Customer Reviews for

Afterlife (Evernight Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 247 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Sad to see it end, but what a way to go!

Sigh. One of my favorite series, Evernight by Claudia Gray, is coming to a close. But there is good news. The fourth and final book of the series, AFTERLIFE, meets all expectations . . . and then some.

When we last left Lucas and Bianca, Bianca had been turned into ...
Sigh. One of my favorite series, Evernight by Claudia Gray, is coming to a close. But there is good news. The fourth and final book of the series, AFTERLIFE, meets all expectations . . . and then some.

When we last left Lucas and Bianca, Bianca had been turned into a wraith and Lucas-the former vampire killer-was about to wake as a vampire himself. All our favorite characters were present: the scrumptious Balthazar, the quirky Vic, and the adorably-out-of-touch Ranulf. AFTERLIFE picks up moments later, and Bianca is debating whether to kill Lucas to honor his wishes of never becoming a vampire or follow her own heart in the hopes he can come to grips with his transformation.

Lucky for us, Bianca follows her heart and Lucas is reborn. The final installment brings the crew back to Evernight and the ever-mysterious Ms. Bethany. While Bianca and Lucas struggle with their new undead status, they also strive to undercover why Ms. Bethany is attracting wraiths-the understood enemy to the vampire-to Evernight, battle parental insecurity issues, and attempt to figure out how to be a couple now that one of them barely has a body and the other is consumed by the need for blood. Along with the usual crew, Dana, Raquel and Patrice also come back to say a final farewell.

I give Ms. Gray kudos for the ending. It was not the ending I anticipated, but it was one hundred percent true to the story. Anything less or different would have been unfair to the world and characters she has so lovingly created. And fans do not have to despair over the series ending. Balthazar is coming back with his very own series in the future, which I am eagerly anticipating.

AFTERLIFE won't hit stores until March 8, 2011, but is already available for pre-order. And look for BALTHAZAR in bookstores March 2012!

I recieved AFTERLIFE via NetGalley, courtesy of Harper Collins, in exchange for a review. I was beyond grateful to accept.

posted by RachelHarrisWrites on October 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ahh

So stupid

posted by reader_girl99 on April 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Lackluster Afterlife

    Claudia Gray is tying up all the loose ends in the conclusion to her Evernight series. The book picks up as Lucas is about to rise from his first death to start his second life as a vampire. Lucas' internal struggle with becoming the very thing he was taught to hate, isn't his only battle. Now he has to fight the hunger. And live with the stigma of Black Cross among his previous prey. Bianca is still learning what it means to be a wraith, along with her own issues about being dead. Lucas, Bianca, and our favorite side kicks all journey back to Evernight. Along the way Lucas will face his mom, we find out exactly what Mrs. Bethany is up to with all those ghosts and if love really can transcend all obstacles.

    The highlight of Afterlife was the supporting cast. Vic and Ranulf stole the show. Ranulf's backwards old english translations never failed to make me laugh. Patrice, Dana, and Raquel also join the mix and proved what real friendship truly is. There are some tough family issues as well. The overall message is what are the limits of love. Gray explores quite a few variations within different relationships.

    Some low points. Unfortunately I can't say the highlight was the love story. The romance is why I read and followed the series. But they were more like an old married couple than star crossed teenage lovers. Bianca's constant repetitive blaming of Lucas' undead state on Balthazar. I can understand why she's upset, I just wish every time Bianca complained about it that it would be phrased differently. It was worded exactly the same each time. And became redundant. Unfortunately she harped on it a lot. I also didn't care for the end. It was neat and tidy, all my favorite people lived, but I found to be a bit of a let down. It was safe. Sweet. Tame. Normally I don't like tragedies, but Afterlife needed something messy and imperfect. It needed something more profound. Even though Bianca and Lucas were going in opposite directions individually their relationship seem to be working just fine. Almost like they had worked though all the major obstacles in the previous books. Afterlife was really focused on their separate struggles, when readers like me are more interested in their couple troubles. I guess it needed more angst. Maybe the ending would have sat with me better if there was more drama in their relationship during the book.

    Afterlife was OK. It was entertaining. But it didn't move me as much as some of the other books in the series. The romance was lackluster, anticlimactic. The end was sufficient but nothing I'm going to swoon over. I think it's a toss up either your going to love it, or feel stood up. The best part of the ending for me was the full page announcement of a spin off featuring Balthazar.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Book

    I hate the fact that she dies.... when she died i lost alot of intrest, i thought it was good tell she died amd he became a vampire... so i dont recomed this book fornyounifnyounlike it when the mair character dies...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Y.

    This was horrible! I felt i had to force myself to finish it for the sake of my well being ( and because i payed for it) it drags on and on like all bianca thinks about is lucas lucas lucas!! And its not even good reasons she says she worries about him and she understands his predicament and yes i understand that but after every chapter with 3 pages worth of worrying IT GETS OLD not to mention she keeps on blaming Baltazar for the death of lucas!! Its constant we get it he did somthing wrong!! I find this book annoying with no actual action or feelings it feelslikehalf the book is guilt!! And to be honest ive always liked Baltazar and bianca dont get me wrong I wasnt quiting on the seris and I was finnaly getting into the Lucas thing but then he has to act like a huge jerk!! He acts like hes theonly person in the world that went through the transition of being a vampire. When someone goes on a date it turns into this black cross fight wich had ALREADY happend like 2 chapters ago lucas is so STUPID at thispoint I was resorting to enjoying Vics scenes even though hes my least favorite character the only sanctuary was Baltazar and Patrice my favorite characters because they have substance unlike any the other characters god i wouldnt have bothered to wastemy money on this if i knew whata DISSAPOINTMENT it would dont waste your money... ever!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    could have been better

    with the last book ending like it did...i expected this book to be...not so great but i expected a little romance at least!! lucas and biancas dialogue tended to be the same things over and over again and there was nothing exciting about the ending. good series but the ending left me dissapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1