BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Afterlife (Evernight Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 249 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Sad to see it end, but what a way to go!

Sigh. One of my favorite series, Evernight by Claudia Gray, is coming to a close. But there is good news. The fourth and final book of the series, AFTERLIFE, meets all expectations . . . and then some.

When we last left Lucas and Bianca, Bianca had been turned into ...
Sigh. One of my favorite series, Evernight by Claudia Gray, is coming to a close. But there is good news. The fourth and final book of the series, AFTERLIFE, meets all expectations . . . and then some.

When we last left Lucas and Bianca, Bianca had been turned into a wraith and Lucas-the former vampire killer-was about to wake as a vampire himself. All our favorite characters were present: the scrumptious Balthazar, the quirky Vic, and the adorably-out-of-touch Ranulf. AFTERLIFE picks up moments later, and Bianca is debating whether to kill Lucas to honor his wishes of never becoming a vampire or follow her own heart in the hopes he can come to grips with his transformation.

Lucky for us, Bianca follows her heart and Lucas is reborn. The final installment brings the crew back to Evernight and the ever-mysterious Ms. Bethany. While Bianca and Lucas struggle with their new undead status, they also strive to undercover why Ms. Bethany is attracting wraiths-the understood enemy to the vampire-to Evernight, battle parental insecurity issues, and attempt to figure out how to be a couple now that one of them barely has a body and the other is consumed by the need for blood. Along with the usual crew, Dana, Raquel and Patrice also come back to say a final farewell.

I give Ms. Gray kudos for the ending. It was not the ending I anticipated, but it was one hundred percent true to the story. Anything less or different would have been unfair to the world and characters she has so lovingly created. And fans do not have to despair over the series ending. Balthazar is coming back with his very own series in the future, which I am eagerly anticipating.

AFTERLIFE won't hit stores until March 8, 2011, but is already available for pre-order. And look for BALTHAZAR in bookstores March 2012!

I recieved AFTERLIFE via NetGalley, courtesy of Harper Collins, in exchange for a review. I was beyond grateful to accept.

posted by RachelHarrisWrites on October 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ahh

So stupid

posted by reader_girl99 on April 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Ahh

    So stupid

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Deceived...

    This last book was not my favorite. It was a deception to have waited so long for it and to have expected so much from it. Happily Ever After does not apply to an 'interpret it yourself' kind of ending. Unless there's really more to be said about Bianca and Lucas's life together. (There's not though, Claudia Gray said herself that she felt Bianca and Lucas's story was done).

    Though Bianca can evidently protect herself, Lucas had been built to protect her, and I think that this book leaves her pretty much unprotected for the 'eternal' part of her life. Without giving too much away, how does a love so perfect as the one these two built together get shattered by something so malleable as ones own upbringing.

    What is to become of Bianca after? I don't know, but that is sort of what irked my nerves; the part where I'm left wondering so negatively about it. Ugh...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    worst ever

    laughable plot and basically entire novel either put me to sleep or made me want to use it to feed the fireplace oh wait its an ebook i'll just delete it don't waste your time, or money

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    I waited sooo long for this book...

    It was terrible. I skipped pages... Hopefully the next one is better. If there is a next one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not Her Best!

    Even though I love Claudia Gray series Evernight I was excited when it came out. When I read the book it wasn't going to be as I expected it to be. I thought there would be more romance between Bianca and Lucas! But all it had was a lot of twist and turns with Cherity revenge and I thought having Lucas going back to school was a bad Idea they should have consintrated on more Bianca and Lucas romance of being together!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Mad that i read past the second book

    I hate the ending, oh il love you so much and it was always.mu destiny to be a wraith and after everything weve been through im going to freaking die like any.human. she could have gotten so much more creative. The thing bianca did could have turned them both into a new type of supernatural thing. Best of both worlds. Balthezer should have raken over sschool. I expexted so much more, i mean the last book ended horrible like i was pisssed but i umerstood that she was.gnna solve it all in this book and she didnt at all. She did nothing. Screw this series. Lxoved the first 2 books the pure hate, the scene with christopher andher should have been longer and heartfelt. So sad. That it endthis way, wish i could.get my miney.back and i wish i wiuld have stopped reading after the swxomd book. Damn bad endings

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    Terrible - Don't waste your time

    It's unfortunate when a series starts off strong and then has so many twists injected and the storyline really has no where to go. I wish I had waited till more books were written before starting this series. Beacause then I would not have started this series. A complete waste of time. This author pulled a 'Stephanie Meyer' and created a storyline that had no real plausible ending. The author would have been better off sticking with the romantic triangle (book 2) and continuing in that direction. I normally trudge through a book and finish it, no matter how bad. There has only been 1 book that I stopped reading 1/3 of they way into it because it was so terrible. I can now add this book to that list. BTW - the book I stopped reading was Queen Betsy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1