Customer Reviews for

After the Kiss

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

okay book

the book at first was confusing but whe i started to really read it got into because i could relate to what was going on in the book .

posted by 2916075 on August 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

DONT BUY!!!!!!!! IT WAS REALLY BAD!

It is just a wast of money not worth it

posted by 10031677 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a lovely book that tells a wonderful story. While the s

    This is a lovely book that tells a wonderful story. While the structure
    is very different from the conventional mainstream novel, it is very
    well written and tells a story that is very pertinent to the teenage
    drama most kids experience on a daily basis. The novel is written in
    verse. Perhaps this is a big part of the reason many readers did not
    understand and/or like the novel. However, I thought it was incredibly
    clever. I also found it interesting that the two main characters, the
    two narrators, never really get to know each other or come to some sort
    of understanding. While I believe Camille comes to understand Becca, I
    don't think Becca ever really realizes how things were for Camille.
    This proves to be elementally unnecessary, however. I think Becca gets
    what she needs out of the situation in the end and her understanding of
    Camille is not required. It is enough that Becca realizes she does not
    need to get revenge against Camille and that she is better off moving
    beyond both Camille and Alex that is important to the overall plot and
    Becca's personal growth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Addiction Reviews

    This is a beautifully weaved take on a love triangle type situation, pitched through alternating points of view that are connected in an invisible way. Though it took me a little to really get into the novel, it was well worth it. Camille and Becca have separate lyrical styles, one more prose than the other but it certainly helps paint their overall unique perspectives.

    The pacing, first and foremost, is unique and endearing. Some events that are classically elaborated on in most books are instead surpassed here, letting the reader know what happened without going into detail. Things rush unexpectedly before slowing again, helping to create the overall feeling of being overwhelemed with events and unsure how to respond. This particular facet did not come across as choppy, instead drawing the reader in more and forcing attention to keep up with the sometimes rapidly occuring events.

    Despite the two points of view, there is little retelling and choppy overlap and changes. These are two separate stories, twined together because of Alec without either girl knowing the other before his actions. Even after said kiss, the two girls remain strangers, showing the mayhem on each side and pitching each in a vulnerable, victim type light without one girl being particularly in the wrong over the other, at least within each perspective.

    Though this book is in lyrical form, each girls' personality comes out strongly, creating the overall picture of who they've become over the years, their home life, and their habits and drives. McVoy does a phenomenal job keeping them separate yet together, allowing the kiss to take place early in the book and showing in sometimes great and other times vague detail the aftermath.

    The most notable aspect of this book is the manner in which McVoy chose to bring these two girls together, putting them face to face despite what happened and continuing to play the events out. Her final outcome was surprising and beautifully played, as was Alec's ultimate ending of the story. Despite the dual perspectives, McVoy brought forth each girl's mentality and pulled the reader in to them through her strong writing even in a lyrical setting. With the many unique elements added in, even with a commonly used love triangle type premise, McVoy has created something that will stand out and engage the reader.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    After The Kiss was a delightful story!

    After The Kiss was a delightful story written in a charming poetic verse. At first, I was feeling perplexed since I'm not used to reading this type of style. However, the fluidity of Becca and Camille's point of views were easy to follow. Once I got into the rhythm, I started enjoying the plot and relatable characters. Becca, was an engrossing individual. I didn't really understand her complexity until she started working at the coffee shop. Camille, was a cautious yet respectable and level-headed young lady. I gravitated towards her attitude even though drama fell into her lap.

    Alec, Becca's boyfriend, was a jerk. After Becca started working and establishing responsibilities, her time became limited. A supportive boyfriend would remain by her side. But, Alec was nothing but a weak minded man. His mistake of kissing the new girl Camille, cost Becca her heart. I felt every emotion Becca went through since I know what it feels like to be cheated on. I started seeing how fragile and depended she was on Alec. But, I admired her courage and restraint for dealing with the heartbreak. Both characters grew throughout the book and I was glad to see an enlightening ending. Overall, a great way to start loving poetic versed novels, I am excited to also pick up Pure and every other future release by Terra!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1