Customer Reviews for

After the Wreck, I Picked Myself Up, Spread My Wings, and Flew Away

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Magnificent

    This book is about a girl whos struggling to forget the memories of the wreck.a boy named crow will help her confront those fears and help her to fly away.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    ?????????

    How was it on a scale of 1-10 ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Reccomended!!!!!!!

    I really enjoyed this book from srart to finish. All of the roadblocks in her way made the story captivating and motivating! I would definetely reccomend!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Adventurous!!!!

    This book is about a young girl that goes through a lot of things that many teenagers go through today. I can relate to this book a lot because the things that happened in the book happen every day in real life. At the beginning of the book I was a little confused about some of the phrases the author used. But later on I started to understand a lot better. It made more since when I really got into the book. I deffinitely enjoyed this book. It's one of those books that you just don't want to put down. It is full of drama and action. There was alwaus something different and exciting happening. I felt bad for the girl because the power of guilt got the best of her and turned her life upside down. She didn't deserve to lose her mother. Things like that just happen sometimes and nobody knows why. You can't blame yourself and Jenna didn't understand that it wasn't her fault. I was hoping the whole time that she would stop blaming herself for something that she had no control over. I was very glad when she found a friend that could help her get through her problems and to help her let go or her guilt. I would have changed the ending of this book because I thought that if Jenna was with the person that she loved that it would help her. But it turned out she didn't need to be in love or have a man to rely on to get her to move on with her life. Sometimes going it alone and going the long way is better in the end. Guilt is a terrible thing to have in your life. It can weigh you down and make you a miserable person. I think that if someone that had a lot of guilt in their heart, read this book that it would help them tremendously. Nobody deserves to die and nobody deserves to lose someone that is so close to them but it isn't in our hands. You just have to make the best out of it or it will get the best of you. Becuase, as I saw in the book, the guilt can push you to do many things that you wouldn't have normally done if you didn't have the guilt in your life. Drugs and aocohol are never the answer to solving anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    An enjoyful book to read.

    This book is like other books you read, very boring till you turn the page. This book is also very realistic and it had a great impact on my life. It made me realize that the same thing could happen to me any moment. My mom means everything to me and it would kill me if I lost her. Anyways, once you get past the first couple chapters you get a good feel of it then you will enjoy it. The ending didn't turn out the way I had planned but it made me realize that not every ones life has a perfect ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    After This Book I Picked Myself Up With Emotion and Realism I Found

    This book is amazing! I really like the realism that the book showes. One moment Jenna is with her mom driving, the other she is in a hospital bed and later to her aunt and uncles house, finding herself being drawn toward the wrong crowd and her new school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger, aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    Joyce Carol Oates's new book for teens has a long title and it really does sort of give away the ending. Although, the ending is probably not the most important, rather the journey and its twists and turns. <BR/><BR/>Jenna is in a tragic accident with her mother on the Tappan Zee Bridge. Her mother and the driver of the other car are killed, leaving Jenna a survivor, but at what cost? The circumstances of the accident are unclear. What Jenna does remember leads her to believe she might have been responsible. <BR/><BR/>As Jenna struggles to recover from her injuries, she lives in a drug-induced haze. Her father, who remarried years ago, has a new family. Jenna certainly doesn't feel welcome in his home, so she's told she will be living with an aunt and uncle. Her mother's house is sold and her new home comes complete with two cousins, a new school, and the sometimes nosey concern of a small town. <BR/><BR/>Attempting to cope with new surroundings and the death of her mother sends Jenna into a tailspin of emotions. She meets new friends, but gravitates to those who help her forget with pills and alcohol. An accidental overdose lands Jenna in the emergency room and under the care of a therapist. Despite the care and concern of her caregivers, her life continues to spin out of control. <BR/><BR/>Finally there is the arrival of Crow with his dark and mysterious side. Jenna finds she can talk to Crow about things she can't say to anyone else. Does he care about her? Does he have the answers to get her back on track? <BR/><BR/>AFTER THE WRECK, I PICKED MYSELF UP, SPREAD MY WINGS, AND FLEW AWAY captured me right from the start. Jenna's struggle felt authentic and true. I was touched by her pain and sensitive to her attempts to move on, only to drift back into confusion. Oates definitely outdoes herself with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2008

    wow

    i must say..this is one of my favorite books of all time! Oates flawlessly captures the true essence of the teenage voice, i recommend this book all the wayy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2007

    a reviewer

    Joyce Carol Oates¿s new book for teens has a long title and it really does sort of give away the ending. Although, the ending is probably not the most important, rather the journey and its twists and turns. Jenna is in a tragic accident with her mother on the Tappan Zee Bridge. Her mother and the driver of the other car are killed, leaving Jenna a survivor, but at what cost? The circumstances of the accident are unclear. What Jenna does remember leads her to believe she might have been responsible. As Jenna struggles to recover from her injuries, she lives in a drug-induced haze. Her father, who remarried years ago, has a new family. Jenna certainly doesn¿t feel welcome in his home, so she¿s told she will be living with an aunt and uncle. Her mother¿s house is sold and her new home comes complete with two cousins, a new school, and the sometimes nosey concern of a small town. Attempting to cope with new surroundings and the death of her mother sends Jenna into a tailspin of emotions. She meets new friends, but gravitates to those who help her forget with pills and alcohol. An accidental overdose lands Jenna in the emergency room and under the care of a therapist. Despite the care and concern of her caregivers, her life continues to spin out of control. Finally there is the arrival of Crow with his dark and mysterious side. Jenna finds she can talk to Crow about things she can¿t say to anyone else. Does he care about her? Does he have the answers to get her back on track? AFTER THE WRECK, I PICKED MYSELF UP, SPREAD MY WINGS, AND FLEW AWAY captured me right from the start. Jenna¿s struggle felt authentic and true. I was touched by her pain and sensitive to her attempts to move on, only to drift back into confusion. Oates definitely outdoes herself with this one. **Reviewed by: Sally Kruger, aka 'Readingjunky'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2007

    Written in a way that draws the reader in....

    The book was truly touching. The author did an amazing job at reaching The characters inner feelings. This book was by far my most favorite of all times. The book is especially for anyone who is really coping with loss or just in a rough time in their life at the moment. I'd recommend this book to anyone and everyone!!:]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1