Customer Reviews for

After the Rain

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

An exceptional story...

Suzanne Paris is on the run, her ex fiancé Anthony deSalvo making her life miserable, when she makes a snap decision to get off her Atlanta bound bus in Walton, Georgia. Trying to find a ride into town, she encounters mayor Joe Warner, his 6 kids along with Aunt Lucind...
Suzanne Paris is on the run, her ex fiancé Anthony deSalvo making her life miserable, when she makes a snap decision to get off her Atlanta bound bus in Walton, Georgia. Trying to find a ride into town, she encounters mayor Joe Warner, his 6 kids along with Aunt Lucinda, who insist she accompany them. Walton is a small town, not even boasting a hotel, so Joe finds a place for Suzanne to stay, and unknowingly ensconces her into his, and his family¿s life. Suzanne is unfamiliar with children, but Joe¿s kids seem to grow on her as she does them. Joe, being the mayor, teacher and single dad, doesn¿t have much time left for relationships, and really hasn¿t considered once since his wife passed away. But as the story progresses, he and Suzanne have something going on between them that can¿t be ignored, and with the help of the kids and huge cast of secondary characters, manage to snag time for themselves. Suzanne knows the day will come when her past will catch up with her and she will have to move on, but this is made more difficult as Joe and half the population of Walton entwine themselves around her heart. As Joe and Suzanne chip away at the armor surrounding their souls, and the local bully running against Joe for mayor try to make things more difficult for them, the reader can only hope that they get what they deserve in life, that being each other. This is an exceptional book!

posted by Anonymous on April 2, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Love It, Love It

Karen White is one of my favorite authors and this, in my opinion is one of her best books. She is best at her love stories and she shines in this one.

posted by baePA on January 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2003

    An exceptional story...

    Suzanne Paris is on the run, her ex fiancé Anthony deSalvo making her life miserable, when she makes a snap decision to get off her Atlanta bound bus in Walton, Georgia. Trying to find a ride into town, she encounters mayor Joe Warner, his 6 kids along with Aunt Lucinda, who insist she accompany them. Walton is a small town, not even boasting a hotel, so Joe finds a place for Suzanne to stay, and unknowingly ensconces her into his, and his family¿s life. Suzanne is unfamiliar with children, but Joe¿s kids seem to grow on her as she does them. Joe, being the mayor, teacher and single dad, doesn¿t have much time left for relationships, and really hasn¿t considered once since his wife passed away. But as the story progresses, he and Suzanne have something going on between them that can¿t be ignored, and with the help of the kids and huge cast of secondary characters, manage to snag time for themselves. Suzanne knows the day will come when her past will catch up with her and she will have to move on, but this is made more difficult as Joe and half the population of Walton entwine themselves around her heart. As Joe and Suzanne chip away at the armor surrounding their souls, and the local bully running against Joe for mayor try to make things more difficult for them, the reader can only hope that they get what they deserve in life, that being each other. This is an exceptional book!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    Please.....just review the book....not tell the whole story....a

    Please.....just review the book....not tell the whole story....also...don''t use this area as an e-mail site. Not classy at all.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Amazing

    Very well written and an excellent summer read. White keeps the characters from Falling Home just as vivid in the follow-up as the first one. The type-o's are a little unnerving, but as long as you can see past that, you are in for a treat.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book!!

    I read this as well as the prequel falling home...both books are wonderful!! They make you feel like you are part of the story. You really get to know and love all the characters!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Love It, Love It

    Karen White is one of my favorite authors and this, in my opinion is one of her best books. She is best at her love stories and she shines in this one.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    As soon as I finished Karen White's novel, Falling Home, I picke

    As soon as I finished Karen White's novel, Falling Home, I picked up After The Rain. I could not wait to continue the story. Unfortunately, I was somewhat disappointed. Don't get me wrong, this is still a good book but not as good as Falling Home. Part of me really wanted Sam and Cassie's story to continue, and in a way it did, it just was not the focus of this novel.

    After The Rain picks up three years after Harriet's death. Joe is trying to pick up the pieces for not only him but also for his six children. This story can be heartbreaking at times but also hopeful. Life does go on for the living.

    Ms. Lena cracks me up with her romance novels and her comments on sex, as only any 80 something woman could do. Hilarious at times, you just laugh out loud.

    I found that this book was sometimes repetitive and lost a bit of its luster for me but all in all I did like the book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Keeps me wanting more

    I love following the story after it "ends" and this was no exception. I'm hooked on Karen White's manner of writing. I'm always thrilled when the writer matures her characters, empowers her protagonist and shares the growing pains, especially of families and siblings over the years.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    great read

    Wish the book was longer. It was such a wonderful family to get to know

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    I loved this Nook book!

    As usual Karen never disappoints! After reading Falling Home, set in Walton, GA with some special characters, could not wait to return to catch up with the small town cast (Cassie and more). After the rain is also set in Walton, GA with the main character of Suzanne, a photographer from Chicago is passing thru Georgia and lands in Walton on the bus. Suzanne is running away from her past and secrets. She thinks she will be able to hideout her; however, anything but as this town embraces her.

    Needing a mother of her own, she meets all sorts of mother figures and some she can be a mother to as well. Of course, she meets Joe, a mayor and a school teacher whose wife died 3 yrs ago and raising six children with an eccentric aunt (loved this character). As Suzanne only anticipates staying for a short visit, falls in love and finally learns the meaning of home. She befriends Maddie, Joe’s teenage daughter; however, in the process some secrets come out which can cause all sorts of issues for everyone. The book was well-written, funny, loveable, and true to life….makes you want to go back to small town living!

    Looking forward to reading Karen’s next book – “The Time Between” June 2013.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Amazing

    Favorite author ever!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    I must say, this book is not Karen's best. She has grown as a wr

    I must say, this book is not Karen's best. She has grown as a writer since this book's first release - but it is still enjoyable and worth reading. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Suzanne Paris, as she is now calling herself, is a freelance pho

    Suzanne Paris, as she is now calling herself, is a freelance photographer who is running away. We don’t know for a long time where she’s from but we do know that she is a woman who for years has had no “hometown” and immediately goes on the run whenever anyone tries to get too close or begins to start connecting dots to the mystery of her past. It’s a lonely life; and despite Suzanne’s tough exterior appearance, underneath she’s like a tightly-wired machine that is super-exhausted underneath.

    Suzanne’s luck is holding so far when she decides to get off a cross-country bus in Walton, Georgia, a typical Southern town with extraordinary hospitality and just as extraordinary nosiness. Everyone knows everyone and makes sure everyone else knows the whole story about each resident, guest and visitor! One has to laugh if it didn’t freak out Suzanne more, yet one does as the caring nature of these “strangers” is warming to the heart, a counter to the irritating qualities of town busybodies.

    The first person Suzanne meets is the town mayor, Joe Warner, a man totally blasted from taking care of his six kids and grieving today for his wife who died years ago. In fact, he grieves as intensely as he did the day she died. He seems to always be showing up in situations where Suzanne is desperate for help and at first her irritation at his questioning is downright annoying. That takes quite a while to overcome and their relationship begins to improve when Suzanne shares her gift for photography with Joe’s daughter, Maddie, and gradually becomes a major influence in her life. So the story goes on and on and on….

    All the characters have something to learn about their strengths and weaknesses. Suzanne may look “tough as nails” but has a heart of gold and is a very, very talented, skilled, sensitive photographer. Slowly but surely the picture gets better and better until the past returns with a vengeance and seems to make everything go wrong. Will it all be sorted and resolved – no spoilers here, LOL!

    After the Rain is another hit novel for Karen White who knows how to balance the ups and downs of emotional women and crisis situations with just the right amount of revelation to make each scene more than credible. She is one very knowledgeable and talented writer, proven again in this wonderful work of romance and/or contemporary fiction!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Great story well written

    Beautifully written, you feel the book, the characters, the whole story. You dont need a synopsis of the story in a review. This is a really wonderful author and a truly good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Ivyleaf of Silverclan

    Wow, that's amazing! Continue!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    MY REVEIW

    Goood make more +(Lyra)+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    AUTUMNWIND'S FATE - CHAPTER ONE

    CHAPTER ONE: Autumnkit leaped at the snow dancing in the sky. It was her first leaf-fall, and therefore, she and her littermates had never seen snow before. A tiny, glittering snowflake landed on Autumnkit's nose. She crossed her eyes, trying to see it better. "Look! It likes me!" she called happily. Stormpaw, an apprentice parcticing his battle moves on the other side of camp, scoffed. "Snow doesn't have feelings, mouse-brain," he meowed. Autumnkit looked at him, aner flaring quickly in her green eyes. Usually, she was kind, but she also had a fiery temper that was quick to catch aflame. "And neither do you," she retorted. Stormpaw rolled his eyes. "Oh, that's cold. I bet you couldn't think of anything better." Autumnkit was about to leap at him, claws unsheathed, when her mother cuffed her over the ear. "Be nice," Sunflight warned. Autumnkit huffed. "Fine," she grumbled, watching Stormpaw out if the corner of her eyes. He was talking to his sister, Softpaw, now. Fortunately, Softpaw seemed to have inherited all the nice traits, while Stormpaw had the mean ones. Stormpaw caught her staring at him and rolled his eyes again, leaning over to whisper in Softpaw's ear. Softpaw cuffed him on the head. Autumnkit snorted and turned away, padding toward her littermates, Moosekit and Risingkit. "Stormpaw's such a mouse-bran," she huffed to her brothers. They both nodded. "Yeah, I hatd him. He made fun of Fernkit yesterday," Risingkit added. Everyone knew that Risingkit had a huge crush on Fernkit. Moosekit opened his mouth to say something just as a warrior named Redfang bursed into camp, breathless, yowling, "Badger attack!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Redstorm

    (Could you add this as a character? If not it's fine!)
    Redstorm- a white tom with deep ginger ears, paws, and tail. There is a deep ginger stripe from his nose to the base of his tail. He has stormy grey eyes that are flecked with black. He is strong, brave, and courageous. He is fiercely loyal to his Clan.
    Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Stormflower of Skyclan

    I like it keep writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Lillykit of Horseclan

    Amazing! Write more! So good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    A book you must read! It's the sequel to Falling Home!

    If you read the first book Falling Home you have to read After The Rain. It has a woman running away from her past and a man who doesn't want the past to fade away. A perfect story telling you live for now not dwelling in the past for things you can't change or bring back. I know everyone will love the story behind Suzanne Paris and Joe Warner. The town of Walton, Georgia is full of caring people who are genuine in believing in the best of others and protecting their town from people who would harm Walton and the people who live there. You'll have good laughs and tears reading and worry for what the outcome will be. I hope everyone will enjoy the book as much as I did! If you haven't read the first book please read it, these books would probably be my favorite from Karen White and the Tradd Street series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3