Customer Reviews for

Again the Magic

Average Rating 4.5
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    Review originally posted on Reader's Edyn (blogspot) I discover

    Review originally posted on Reader's Edyn (blogspot)

    I discovered Ms. Kleypas by accident on a camping trip of all things and have never looked back since. When I am lucky enough to come across a book I have not read, I snatch it up immediately. Such was the case when I located this book. While I very much enjoy Ms. Kleypas’s books, I did suffer just a bit with the over-the-top pain and agony the two main characters needlessly put one another through. But I will get to that in just a bit.

    Aline is a member of elite society; born and bred for nothing more than to find the most advantageous match in marriage. When her heart is captured by none other than the magnificent stable boy, she knows that their love must be kept a secret. Their secret lasts for years from childhood into young adolescence until they are found out. Ordered by her father to end the affair or suffer McKenna’s ruin, Aline chooses to chase McKenna away in a naive effort to protect him. The only way to ensure his departure is to effectively crush his heart with an elaborate portrayal of a snotty heiress who has merely toyed with McKenna’s affections and has tired of him, now ready to cast him aside. Task completed, Aline sinks into a miserable depression, followed by a disfiguring, near-death experience.
    McKenna, broken-hearted and betrayed in the worst way, sets out to make something of himself. Driven by a need for revenge against Aline, he eventually makes his way back to her life. His focus is to seduce her, force her to fall in love with him, and leave her dejected. Just as she toyed with his emotions, so too will he exact his revenge in the same way. But he notices differences as he carries out his plan. Old feelings begin to kindle. But his hardened heart and need for revenge keep him from seeking out the truth in what lies just beneath his nose.

    A wonderful companion to the story, is the sub plot provided by Aline’s sister, Livia and McKenna’s business partner, Gideon. These two are nothing short of opposites, but ultimately complement one another in every way. Had we not been provided the story of these two, the endless feud and misdirected anger between McKenna and Aline would well have made the book unbearable. I enjoy the tortured, brooding hero and misunderstood heroine just as much as anyone, but these two could have put an end to a lot of unnecessary torment several chapters prior to the end of the story. While the two connect, they do maintain a stagnant distance between them. The division between the two provided the needed angst in the story, but extends to overkill several times. As a reader, I wanted to feel sorry for the mistreatment of McKenna, as well as the ridiculous requirements that society forces in Aline’s behavior. However, with the supportive family seemingly at Aline’s fingertips, I wondered why the strife had to drag on for so long.

    That said, the story is still one of enduring love that obviously can overcome all obstacles, even when the hero and heroine are too stubborn to just crash into one another and trust that the other would catch him or her. And ultimately any romance reader would find the story enjoyable. Paired with the fact that you can pretty much never go wrong in choosing Kleypas, I am confident that readers will find this agonizing love story entertaining. My time was well spent and as always, I look forward to the next Kleypas book.


    (Paperback purchased for private collection)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Awesome

    Wonderful wonderful romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Highly Recommended !!!

    If you are a fan of Lisa Kkeypas you will love this book!! If you are a fan you will be after you read this book!!! I have read all her books and I am hungry for more!! Lisa, I hope you are writing another series!!! Feed me!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Vmvbm

    Yi uo .b,ybm iyiyohkyobmtugji b, yyhk .u

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    Highly recommended

    one of the best of her writings. couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2010

    Gideon and Olivia

    Well, what can one say about Lisa Kleypas except that she knows how to tell a story where you care about the characters. Her "Suddenly You" is one of the best romances I have ever read and was sad to see that book as a stand alone as I wanted to see Amanda Briars and Jack Devlin again (hint hint to Ms. Kleypas). No exception here. If you just read the back of the book for a quick run down you would think this book was just about McKenna and Lady Aline. They have a wonderful story which is what most of the book is about. Then half way through another story line is appears which deals with Gideon Shaw and Olivia (Aline's sister). This is the one that I became more interested in as I read. Yes, I wanted McKenna and Aline to finally live happily but I was drawn more to Gideon and Olivia. I felt that their story could EASILY be turned into a book and to be honest they both deserve to have their story told in full. Both Gideon and Olivia have such sad and tragic pasts and they really deserve happiness. I am hoping that Ms. Kleypas can give these two their own book. That is the story I want to see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    Passionate, Well-Developed, Very Intense

    One of my favorite Kleypas books, and romances of all time by any author. The pages seethe with an intensity and passion that is surprising. Aline and McKenna seem all too real, and you ache for them while they struggle to make sense of their past and feelings for each other. I wish the ending was more focused on the main couple, though, as cramming two romantic relationships in the spotlight in one novel was a bit much. I felt Aline and McKenna deserved an entire book to themselves, without having to share it with another, much-less-interesting couple. The ending was abrupt. I wish there had been more closure for Aline and McKenna at the finale. But the book overall is wonderful and very steamy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    Unbearably Wonderful! Unbearably Frustrating!

    John Mckenna has worked as a stable boy for the Earl of Westcliffe since he was a boy of eight. Even as a child he has been best friends with the eldest daughter of the earl, Aline Marsden. As they grow into teenagers they begin to fall in love. However, the earl finds out about his daughter's relationship with McKenna he threatens to ruin the boy and see him run into the gutter. The only way to convince McKenna to leave the manor is if he believes that Aline does not love him. In a truly heartwrenching scene Aline is forced to deny her true feelings to McKenna and make him believe that she was only using him. And so he leaves Stony Cross Manor, and Aline. Following McKenna's departure Aline is injured in a fire. Her legs are badly scarred by the flames. Twelve years later McKenna returns to Stony Cross Manor. Having made his fortune in America he is now a powerful man in the New York world of Industry. He and his business partner seek financial support from the new Earl of Westcliffe, Aline's older brother. Emotional chaos ensues as Aline struggles to maintain the protective barriers she has erected around her heart, knowing that McKenna thinks the worst of her. Yet the fire between them burns with even more passion now that both Aline and McKenna have matured into adults. I was sooooo looking forward to this book and in many ways I was not disappointed. However, in some ways I found myself beyond frustrated with the characters in this book. After a certain amount of time I could no longer see any reason for Aline and McKenna not to be together and yet they just continued stumbling around each other because of Aline's insecurity about her scarred legs. I was incredibly irritated with her and after a while I couldn't help lose patience. Drove me NUTS!!!! But all in all this book has absolutely sizzling hot love scenes and all but demanded a happy ending. Also, the secondary romance between Aline's sister, Livia, and McKenna's business partner, Gideon Shaw, was absolutely wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2007

    Worth the read

    I loved the story. While some parts were a bit drawn out (and I agree with other reviewers on Aline's legs - they're scarred and ugly, we get it), the story of adolescent love between McKenna and Aline is still worth reading. I also liked the second story between Lady Olivia and Mr.Shaw.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2004

    good story, boring ending

    This book definitely had potential. It started out as such a great love story, and could have continued that way, but the whole leg thing was just a tad too dramatic for me. It made it seem like Aline had some huge secret that would ruin her relationship with McKenna, and all it was were a little leg scars? I don't think so. Otherwise, I really liked the subplot between Aline's sister and McKenna's friend - that would have made a great book on its own. I also liked the brother, and am looking forward to his story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2004

    WOW!!!!

    I only read one book by Lisa called Dreaming of You, I completely forgot what a good writer she is. I really enjoyed this book. I couldn't put it down, I also read it in one day. I will definitely from now on continue to purchase her books. Ms. Kleypas you just got yourself another fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2004

    Another MRB (MUST read book)..

    Another excellently written tale by Lisa Kleypas...(but aren't they all !! ).. The story of McKenna and Aline flows so well , that one cannot help but feel part of it.. Compassion, sadness, happiness, and joy ...they are all there and inside of us.. Do not miss reading this one !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2004

    ALMOST the best...

    'Again the Magic' started off searing hot, almost unbearably so but the heat from this book didn't last to the end. New found emotions and first love was discussed with such detail that it would make a believer out of anyone. If only that theme could have been played out more this would have been an all time favorite. In many books I have read, including this one, the author seems to believe that the leading lady needs to be excessively stubborn. Not all woman feel a man must completely bend/break for her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2004

    oops, Kleypas did it again!

    I enjoyed this book so much so that I read it in one day. What I really liked about this book is how it flowed and the heroine wasn't a silly idiot. This book was cut and dry and I appreciate that. Kleypas is number 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2003

    fine second chance at love

    In 1832 Hampshire stable boy John McKenna and Lady Aline Marsden, oldest daughter of an earl, exchange vows of love. However, her father angrily shouts at Aline that her feelings for John prove she is her just like her whore of a mother. He warns her that if she fails to end it, he will destroy John. A heartbroken Aline tells her father he better help John start a new life or she will give her virgin body to the first available bum which will cause scandal to the family name. Aline tells John that she never loved him as he is beneath her. Her dad arranges an apprenticeship with a shipbuilder for the former stable boy. Twelve years later, John arrives back in Hampshire accompanying his American business partner Gideon Shaw. John hates Aline for her ¿betrayal¿, but is shocked she is not married. He begins to learn the truth about how much she sacrificed to keep him safe from her now deceased father¿s reach, but even before that he knew at first sight that he still loves her. This time he vows he will not let her go. <P>This an exciting historical romance that readers will enjoy due to a strong cast. The story line engages the reader from the moment Aline and her father confront one another, but really takes off when John returns to England after years in the United States. Though having her amiable brother as the earl instead of her acrimonious father takes away from the potential squabbles, fans will enjoy this fine second chance at love tale. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3