Customer Reviews for

Afterglow

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

After much waiting,Finally AFTERGLOW has arrived!! How to descr


After much waiting,Finally AFTERGLOW has arrived!! How to describe this story.. Action filled, Hot, Sexy, ? Yes,Yes and OMG Yes!! Rand is a man trying to save the world from a chemical that makes the people who come in contact with it so uninhibited that they fornicate...

After much waiting,Finally AFTERGLOW has arrived!! How to describe this story.. Action filled, Hot, Sexy, ? Yes,Yes and OMG Yes!! Rand is a man trying to save the world from a chemical that makes the people who come in contact with it so uninhibited that they fornicate until they die. He can't save the world alone..enter Dakota South. She's one of the chemists who formulated this chemical,but not for these results.The two ex-lovers cross Europe on the hunt for the bad guys and find themselves finding more than the bad guys. A FAN-FREAKING-TASTIC read! And once again I find myself waiting for the next book by Cherry Adair!! [3 ”

posted by HollieR1 on March 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Too much sex

I loved cherry adair's first book. I read the next 2 but stopped buying her books because her stories disappointed me. I read the synopsis for Afterglow and thought it would be good. WRONG. Too much sex with a man who hasn't talked to you in years and calls you a liar ...
I loved cherry adair's first book. I read the next 2 but stopped buying her books because her stories disappointed me. I read the synopsis for Afterglow and thought it would be good. WRONG. Too much sex with a man who hasn't talked to you in years and calls you a liar to your face. I hate doormat heriones who get abused but then lay down for the man. Weak story, stirred no interest. Maybe she should write erotica and it would be where the romantis suspense are shelved, and i would easily aviod making the $8 waste of moneyand time.

posted by gyt9898 on June 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Too much sex

    I loved cherry adair's first book. I read the next 2 but stopped buying her books because her stories disappointed me. I read the synopsis for Afterglow and thought it would be good. WRONG. Too much sex with a man who hasn't talked to you in years and calls you a liar to your face. I hate doormat heriones who get abused but then lay down for the man. Weak story, stirred no interest. Maybe she should write erotica and it would be where the romantis suspense are shelved, and i would easily aviod making the $8 waste of moneyand time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    After much waiting,Finally AFTERGLOW has arrived!! How to descr


    After much waiting,Finally AFTERGLOW has arrived!! How to describe this story.. Action filled, Hot, Sexy, ? Yes,Yes and OMG Yes!! Rand is a man trying to save the world from a chemical that makes the people who come in contact with it so uninhibited that they fornicate until they die. He can't save the world alone..enter Dakota South. She's one of the chemists who formulated this chemical,but not for these results.The two ex-lovers cross Europe on the hunt for the bad guys and find themselves finding more than the bad guys. A FAN-FREAKING-TASTIC read! And once again I find myself waiting for the next book by Cherry Adair!! [3 ”

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    I am intrigued by the abilities the agents of Lodestone have, so

    I am intrigued by the abilities the agents of Lodestone have, so I was excited to read Afterglow. I am on the fence about this one. The villain was truthfully one of the worst I have ever read (which is great), I thought I knew who it was, then I was certain that it couldn't be, then it turned out it was. I enjoyed watching the interaction between Dakota and Rand, and when all the secrets finally came out, watching them accept who they are and who they can be together. Dakota had lived through so much, and Rand, dealing with his own demons, had turned cynical and almost mean. The part I didn't really care for was the drug. I mean, really....a drug that takes away your inhibitions and makes you have sex anywhere, anyhow with anyone?? It just wasn't a drug that I believe, especially for mass market and terrorism. That being said, I really do look forward to the next book, and seeing more of these special gifts the Lodestone agents posses.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Very Good

    Very good with lots of action anda very good plot. enjoyable reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Afterglow is book 2 in Cherry Adair's Lodestone series and it do

    Afterglow is book 2 in Cherry Adair's Lodestone series and it does not disappoint. It’s full of action and hot sex. Rand Maguire and Dakota North are chasing down a madman who has a deadly chemical that acts as an aphrodisiac to take its victims unaware and they have to stop him before its too late and he releases his deadly chemical and they have to use Dakota's superpower to do it. You can read this as a stand alone, but just don't miss this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    ugh

    so sorry that a good story had to be overwhelmed and boring with too much sex

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Nate

    Bby you back?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2013

    I really enjoyed the action in this book. It kept me enganged an

    I really enjoyed the action in this book. It kept me enganged and wanting to see what happens next. Dakota is a strong woman who deals with those she loves most not believing in her and her gift. She tries to tell Rand her side but realizes he isn't going to listen and gives up. I love her strong character!

    What I didn't like is that the two main characters have a history and due to things told to Rand, he dislikes his exfiance immesensely. However that doesn't stop him from "making love" to her all night long. His words. I would have thought that he would have softened his opinion of her after that, but the first chance he gets to believe the worst he does. They say there is a thin line between love and hate and I guess this book shows it. Personally I don't get it. If he had given into passion and had sex with her, I get that. But making love, to me, implies emotional attachment.

    At the end, as in all romances, they work things out. Rand could have groveled a bit more.

    All in all and excellent read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A drug that causes one to lose their inhibitions leads to a mess

    A drug that causes one to lose their inhibitions leads to a mess of epic proportions and Rand Maguire is searching for answers while taking the heat for the situation. Lodestone Agent Dakota North is sent to assist Rand in finding the culprits. Emotions running high because of their history together, Dakota and Rand must find the crazy person who is determined to cause havoc across Europe. Afterglow is book two in the Lodestone series and is a great read from Cherry Adair.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    Warning this book is a romance, for everyone confused with the c

    Warning this book is a romance, for everyone confused with the concept that means the characters have sex, get mushy and all around have a romping good time. Along the way, welcome to wild adventure and intrigue.

    It is no shock that Ms. Adair is one of my fav authors. Her ability to create intense action, steamy romance and kick


    ass characters keep me turning the page and coming back for more. I realized Relentless was ready to be released so I went back and read the Loadstone books again for fun and pleasure. Loved it the second time just as much as the first. I hate reviews that give away plot so I will just say, if you like romance, action, a bit of a mystery and hot characters having wild monkey sex while saving the world this is the book for you. If you can let yourself be taken away and swept into the story this is a great book and author that delivers every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    You really don't want to miss this one.

    It starts out as Rand is in charge of security at this very ritzy wedding. Unfortunatly the bad guy manages to spike the drinks with a bad chemical and everyone is in the middle of one big orgy. Then Dakota steps into the room as part of his back up crew. They have a past together that doesn't help matters any. Travel across Europe with them and find out what happens. You won't want to miss this book. It's another great Cherry Adair Book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Great Book

    Can't wait till the next one..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Sweetkit

    Hi! Sweetkit

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Cherry Adair never disappoints!

    Loved it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Very good book

    Kept my attention all the way through.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I always love Cherry's books. This one was terrific, too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    MUST READ!!!

    Although this isn't the Lodestone book I am not so patiently waiting for <WINK> THIS BOOK WAS FABULOUS!!!! I may be a little biased since the Hero shares a name with my husband but probably not! I have yet to meet a hero/heroine from this author that I have not fallen completely in love with and Rand and Dakota are no different!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Shadowstar-glowing tree

    A tall willow tree that gives of a faint glow at night. Near the middle there is a hole where leaders and medicine cats sleep and share-tonuges with Starclan.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    I have read every book written by Cherry Adair and this one did

    I have read every book written by Cherry Adair and this one did NOT disappoint! The main characters, Rand and Dakota find themselves working together chasing bad guys once again after a painful broken engagement 2 years earlier. They soon find out that the bad guys aren't the only things they're fighting. They are also fighting very strong feelings they both still have for each other. From page one to the end it is exciting, sexy, steamy and packed with action. Twists, turns and an ending that will shock the reader make this book a must have for Cherry Adair fans everywhere! And if you've never read a Cherry Adair book, what are you waiting for?!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    In Cherry’s 2nd book in the Lodestone series we start off

    In Cherry&rsquo;s 2nd book in the Lodestone series we start off with a twist on the don&rsquo;t drink the Kool-Aid. At a wedding reception someone spikes the champagne with an aphrodisiac and all inhibitions are lost.

    Rand Maguire used to be a stuntman and is now security specialist to the stars. His current job was to protect the celebrity guests at a wedding. Well that didn&rsquo;t turn out so great. He calls Zak from the Lodestone group asking to send someone that can help figure out what and who could have done this. Was it a terrorist act or someone&rsquo;s sick sense of humor?

    Dakota North is sent to the hotel by Zak because of her previous history as a pharmaceutical chemist. Dakota and Rand&rsquo;s father were the creators of DL6-94 which she thinks the guest were given. Its highly addictive and lethal in large doses. Which Rand knows all too well, since his mother died from it and his father is in jail for her murder. All of which he blames Dakota for.

    Dakota has the same type of ability Zak does. She can touch an object and see coordinates to track the owner of the item. This leads Rand and Dakota on a chase from Monte Carlo to Barcelona to a bank. But when they get there they find the aphrodisiac has been released airborne and everyone is dead. Both Rand and Dakota inhale the toxin and whew for the next couple of pages you need a fan and a cigarette after.

    From here we are taken on a wild ride. It is nonstop action from Spain to France where they scour the catacombs under the Paris streets to jumping out of a moving vehicle. You start to get the impression that both the bad guys and the good guys are not who they say they are.
    During all of this both Rand and Dakota are still dealing with the pain of their broken engagement 2 years before. She is still in love with him but due to many misunderstandings he thinks he hates her even though he is still very attracted to her.

    From the opening scene to the shocking ending this book was one thrill ride. I look forward to the next book in this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2