake of kissing the new girl Camille, cost Becca her heart. I felt every emotion Becca went through since I know what it feels like to be cheated on. I started seeing how fragile and depended she was on Alec. But, I admired her courage and restraint for dealing with the heartbreak. Both characters grew throughout the book and I was glad to see an enlightening ending. Overall, a great way to start loving poetic versed novels, I am excited to also pick up Pure and every other future release by Terra!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2