Customer Reviews for

Afternoon of the Elves

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Ok

    Not very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    A Gem

    Very imaginative and charming. I loved it. I own it. Read it a long time ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    Nice Book

    This book was a bit odd at times but I enjoyed it very much when I read it in the 4th grade. Not the best but worth a read if you're maybe 5th grade and lower.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2006

    My review of Afternoon of the Elves

    I read this book aloud every night to my 11 year old daughter. It took us three evenings, and I really enjoyed it. I am a bit suprised that it is rated by the AR program for 5th grade reading level...it seemed a bit advanced. The story was interesting and it was basically one of those books you hate to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2004

    Review

    I loved it,a true classic. Janet Taylor Lisle has never let us down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2003

    real good book

    Afternoon of the Elves was a great book. This book taught me that you should always like others for who they are not how they look. This book, I would recomend to other people so they can see what this book is all about. I hope many people will read Afternoon of the Elves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2003

    A must-reader

    It's quite a good book. It's lesson in learning. Even though, it doesn't really talk about elves. It's about a bond of two girls' friendship. It's a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2003

    This was a Asome Book

    I read this book for a book report. It was a very imagitive. I suggest this book to evryone that will listen. It is a excellent book. Read it if you have the time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2003

    Afternoon of the Elves

    I enjoyed reading this book. It taught me a lesson about friendship. I love intrigue, and Ms. Lisle Taylor knows exactly how put it in a creative novel like this. I know books, and I know it deserves your read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2001

    young readers

    This book was very interesting, I am a 10 year old girl and very much so enjoyed it. It only took me about 2 hrs. to read. It couldnt put it down, I kept on trying to predict the outcome of the book, but it is impossible the ending was quite unexpected. I think anyone of any age would love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2000

    Afternoon of the Elves

    Afternoon of the elves is an imaginative book about two girls and an unbelievable elf village. It tells how Hillary tries to make a friendship with Sara-Kate. Although Sara-Kate is a little short tempered. She invites Hillary to her tattered house. When Sara-Kate shows Hillary her backyard she is utterly surprised. Elves? She could see tiny houses scattered throughout her yard. Since Sara-Kate has a bad reputation more rumors start spreading. Try reading this outstanding book and find out what happens to Hillary and Sara-Kate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2000

    Plese Read!

    I will have to say that this book has Harry Potter tied. It's about a fourth grader, Hillary, and a leftback fith grader, sara-kate joinging friendship. At first sara-kate seemed rude, strange, and a bad kid, but Hillary finds the best friend inside of that tuff sara-kate. Hillary also finds out about if the elves are real, why doese sara-kate act like one, why doesn't she see sara-kate's mother, and where is sara-kate's dad? Hillary also does a big mistake which could lead sara-kate other then her run down home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1