Customer Reviews for

Aftertime

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good

I liked the story and the determination of Cass to find her daughter, but I'm taking away a star because the editorial mistakes really bother me. There were random < in the middle of sentences, missing beginning or end quotes, and inconsistensies. Two I can think of ar...
I liked the story and the determination of Cass to find her daughter, but I'm taking away a star because the editorial mistakes really bother me. There were random < in the middle of sentences, missing beginning or end quotes, and inconsistensies. Two I can think of are when Cass says she hasn't seen her father since she was eight years old then a few pages later she says she learned how to shoot from him at ten and Monica saying she was an only child then saying she had neices and nephews. For me, mistakes like these take away from my experience, but I really did enjoy the story.

posted by aliciasays on August 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It would be good if not for all the huggsies/alcoholism and promiscousness

Post apocalyptic meets an Oprah book. I found reading thru this book that it was very interesting to read if not for all the hoopla. A women who survived a zombie like disease...then it just got boring. The plot moves along slowly only because the author keeps going bac...
Post apocalyptic meets an Oprah book. I found reading thru this book that it was very interesting to read if not for all the hoopla. A women who survived a zombie like disease...then it just got boring. The plot moves along slowly only because the author keeps going back to the main characters past alcoholism and promiscuousity ...over and over and over...and over. The author kept going back to these so much that I actually verbally groaned after awhile and made myself read faster just to get thru these parts. Not to mention that the main character keeps getting hugged by people and then she cries, and cries...and cries. It made me wonder if the author had written this book to get some of her own problems off her chest and if she did you can actually read why she never got over any of them. Just read the first book of the series. Yer an alcoholic, you were promiscous in your youth, you couldn't take care of your kid and you survived a zombie-esque attack...got it. Now can we get to the story already....without so many huggsies. I'm not saying the author has to be more visceral, I don't need need non stop blood and guts...a good story that goes somewhere would be good enough, Just stop backtracking on your story so much and this would be a great read.

posted by Pica13 on January 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a terrific post apocalyptic science fiction thriller

    She is the first known human to survive an assault by the flesh eating beaters without converting into one of these zombie-like beasts. Although she remains mortal and alive, Cass Dollar suffered immensely during her ordeal and afterwards; she remained hurt with many scars on her battered body. Her lack of memory of her trauma frightens her, but not because of what the Beaters did to her. Her beloved daughter Ruthie is missing and Cass has no idea what happened to her cherished offspring.

    However, in spite of her agony, Cass has one objective and that is to find her missing daughter Ruthie lost somewhere in the biologically bombed California wasteland. Smoke an outlaw accompanies Cass on her quest while the militia, scientists and a female sect pursue her for diverse reasons.

    This is a terrific post apocalyptic science fiction thriller starring a beleaguered lioness with one obsessed thought: finding and rescuing her Ruthie. Courageous Cass is impressive as she remains resolute in her quest while musing she is in her "third" life. The harsh California landscape adds to the eerie atmospheric aftermath of the pandemic catastrophe as the heroine continues her trek. Mindful of the Charlton Heston science fiction films, Aftertime is a strong opening act with.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    Take the time to read this book!

    Aftertime is a post-apocalyptic world, a desert of destruction, where disease has run rampant, and houses, towns, and cities have been ransacked. In this world, nighttime is man's best friend and Zombies "Beaters" outnumber human survivors. Aside from starvation, unbelievably unsanitary conditions, and the constant threat of losing your mind, being attacked and torn to pieces by a Beater is a survivor's biggest fear. After a bite, a victim's eyes glow, followed by extreme fever, followed by an emptiness that fills their entire being until the inevitable.they become one of them.the enemy.


    But Cass Dollar is an anomaly. She's been attacked, suffered the excruciating symptoms of the venomous Beater bite and survived, even healed from the severe wounds left behind. How did Cass survive and is she now a carrier of the lethal virus? Cass begins a journey across California Aftertime searching for answers and something precious separated from her during her attack.


    When I initially read the synopsis of Aftertime I was leery that it may be too far outside my comfort zone, first, because on the surface there looked to be no heavy romance involved, and second, because Zombies give me nightmares. But guess what? I was so wrong about both.


    I've enjoyed this book so much. Maybe it's because I am fascinated by the dark side of human survival when faced with adversity. I'm not sure, but regardless I loved the story. The sex was hot, but the story was so strong it would have been able to stand up without it. Of course, I prefer with. I read pieces of this story again and again, savoring the words and visualizing Sophie Littlefield's post-apocalyptic world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Awesome!

    Great quick read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    This is a 4.5 star review. I was first exposed to Sophie Little

    This is a 4.5 star review.

    I was first exposed to Sophie Littlefield through Barnes &amp; Noble reviewer Paul Goat Allen's Explorations blog, when he reviewed one of the books in the trilogy very favorably. At the time, I was a budding zombie writer myself with a newly signed contract for a post-apocalyptic trilogy under my belt, and I was itching to find other female zombie writers out there; we seemed to be a pretty rare commodity, to say the least. Unfortunately, I didn't get the chance to actually read the book until early this year, and all I could think was, &quot;What the heck took me so long?!&quot;

    AFTERTIME follows a woman named Cass Dollar after an outbreak of zombie-like creatures called Beaters crops up and wreaks havoc on the western United States, turning most of the west into a desolate wasteland full of Beaters and the survivors trying to avoid them. When the story starts, Cass is searching for her daughter Ruthie, who was taken away from her by CPS due to Cass's alcohol addictions. From there, the story follows Cass as she searches for her daughter in what is essentially a world gone to hell.

    In the process of detailing Cass's journey, Littlefield does an amazing job of building a world that is familiar and, at the same time, horrifically different from the world that Cass grew up in. Her attention to detail is astounding, and as I made my way through the book, I felt like I really got to know Cass and was rooting for her all the way. Littlefield has an amazing ability to make her characters feel absolutely real, and that is one of my favorite things about the book and this type of zombie literature.

    Unfortunately, at times, this attention to detail was to the story's detriment, and this has to do with the only reason I gave the book 4.5 stars. In several places in the book, Littlefield lavishes so much attention on the smaller details that it made the book move rather slowly at times. In several places, I had to force myself to continue reading and not flip past a much slower-paced scene. This may be a product of the fact that Littlefield's novel reads as far more focused on the characters than on the Beaters, but there are a lot of scenes that, if they'd been cut down, would have made the book move a lot faster than it did. This isn't necessarily a negative; it's just not something I myself am particularly into.

    Other than that little quibble, I enjoyed the book very much and would highly recommend it to fans of the genre who are more interested in following the survivors of a zombie outbreak and their struggles rather than the zombies themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    Best series I have read in a long time. She is a phenomenal wri

    Best series I have read in a long time. She is a phenomenal writer. The characters are excellently developed. I wasn't unable to put the book down until I was done.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Gripping

    This book and the rest of the series had me engulfed for days. A great read for both post apocolyptic and zombies. I would compare it to the walking dead. Perfect read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    I loved it

    Smoke is sexy...cass is relatable w her imperfections and fears intact but w a pursuing need of a parents love to recover her child in a world where priorities are set a little differently for some people. Filled w a few suprises but overall well written and hard to put down. Loved it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Great Take on Zombie Tale

    Great read and a pleasure to read a zombie series that centers around a female lead who is strong but not perfect!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome

    I'm a big fan of Sophie Littlefield, particularly her short fiction and her BAD DAY FOR... series of mystery novels. She writes great, fun, readable books. I'd picked this one up when it came out, but was under the (mistaken) impression that it was the first in her series of YA novels. I was wrong.

    This is a post-apocalyptic story that also includes, essentially, a zombie plague. And I loved it. Great characters, some chilling horror bits, some excellent action bits, and even some boots-knocking. What's not to love? I can't believe I waited so long to read it, and I can't wait to read book two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    If u liked The Passage u'll love Aftertime!

    It was amazing and tragic and brutal and loving and so many other describing words. Littlefield writes a great story and I can't wait to start the second book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    I love apocalyptic YA and this is the best.

    I love zombies. I love dystropic YA. I love this book. Cass Dollar is a flawed heroine and you root for her the whole way. She has been to Hell and back and her only mission in life is to find her daughter, Ruth. An excellent YA novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2